Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anne Valley 5 mile Dunhill, Waterford

• 04-02-2012 9:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭

http://annevalleyrunning.webs.com/ Takes place on Saturday the 11th of Feb. Anybody else here done this before? Did it last year. Very well ran race, tough hilly course but lovely scenery. Would highly recommend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

i agree !! well run, BIG fecker of a hill .. tis great going down it, not so great coming up it :) and Emmas Rocky Road after it are class !!
    Its on next Sat guys, so get on down to Dunhill !!! :)

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭jimbo21

ye i have done this one before and its a good 5 mile run love the finish all down hill :eek: all the way to harneys pub where the food is top noch after the run:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

jimbo21 wrote: »
    ye i have done this one before and its a good 5 mile run love the finish all down hill :eek: all the way to harneys pub where the food is top noch after the run:D:D

You ran well again today jimbo,well done...you going to Kilmac next week ?

Great event in its 6th year ( i think ) ...... 414 runners....i would love to get half that at our Genzyme race this year....just shows how races can evolve over time and gain appreciation from runners.
    Well done to the organisers and i must track down one or two of them and have a chat because thats a fantastic turnout on a miserable wet and windy day to add to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

+1 on above.

Poor weather but well run and grub was good and plentiful. First time but will be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

i done a 30mile run this morning and was out that way twice and didnt even no it was on,dam,yep was crap weather:)

Are you training for the ultra in connemara ray...or do you do 30m runs on a saturday morning for fun ?

yep sosa,doing connemara ultra and a 6 hour track race 3.5 weeks after that one,only problem i have only ran around they waterford track probaly 3 times[laps],so i need some pratice running around in loops,are you doing connemara yourself?

no,im to soft for the ultras...will be doing the viking marathon though

sosa will be doing the waterford marathon myself,realy looking forward to it,to be honest i find the ultras easier than most of the marathons that i have done,you run them at a slower pace and its just about finishing,fast times dont realy come into it,and theres a different buzz when running them because there very freindly and weather your first or last you get treated the same,so c you at connemara next year haha

Sosa wrote: »

thanks sosa ,been my home run i had to put in a good run :D you had a v good time yourself, ran it again today as a slow run not sure yet if i will be doing kilmac

Kilmac and Portlaw are the fastest 5 milers that i have ran jimbo...all my best times were at those races...Carrick is fast also...

i dont think Kilmac and Portlaw are ture 5 mile

Potlaw was 4.92 on my garmin last year and i ran 27:47...so that was 28:13 at least if it went the full 5m calculated from my 5th mile pace.
    Kilmac was also a bit short last year,which is surprising for a WWAC event,but its still fast..im just using the races at this stage to get back going...i am a long way off 28:13 at the minute...i would take sub 29 on Sunday and build from there....hopefully they will sort out the distance for Portlaw in May and i will hopefully be in PB shape by then.

it wont take you to long to get back to where you were :D a few nights on the track will sort that out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

Potlaw was 4.92 on my garmin last year and i ran 27:47...so that was 28:13 at least if it went the full 5m calculated from my 5th mile pace.
    Kilmac was also a bit short last year,which is surprising for a WWAC event,but its still fast..im just using the races at this stage to get back going...i am a long way off 28:13 at the minute...i would take sub 29 on Sunday and build from there....hopefully they will sort out the distance for Portlaw in May and i will hopefully be in PB shape by then.
    Any date for Portlaw?,the sun always shines at this one so i'll know when the heat comes it is nearby anyways :)

5.30 odd pace is some going sosa,fair play,you have some great speed there to do well in all races.