Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€ difference of drivetrains

• 05-02-2012 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

Hey,

Was doin a bit of "window" shopping today in cycleways and noticed that you get Sora components for bikes of a price range of €800 to €1000. Tiagra next level up etc.

Does anyone have a price scale for these parts? I just think spending a grand on a bike just to get a low level drivetrain is a bit s**t.

DOC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

You will pick up a better deal with better components second hand.
    Could be wrong but staring from cheapest...

Sora
    Tiagra
    Ultegra
    DA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

Cheers but I know that, was just wondering what prices they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I don't know that consumer RRPs are very meaningful, since the manufacturer will not pay these, but...

http://www.parker-international.co.uk/b/7/Shimano/c/46/Groupsets/Shimano-Groupsets.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

bcmf wrote: »
    You will pick up a better deal with better components second hand.
    Could be wrong but staring from cheapest...

Sora
    Tiagra
    Ultegra
    DA

and then you have shimano 2300 before sora, looks like unbranded shimano but thats generally what it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

just shows the way people thing.i was selling my look with all dura ace gear top end wheels have to say if anyone seen it it would pass for a new bike,i dident get one offer on it because it was used ,
    but when your window shopping and see a bike with low end stuff on it your think, ah now thats a lovely bike think i might just buy that.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

just shows the way people thing.i was selling my look with all dura ace gear top end wheels have to say if anyone seen it it would pass for a new bike,i dident get one offer on it because it was used

You got an offer for €900 which you turned down. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Lumen wrote: »

:D:D:D sorry so i did but i didn't concider that to be honest,
    thats my point though people have no idea whats out there they see something shiny whats that saying
    can't see the trees for the forest :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭doc1976

IMO its a total rip off, 1000 quid for a bike with Sora components!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭snollup

doc1976 wrote: »
    IMO its a total rip off, 1000 quid for a bike with Sora components!!

totally agree, a few years back you'd get 105 for around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

snollup wrote: »
    totally agree, a few years back you'd get 105 for around that.

You can get a SRAM rival bike for little more than that today! (http://www.planet-x-bikes.co.uk/i/q/YBPXSLPRIV/planet_x_pro_carbon_rival_road_bike)