Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Car Cash Discounts

• 05-02-2012 11:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭

Anybody know which dealers are offering the biggest cash discounts these days?
    I know a lot would depend on the value of the car but just as a guide.
    It used to be Ford but it's been a while since I looked.

I remember a garage once telling me "I'll give you €1,500 off for cash".
    What % is that then?
    "Eh, not sure I don't have a calculator to hand".

The oldest trick in the book, just tell them the amount instead of the %.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

I'd say you'd get a good deal on a Renault for cash.

Do you have any other criteria in mind apart from % of cash you can get off purchase price though? These things even out IMO -you might get a discount off a car x for example and car y might be a grand or two lot more expensive. A few years down the road though, car x likely to have held it's value much better.

I know this sounds a bit vague...what I'm saying is unless you buy a brand on the up (Kia/Hyundai?) you're unlikely to win at both ends.

And if you're buying the car to drive into the ground you should be looking into warranties, reliability etc. - not just the bottom line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Ford can still give good discount on certain models, as can Opel.

Renault will probably give you the most, but it could end up costing you more at the back end unless you're keeping the car for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Renault are currently giving €3500.00 off any Megane or Fluence bought before this evening. And a 5yr with unlimited mileage guarantee on the Fluence. Not a bad offer at all imo.

Until you realise you have to look at a Fluence and then drive one for the next 5 or so years.........:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Until you realise you have to look at a Fluence and then drive one for the next 5 or so years.........:eek:

The counselling after that would cost a fortune...:D

-Corkie- wrote: »
    The counselling after that would cost a fortune...:D

And you'd have to listen to the comments like.....

"Jaysus, surprised it hasn't broken down yet"
    "Does your window still work?"

And the ever-entertaining

"Those French lads can't build anything right!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Yeah saw the Renault offer all right, expired yesterday though.