Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Volkswagon Dealers

• 07-02-2012 2:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Ok so I'm looking for a TDI Golf for less than €3200 and under 130,000 miles. For the price probably best can get is between 01 and 03. Have been watching donedeal and carzone quite a bit but with little joy so far. Anyone know where else I could look out for this type of car?

Something along the lines of this is what I'm looking for but this ones actually gone!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2874113

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

just make sure it has less than 130000 on the car and not just the clock!! you will struggle to get a 10 year old diesel golf that done less than an average 13k a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭pcardin

That's because you are searching for Volkswagon. Try Volkswagen like normal people. That wil do the trick. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Twixaroo

First one is basically what i'm looking for alrite Sean. If it wasn't so far away I'd be on my way there now! Asked a mechanic I know that's always buyin and sellin cars to keep an eye out for me and he bought a smashing one, he's doing the bit of work it needs at the moment. Only thing is it's got 160k miles. Would this concern most ppl here? I'm slightly cautious because of it but not sure it's realistic to think i'll get anything and nice as it for my price range. The lad is trustworthy and is doing all the stuff himself and says it will drive 100% when he's done with it. But an 02 with 160k miles would you be willing to pay the €3200 for it? It's a beautiful car it must be said!!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭pajero12

Twixaroo wrote: »
    First one is basically what i'm looking for alrite Sean. If it wasn't so far away I'd be on my way there now! Asked a mechanic I know that's always buyin and sellin cars to keep an eye out for me and he bought a smashing one, he's doing the bit of work it needs at the moment. Only thing is it's got 160k miles. Would this concern most ppl here? I'm slightly cautious because of it but not sure it's realistic to think i'll get anything and nice as it for my price range. The lad is trustworthy and is doing all the stuff himself and says it will drive 100% when he's done with it. But an 02 with 160k miles would you be willing to pay the €3200 for it? It's a beautiful car it must be said!!

But 16k a year is low milage?

pajero12 wrote: »
    But 16k a year is low milage?

Ok so to rephrase do you think it's likely to give lots of trouble because of the fact it has 160,000 miles up on it? Or should the fact your man is doing plenty work to it ensure it lasts me say 80 - 100,000 miles?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Limerickman on here has one with 250k on it and its still going strong.

At that age condition and a bit of recent history is important. I still think that's mad money for a 10 year old Golf mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

Ok so to rephrase do you think it's likely to give lots of trouble because of the fact it has 160,000 miles up on it? Or should the fact your man is doing plenty work to it ensure it lasts me say 80 - 100,000 miles?

if reliability is your biggest concern i would really look past a golf.

why out of interest do you want a golf so bad? much better value for money, comfort and reliability to be had in other marques for your 3500.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Any diesel Golf of that year with that mileage (ie. around 100k) that doesn't have a full documented service history is clocked, and there's absolutely no doubt in mind about that. There are 08 Passats leaving England with more than 70,000 miles on them.

There's nothing wrong with 160k miles, that's what it should have. As long as it's been looked after some what you'll be fine.

Make sure the gearbox is right and everything else works, after that you really can't go too far wrong.

Wanted a golf since i was a wee lad tbh, hence why im only looking at them at the moment. I know i could get better value elsewhere alrite. The lad that has it at the moment is no mug and im sure he wouldn't have bought it without the service history being available.. Limerickman you're giving me more confidence in it now. If i do buy it i'll be sure to throw a pic up for ya! Sound lads, all the advise is much appreciated! :)

Mine just hit 246,000 miles and it drives like new.

as an aside does anybody know what year volkswagen offered remote central locking and electric windows as standard on the golf?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Not sure about the remote locking but the Golf got electric windows as standard in 2003. Upto that they were standard on the Comfortline or above, r c/l was probably the same.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Not sure about the remote locking but the Golf got electric windows as standard in 2003. Upto that they were standard on the Comfortline or above, r c/l was probably the same.

is that not shocking?

i mean its common knowledge right now that the golfs and boras, particularly diesels around the 2000 vintage command a sizeable price premium above its competitors (focus, corolla, pug 307, etc etc) which all had those basic creature comforts as standard in 2000)

who wants to shell out 3.5k for a 02 car with fricking keep fit windows and you have to lean across the car to pull up the stopper to let the passenger in? i mean you can't see the VW badge when your sitting in it. its like funsize bags of crisps, your all being fooled, theres nothing fun about a tiny packet of crisps.

why are buyers this weather so adamant to pay a premium for such a scantily clad car?

sorry but this has been on my mind clearly :P

andyseadog wrote: »

who wants to shell out 3.5k for a 02 car with fricking keep fit windows and you have to lean across the car to pull up the stopper to let the passenger in?
    no you dont. all mk4 had central locking with a button to lock/unlock all the doors on the drivers door
    i mean you can't see the VW badge when your sitting in it.
    ya you can. its right there on the steering wheel :P

sean1141 wrote: »
    no you dont. all mk4 had central locking with a button to lock/unlock all the doors on the drivers door

ya you can. its right there on the steering wheel :P

oh thats fine then, i'l just stroll on up to the car with my passengers, i'l stick the key in the drivers door, open it and let myself in, shut the drivers door and then blip the rest of the doors open. how awkward? how much would it have cost VW to make an antenna for that switch?

