Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommendations for trip to Stadt de France

• 06-02-2012 9:58am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Heading to Paris the weekend for the game (quite scared tbh!, but hey we have to win there sometime soon). 4 of us going but we only have 2 tickets, any recommendations where the 2 without tickets should watch it or is there a chance outside the stadium for tickets (without being totally gouged?).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

The risk of going to the ground without tickets is that it's in the middle of nowhere so if the other two don't get in, they're scuppered because the ground is a fair trek from the city and there's not much out there. That said, I've been there four or five times now and I often see French guys selling tickets there. When you come out of the Metro station at St Denis, there are often lads standing there with tickets in the air. Depends on how up for it the French lads are.

It's an evening kick off so hit the Irish pubs in Paris beforehand, ask around and you're in with a fairly good chance.

If you decide to watch it in a pub, the obvious one is Kitty O'Shea's but I always prefer the Cuilin Bar (get the metro to Odeon).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Great thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Annabella1

Paris is a great trip...even though we always lose!
    When the brass bands start up in the crowd...you know we are f****d!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Im just hoping teh air traffic controllers are working away:mad:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Yeah I'm trying to just ignore it in the hope it doesn't happen, they managed to call it off before christmas. Due to fly Thursday, what about you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭Lapsed Catholic

OP, what part of town are you staying in?

The 8th arrondissement, 200-300 metres from rome, Europe and St Lazare stations.

Take the Metro (line 13) to Clichy. Walk along Blv de Clichy to the Moulin Rouge, do not enter the Oirish flytraps of Corcorans, or O'Sullivans. At the MR tun up left on Rue Lepic. Follow to the top of the hill wher it intesects with Rue des Abbesses to the right. As you stand on the corner (big fish mongers) look right there is a bar/restaurant called La Moscotte http://www.la-mascotte-montmartre.com/ Rugby supporters from the south usually gather here on the weelend of the game and I have often got tickets. The other choice is a bar call Au Pomponnette (wooden deck area outside) http://www.pomponnette-montmartre.com/ you will have a chance of tickets here also. Not much English spoken in either place but very friendly. Fod and drink in both are excellent, Pomponnette open all night on Saturdays, no price increases. Enjoy.

Brilliant stuff, thanks a million for that. :D

pc7 wrote: »
    Yeah I'm trying to just ignore it in the hope it doesn't happen, they managed to call it off before christmas. Due to fly Thursday, what about you?

On the early flight the Saturday morning so hopefully if anything does happen we'll be OK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

as total says you should get tickets at the stadium last few times I have been, there was alot of tickets for sale. Its freezing other there at the moment , the game being on at nine should be interesting alot of juiced up Irish fans, going over on thursday as long as they don't shut down the poxy airports ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

duckysauce wrote: »
    as total says you should get tickets at the stadium last few times I have been, there was alot of tickets for sale. Its freezing other there at the moment , the game being on at nine should be interesting alot of juiced up Irish fans, going over on thursday as long as they don't shut down the poxy airports ;)

le Chunnel!

That is late at night to be coming home from Dodgeville Paris.

Travel in packs! (also doubles as advice to the Ireland team!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

The other choice is a bar call Au Pomponnette (wooden deck area outside) http://www.pomponnette-montmartre.com/ you will have a chance of tickets here also. Not much English spoken in either place but very friendly. Fod and drink in both are excellent, Pomponnette open all night on Saturdays, no price increases. Enjoy.

Nice one! Presume its the same famous Pomponette, Had an absolutely awesome night there about 5 years ago (home to bed at 7am... too old for that now) Fantastic place. Singsongs with the owner / bar manager (or perhaps, just an old man who fancied my wife... top man in any case) rare old time.

andrewdcs wrote: »
    The other choice is a bar call Au Pomponnette (wooden deck area outside) http://www.pomponnette-montmartre.com/ you will have a chance of tickets here also. Not much English spoken in either place but very friendly. Fod and drink in both are excellent, Pomponnette open all night on Saturdays, no price increases. Enjoy.

Nice one! Presume its the same famous Pomponette, Had an absolutely awesome night there about 5 years ago (home to bed at 7am... too old for that now) Fantastic place. Singsongs with the owner / bar manager (or perhaps, just an old man who fancied my wife... top man in any case) rare old time.

