Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Robbie Keane still does cartwheel celebration

• 05-02-2012 6:32pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Am I the only one that thinks Roobie Keane should stop doing that cartwheel celebration? He did it today against Newcastle. I guess some think it's an ok celebration and IMO it was. But Keane is no spring chicken and it just looks a bit weird to see a player Keane's age doing cartwheels. When you think of all the players that do mad backflips and all now you can only giggle at Robbie Keane's roll:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭ASOT

He can do what he wants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Who cares?:confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

darkman2 wrote: »
    Am I the only one that thinks Roobie Keane should stop doing that cartwheel celebration? He did it today against Newcastle. I guess some think it's an ok celebration and IMO it was. But Keane is no spring chicken and it just looks a bit weird to see a player Keane's age doing cartwheels. When you think of all the players that do mad backflips and all now you can only giggle at Robbie Keane's roll:D

Keeps him nimble , Training consists of 4 in the morning and 4 in the evening .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

Not a spring chicken?
    Are you scared he will slip a disc or damage a hip?
    I think fair play, he is still banging them in. Long may it continue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Ha ha, Roobie :pac:

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

I hope he'll be doing many more cartwheels in an Ireland jersey.. :)

The fascination with Robbie Keane's cartwheels continues...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Robbie still has quality, and is still and excellent goal scorer / finisher.

If he wants to do carwheel's when he's 60, he's fully entitled to!

Doing cartwheels for all his boyhood clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I love Robbies celebration!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭LostBoy101

Nice to see Keano banging in the goals and lets hope he can produce some at the Euros.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Some people will do anything to criticise the man. Haters gonna hate.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭decisions

As long as he scores in an Ireland shirt come the Euro's he can do whatever the fúck he likes as for as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

When he is not scoring goals people question his quality, when he is scoring goals people question his celebration, when he scores and doesn't celebrate people question which boyhood team he scored against.

The guy is a legend, he can do whatever he wants for me, How I'd love to see a cartwheel or two from him this Summer.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Thinking of Keane cartwheeling reminds me of this :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Remember watching this in school at the time, safe to say the classroom was destroyed.

Him and ronaldo the only two to score v kahn that WC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

am i the only one disappointed when Robbie doesn't do his cartwheel after scoring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Worst. Thread. Ever.

Love Robbie.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Mick McCarthy's reaction was better;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

It's when he starts doing cartwheels when he doesn't score that you should worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Glad to see so many people go against the OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It looks brutal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

The haters of RK need to get lost especially Irish ones. He's one of the best strikers the premiership has seen and is one of the best players ireland has produced.

People are gonna call me out on the first point but he is, he had two unreal spells, with coventry and his form which saw Liverpool sign him so he's easily up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Some people will look into anything Robbie does to use it as a stick to beat him with. I remember one international match thread were a few folks were up in arms (excuse the pun) because he tried to claim a penalty (legitimately as well!). Apparently his protests didn't show enough class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It looks brutal.
    It doesn't matter of the celebration is naff; we're Irish, we're never going to be cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

Rivaldo also scored against Kahn in that WC. I had a great sense of pride when George Hamilton said after the final that the only players to score against Kahn in the WC were the three R's - Ronaldo, Rivaldo and Robbie Keane.

In relation to the cartwheel, he does that after he scores his first goal for a club. He scored two versus wolves that he would not celebrate as they were a club he holds affection for. You won't see it again this season if it makes you feel better OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

In the first half today he was phenomenal, an extremely clever, classy player when on form. Delighted to see him play when he plays like that. Cartwheel away Robbie, cartwheel away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭eugeneious

thudd wrote: »
    Rivaldo also scored against Kahn in that WC. I had a great sense of pride when George Hamilton said after the final that the only players to score against Kahn in the WC were the three R's - Ronaldo, Rivaldo and Robbie Keane.

In relation to the cartwheel, he does that after he scores his first goal for a club. He scored two versus wolves that he would not celebrate as they were a club he holds affection for. You won't see it again this season if it makes you feel better OP

:confused: Rivaldo didn't score against Kahn in 2002, Ronaldo got both goals in the final and that was the only time in that WC that they played each other...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭johnners2981

It doesn't matter of the celebration is naff; we're Irish, we're never going to be cool.

Speak for yourself there, I know I'm cool. I do a cartwheel every time Robbie scores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭thudd

I stand corrected, it was 2 Ronnie goals.

The cartwheel logic still stands though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Would you prefer that he celebrated in a more toned down manner . .

article-0-0F4DA0DC00000578-371_224x314.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm shit cool. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

the-stupidity-of-idiots-demotivational-poster-1246827157.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,518 ✭✭✭✭briany

If we see him scoring goals at the Euros, nobody is going to care how he celebrates. He'll probably get his own statue if he bangs them in during the Summer, which is a huge if admittedly. They'd probably carve it mid wheel just to feck off all the people who would complain about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Been brilliant for Aston Villa the last couple of weeks. So many who said he was finished at Premiership level. What an absolute legend he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

The cartwheels are cool. The fact that he's not the most agile, but still churns out the simple but effective goal celebration makes it all the cooler.

Plus cartwheels are fun. Turn a few of them yourself next time your down the park and you won't be so up tight about the little things anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Keep it up Robbie!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I remember a friend on mines ma did a cartwheel in her 40's (could have even been 50), we said we'd donate €50 each to charity if she did it, which she did, which we had to pay up on. Robbie ain't too old to be doing cartwheels.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

I remember a friend on mines ma did a cartwheel in her 40's (could have even been 50), we said we'd donate €50 each to charity if she did it, which she did, which we had to pay up on. Robbie ain't too old to be doing cartwheels.

Was she a midget? I'd pay to see a 50 year old midget doing a cartwheel don't know about a regular 50 year old though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I hope he'll be doing many more cartwheels in an Ireland jersey.. :)

He'll Cartwheel all the way to Poland so he will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

The man isnt a pensioner ffs.

Ridiculous OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Oi, my Granny still does cartwheels! Does it every time after mass she does!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

In fairness its a half arsed cartwheel. Think he should of put an end to it long time ago. Good player though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

ASOT wrote: »
    Doing cartwheels for all his boyhood clubs.

n6t6d.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

It's all grand until he lands on his head and misses the Euro's, reckon we'd see a drastic shift in opinions if something like that were to happen :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

gnfnrhead wrote: »
    It's all grand until he lands on his head and misses the Euro's, reckon we'd see a drastic shift in opinions if something like that were to happen :pac:

I'd blame you for putting the jinx on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Has he ever chanced a back-flip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

smokedeels wrote: »
    Has he ever chanced a back-flip?

only with Claudia ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

did you see her knickers?