i know it's a very first world problem, and i know 5 years previously very few cars had central locking, so im not really complaining about the fact that its not there, just questioning why such calcutta spec cars are valued so high.

i just do not understand the golf fasination. your essentially paying more to get less, yet people seem only too happy to do so?

look for one that has had a timing belt done and maybe a clutch and flywheel aswell. clutch, flywheel and turbo are the most expencive things on these that give bother on these but overall they are a very nice car, well built and solid to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Slidey here has one and is going to Oz. If he is selling it would be a great car to buy..

oh thats fine then, i'l just stroll on up to the car with my passengers, i'l stick the key in the drivers door, open it and let myself in, shut the drivers door and then blip the rest of the doors open. how awkward?
    no the way central locking works is, you turn the key in the drivers door all the door open. every one can enter the car at the same time:p

how much would it have cost VW to make an antenna for that switch?
    rcl was an option with the factory alarm. but most irish buyers dont like options and never added it to the options list..

a remote locking kit can be got for about 30 quid on ebay and fitted in less than an hour by someone who has no experience of fitting them
    i just do not understand the golf fasination. your essentially paying more to get less, yet people seem only too happy to do so?
    but they are no less than any of the other cars in that size of the same year. where they lack in one thing they will make up for in another.

sorry, you clearly know your/ like your VWs :D

valid points made about the central locking but it should still be fecking r/c/l from the factory damn it! probably may just be irish people not liking spec-ing up their cars then.

but what redeeming features do they have? where they lack in spec they make up in the turbo/ clutch/ flywheel faults you spoke of above?

like you wont buy a ten year old VW in most cases for its high trim level and by the looks of things its not to high on the reliability chart either (though i totally appreciate that to an extent it depends how the car was looked after)

sorry, you clearly know your/ like your VWs :D

valid points made about the central locking but it should still be fecking r/c/l from the factory damn it! probably may just be irish people not liking spec-ing up their cars then.

but what redeeming features do they have? where they lack in spec they make up in the turbo/ clutch/ flywheel faults you spoke of above?

like you wont buy a ten year old VW in most cases for its high trim level and by the looks of things its not to high on the reliability chart either (though i totally appreciate that to an extent it depends how the car was looked after)

no i drive a cheep mans vw, in other words a SEAT!! all the comfort but with more standard spec!

i know what you mean do. vw always gave lower spec than most other manufactures but i would still take a 99 golf over a 306 or megan or focus of the same year espically in diesel. wouldnt touch a petrol one do! they drive so much nicer than the others of that era but i can see why someone else wouldnt want one. its just different strokes for different folks at the end of the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Hi
    Going to link to this ad. I hadnt intended selling quite yet, but you are looking for the exact car that I am selling.

exactly :)

99 focus diesel vs 99 golf diesel.

:pac: i bought my 99 focus diesel lx last september for 1500, with a new NCT, alloys wheels, remote central locking, power windows and mirrors, alloy wheels and air con all as standard and what imo is a more reliable engine under the bonnet. all for 5-750 euro less than a golf which would have offered me manual windows, turn key locking, 3 different options for the dash blowers, wheel trims and a clutch and flywheel issue :P

people are mad, i'l leave it at that, but cheers sean :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

:pac: i bought my 99 focus diesel lx last september for 1500, with a new NCT, alloys wheels, remote central locking, power windows and mirrors, alloy wheels and air con all as standard and what imo is a more reliable engine under the bonnet.

Wouldn't agree with that.

The VW 1.9 TDI was probably one of the most reliable diesels around.

You are also comparing a higher spec focus to a lower spec Golf. The comfortline Golfs came with electric windows and mirrors and alloys as standard. Remote central locking was an option alright but its a cheap thing to fit.

Personally I would take the VW every time, been in a few Fords and I just don't like the finish of them inside.

PaulKK wrote: »
    Wouldn't agree with that.

The VW 1.9 TDI was probably one of the most reliable diesels around.

You are also comparing a higher spec focus to a lower spec Golf. The comfortline Golfs came with electric windows and mirrors and alloys as standard. Remote central locking was an option alright but its a cheap thing to fit.

Personally I would take the VW every time, been in a few Fords and I just don't like the finish of them inside.

do you really think it's the most reliable diesel around? why?

and you just confirmend my point, my focus (lx, bottom spec) offered all the extras of a comforline golf and that people who buy golfs buy them for the feel of the soft touch dash, because lets face it theres plenty of it to touch, theres certainly no buttons on it :P

The 1.9 TDI is well known to be fairly bullet proof, its been used in everything from the Audi 80 in 1993 to the present in one form or another.

We've had 4 of them and they've been great.

This focus is an 03 and has steel wheels and manual mirrors so your theory is a little off:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2974320

People buy them because they are fairly reliable, economical, look ok and have a nice interior and solid feel.

