Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs, who needs them?

• 05-02-2012 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,348 ✭✭✭

I set up a ''pub'' of my own out in a big shed, insulated, telly, pool table, running water, electricity and a stove to heat it. A couple of friends have done the same thing. Strictly BYOA. I think it is the way forward. Screw goin into town to get screwed by greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭Gary4279

Can we be friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I set up a ''pub'' of my own out in a big shed, insulated, telly, pool table, running water, electricity and a stove to heat it. A couple of friends have done the same thing. Strictly BYOA. I think it is the way forward. Screw goin into town to get screwed by greed.

Any hot barmaids ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Can I be the smelly drunk in the corner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Stupid Flanders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

/adds OP to friends list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Pubs, who needs them?
    Op you obviously do, you set up one :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

So you have the garden shed converted to a man cave.

Not really a pub.

Thats all good. Certainly cheaper. But if you like meeting random people and having different nights out, then back home isn't the place to be.

Certainly is cheaper though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

The sooner we make the transition to titty bars the sooner the pub trade will pick up. Not paying a fiver a pint otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

OP, any pics?

Thinking of doing something similar, wouldn't mind having a gander at your spot if you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I kinda do the same...except I allow people into my house...don't make them drink in a shed, it even has a toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Absolutely nothin', say it again yeah..

Oops! wrong song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

TheZohan wrote: »
    I kinda do the same...except I allow people into my house...don't make them drink in a shed, it even has a toilet.

You keep spoiling them and they'll take advantage.

I insist in making passive-aggressive remarks, giving them dirty looks and acting like a prick in general before they come into my house. When they get in I wait until they get their drinks and I walk around and ask them for proof of age, if anyone makes a passing comment I forcefully remove them from the premises.

Gives the night a genuine feel as well as helping breed contempt all while letting them know I'm the boss.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hardly a pub if you have to BYOB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Had a great day in the pub yesterday so I must need them and you can shove yours up your hoop........thanks :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

But you don't have the possibility of the random social interaction that is part and parcel of going to the pub. No hot girls to chance your arm with. No unexpected lock-ins. No party spilling out into the street or smoking area. Nah, 's just not the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Reckon that I haven't set foot in a pub since October, or probably earlier. My memory doesn't stretch back any further. No need of them anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

Byobb?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Pics of gtfo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭D_D

Byobb?

That was a typo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I'd rather have somewhere to go to that isn't someones house/shed or a pub.
    I used to really love gigs and events but my distain for arséholes has really made that more hassle than its worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I do
    OP you just have to understand

Making your way in the world today takes everything you've got.
    Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.

Wouldn't you like to get away?

Sometimes you want to go

Where everybody knows your name,
    and they're always glad you came.
    You wanna be where you can see,
    our troubles are all the same
    You wanna be where everybody knows
    Your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

So you built you own "public" house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

D_D wrote: »
    That was a typo...

It should have been boobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Heard an interview with an old man on the radio who set up his own sheebeen in a barn, ceili music, byob etc. The guards kept raiding him and sending everyone home even though he wasn't breaking any laws. Threatened to take him to court if he didn't stop. So be aware OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

I read the thread title as "Pubes, who needs them?" and thought, yeah he's right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

Friend of mine did the exact same thing. Timber lean -to, insulated, wired and plumbed. Mate built a bar and he acquired some pub paraphernalia. Beer kegs and fridge. Ye can smoke what ever you like in the place. Big screen and music.

All his friends converge in the place each weekend . For a year now. He has become quite popular with it.

Good move and great project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

gsxr1 wrote: »
    Friend of mine did the exact same thing. Timber lean -to, insulated, wired and plumbed. Mate built a bar and he acquired some pub paraphernalia. Beer kegs and fridge. Ye can smoke what ever you like in the place. Big screen and music.

All his friends converge in the place each weekend . For a year now. He has become quite popular with it.

Good move and great project.

and one of these days, his neighbours/wife/himself will get ticked off with the noise and the lateness, and say "have yiz no homes to go to?", turn the lights off, and close it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

and one of these days, his neighbours/wife/himself will get ticked off with the noise and the lateness, and say "have yiz no homes to go to?", turn the lights off, and close it down.

His neighbours are his best customers!!! lol. They are best friends.. Its a great set up he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Pubs, who needs them?

I do. Anyone else?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I know a few people that have done same.
    They still wish to gether and have a bit of 'craic' - expect they don't want to pay rip-off prices in a lot of cases.
    Stuff the VFI and its state bullying! It can go stuff itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

I dunno, people who cant afford to do up a big shed?

Few beers and the tv any night will do thanks.