It is indeed. I've had some great nights there over the years. Last time we met Lionel Fourie prop with Clermont. He had played in Thomond with Sale in the HEC. Nice guy, chain smoked and devoured pastis!

I've been to SdeF for 9pm ko's before, no hassle. The Stade is very well policed and the Metro has you back in town in no time.

OP, let us know how ye get on.

Will do thanks for all the tips everyone. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭krissovo

Heading over myself for the match on Friday and just signing up to the thread for some tips.

Particularly interested in where the craic will be after the match.

Paris is too big to have one centre for the craic after a game, especially when the game is held outside the city centre. St.Denis is not someplece that I'm familiar with and I believe not the most attractive place to hang around. The Metro or RER will have you back in Paris is no time. I usually stay in Montmartre in the 18th, so tend to head back there for my post match sherry. I avoid Oirish pubs like the plague so tend to go with the local flow. The Marais and the Bastille areas are usually good for a night out, the Sous Bock Tavern on Rue St. Honore in the 1st is usually good for a rugby crowd.

Just came across this site www.allomatch.com which gives a list of sports being broadcast and the pubs showing it. Might be a chance to get some tickets and a place for a night out.

Got 2 tickets sorted last night, getting them collected this morning, so all 4 of us going now :D. Thanks to those who pm'd with offers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 MMADROC

Glad to hear it PC7, I might try to make it up to the two places Lapsed Catholic mentioned before and/or after the match. It'll make a change from Corcoran's (my old local, I lived 10 minutes away when I first moved to Paris).

I'll be the one not talking to his wife, or whose wife is not talking to him depending on the result. :D

Seriously, marrying a French woman, I have no idea what I was thinking :P

DROC

Well where to start! I'll just ignore the match part lol. That besides we'd a super trip to Paris, I hadn't been in about 15 years and was so pleasantly surprised by the prices and the french people. They were so helpful and friendly which was not how I remembered Paris, also the prices had dropped so much from what I remembered and what i had heard.

We did all the tourist things, boat on the Seine, eifel tower, Lourve, Montmarte, etc and in the evenings we had some lovely meals (at really affordable prices! 3 courses for €22 one night and €29 the other), we did the Moulin Rouge and while it was cheese on a stick, we still had such a laugh. We went to Harrys cocktail bar and that was nice, there was also a good bar beside it with live music.

All in all we'd a fab few days in Paris, but still gutted at the last minute cancellation. Also we had planned to go to Au Pomponnette after the match based on recommendations on boards, but we were just unable to pick ourselves up that we just had a few beers and went to bed! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭joshrogan

pc7 wrote: »
    Well where to start! I'll just ignore the match part lol. That besides we'd a super trip to Paris, I hadn't been in about 15 years and was so pleasantly surprised by the prices and the french people. They were so helpful and friendly which was not how I remembered Paris, also the prices had dropped so much from what I remembered and what i had heard.

We did all the tourist things, boat on the Seine, eifel tower, Lourve, Montmarte, etc and in the evenings we had some lovely meals (at really affordable prices! 3 courses for €22 one night and €29 the other), we did the Moulin Rouge and while it was cheese on a stick, we still had such a laugh. We went to Harrys cocktail bar and that was nice, there was also a good bar beside it with live music.

All in all we'd a fab few days in Paris, but still gutted at the last minute cancellation. Also we had planned to go to Au Pomponnette after the match based on recommendations on boards, but we were just unable to pick ourselves up that we just had a few beers and went to bed! :(
    Are you going back for the replay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

joshrogan wrote: »

I sure as **** am not even with free accommodation thanks to contacts, i will not go back, was plain as **** all week it was minus zero ,up yours six nations council; stade should be left empty;

joshrogan wrote: »

No won't be going back either, tbh if it had of been cancelled a few days (or even that day) and if I had the cash or leave (which I dont) to go back I probably would. But to get to our seats and for it to be cancelled then left a very bad taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I've always heard that Parisians are rude but cancelling the match with 2 min to go the other night is really taking the p$%^.

profitius wrote: »
    I've always heard that Parisians are rude but cancelling the match with 2 min to go the other night is really taking the p$%^.

Actually thought they couldn't have been nicer to us. Match being off had nothing to do with the French. They wanted the game earlier and were refused.

Managed to get flights for 199 return earlier and jumped at the chance to go back.