PaulKK wrote: »
    This focus is an 03 and has steel wheels and manual mirrors so your theory is a little off:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2974320

that focus further proves my point, its 03, it may have manual mirrors and steel wheels but its priced accordingly at 1500 euro.

to get a similarly "un specced" golf you'd have to pay near twice that. and aside from asthetics the golf would argueably be no better a car for double the money.

loads of focus around with steel wheels.. plus the engine choice in the diesel focus was poor. only a 90 and a 115bhp unit where the golf came with a lot more power outputs and some had a 6 speed gearbox too.

that focus further proves my point, its 03, it may have manual mirrors and steel wheels but its priced accordingly at 1500 euro.

to get a similarly "un specced" golf you'd have to pay near twice that. and aside from asthetics the golf would argueably be no better a car for double the money.

Its on English plates... so its not really 1500.

Here's a 00 with all electrics for 1850, I'm sure you'd get it for a bit less
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2924232

I'm not saying the focus is bad, I just wouldn't go for it.

is that not shocking?

i mean its common knowledge right now that the golfs and boras, particularly diesels around the 2000 vintage command a sizeable price premium above its competitors (focus, corolla, pug 307, etc etc) which all had those basic creature comforts as standard in 2000)

who wants to shell out 3.5k for a 02 car with fricking keep fit windows and you have to lean across the car to pull up the stopper to let the passenger in? i mean you can't see the VW badge when your sitting in it. its like funsize bags of crisps, your all being fooled, theres nothing fun about a tiny packet of crisps.

why are buyers this weather so adamant to pay a premium for such a scantily clad car?

sorry but this has been on my mind clearly :P

iirc the Focus "freedom" had windy windows, i know of a 02 with such. Also the "keep fit" windows are a much more reliable option that the electrics!

The Golf may have had poor kit in baseline but then again it had abs, a full compliment of airbags and four disc brakes. No other rival was a match for it on the safety kit front.

EPM wrote: »
    The Golf may have had poor kit in baseline but then again it had abs, a full compliment of airbags and four disc brakes. No other rival was a match for it on the safety kit front.

Yeah, airbags. Still did ****e in the NCAP.

Yeah, but there was a cost associated with that kit is my point. Afaik abs was 500 pounds at the time on a focus. Something similar with additional airbag. It's swapping one for the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Any diesel Golf of that year with that mileage (ie. around 100k) that doesn't have a full documented service history is clocked, and there's absolutely no doubt in mind about that. There are 08 Passats leaving England with more than 70,000 miles on them.

There's nothing wrong with 160k miles, that's what it should have. As long as it's been looked after some what you'll be fine.

Make sure the gearbox is right and everything else works, after that you really can't go too far wrong.

And I should know I just bought a 08 Passat from the UK with 75000 miles.
    Any diesel of that era is going to be driven and I would say has around 200000 miles on the clock, It just didnt pay the average punter to buy a diesel unless doing high miles, as the cars were much dearer than the equiv petrol. These days with the co2 system and higher fuel costs obviously there are low mile new diesels around in Ireland (not really the UK though as pricing is much higher on diesel fuel and there isnt lower co2 vrt on diesels to offset the dearer motors.)
    The MKIV golf though is a nicer car overall than the focus, its more refined and the interior hasn't really any cost spared from a build quality point of view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

The clutch flywheel problems are of later date. They don't apply to '99/'00 VW's. My first flywheel/clutch (in a T4, not a Golf, mind ya) died at 401000 km !!! And that was a dual-mass flywheel !!!

Same goes for turbo problems. They are of later years, when the bean counters came in.

The 1st gen TDI engines and their drivetrain (not PD, not commonrail) are very very hard to kill. That's actually what Limerick Man has, when I recall that correctly.

/M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

exactly :)

99 focus diesel vs 99 golf diesel.

:pac: i bought my 99 focus diesel lx last september for 1500, with a new NCT, alloys wheels, remote central locking, power windows and mirrors, alloy wheels and air con all as standard and what imo is a more reliable engine under the bonnet. all for 5-750 euro less than a golf which would have offered me manual windows, turn key locking, 3 different options for the dash blowers, wheel trims and a clutch and flywheel issue :P

people are mad, i'l leave it at that, but cheers sean :)

+100

Except for the wheels, all that kit came as standard on my 96 xantia, 98 406 and my 01 c5 (admittedly the 406 was a glx):cool:

pred racer wrote: »
    +100

Except for the wheels, all that kit came as standard on my 96 xantia, 98 406 and my 01 c5:cool: (admittedly the 406 was a glx):cool:

but none of them are in the same class as a golf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

but none of them are in the same class as a golf

Fair enough.

But the door closing sounded just like a golf:D

Just trying to support the theory that golfs are woefully under equipped for their price, at that time they expected you to pay for what was standard in most other cars.

But like sean1141 said....some people are mad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭thekooman

I had a baseline 02 100 brake tdi which i traded before xmas. It had 202,000 miles on it and it was a flyer... I've a 105bhp passat tdi now and it would have left it sitting!
    fly wheel was going in it though so keep an eye out for that. As soon as you lift your foot off the clutch you will here the humming but then again it might never have gone as it was like that for 20k+.