Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sore feet and toes after cycle

• 04-02-2012 9:39am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭

hi

i bought cleats and mavick shoes recently find them ok till about 12k on trip and then find my toes especiallly sore and numb , i use cycling socks and got the shoes fitted . is there something i am doing wrong or should i dump the shoes and get another pair . thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭Rita1

I had the same problem but I was closing the straps too tight on my shoes.

I loosened them off a bit and there grand now.

I hope you get it sorted because it very annoying and sore.

Cheers

Shane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,810 ✭✭✭skerry

Small cleat adjustments make a big difference. Was getting sore feet the first time I used cleats, put the bike on the trainer and kept making tiny adjustments to the cleats and eventually got them dialed in. I reckon its your cleats not the shoes, but then again I can't say I'm an expert. Wouldn't go chucking out the shoes just yet though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 fitman

Hey,sorry to hear your in so much pain. I have a pair of Mavic shoes too but I find them extremely comfortable,I have a very narrow foot though and I have a feeling that this might be your problem. Some shoe companys will have a wider fit and others will have a narrow fit. I wouldn't say its a fault of your cleats as badly set up cleats will result in knee pain or maybe tendon pain in ankles. Your best bet is to loosen your straps on the shoe and if your still having trouble maybe you could go for a brand with a wider fit. Some peoples feet might actually swell a little when they heat up and if this is your case it might only get worse as the summer approaches. Some wider shoes that might suit you better are Northwave or Sidi. Also,what shoes did you use before? and did you get the shop to set up the cleats for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

skerry wrote: »
    Small cleat adjustments make a big difference. Was getting sore feet the first time I used cleats, put the bike on the trainer and kept making tiny adjustments to the cleats and eventually got them dialed in. I reckon its your cleats not the shoes, but then again I can't say I'm an expert. Wouldn't go chucking out the shoes just yet though.
    I had the same problem and the sharp ongoing pain i experienced i will never forget , i resolved it by a small adjustment to my cleats and slightly loosening the foot straps so by allowing the foot a little room for movement within the shoe. Good luck with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Chris O Donoghue

Make sure your feet are not moving in the show, and hitting your toe on the inside of the shoe. Even if it's only a tiny movement it will add up over a longish spin.

If necessary you can buy a foam toe protector which fits over your big toe, but this can be bulky and hot.

This might sound obvious but make sure your nails are cut short!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭RubyGirl

fitman wrote: »
    Hey,sorry to hear your in so much pain. I have a pair of Mavic shoes too but I find them extremely comfortable,I have a very narrow foot though and I have a feeling that this might be your problem. Some shoe companys will have a wider fit and others will have a narrow fit. I wouldn't say its a fault of your cleats as badly set up cleats will result in knee pain or maybe tendon pain in ankles. Your best bet is to loosen your straps on the shoe and if your still having trouble maybe you could go for a brand with a wider fit. Some peoples feet might actually swell a little when they heat up and if this is your case it might only get worse as the summer approaches. Some wider shoes that might suit you better are Northwave or Sidi. Also,what shoes did you use before? and did you get the shop to set up the cleats for you?
    thanks for that will check the cleats cause i have a wide foot so will look into that aswell thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭greenmat

I experienced that too after starting cycling, very uncomfortable. It started for me as soon as my spins got over about 70km. After trying many things the one that sorted me out was to move the cleats further back on the shoe so that the ball of my foot was nearer to the center of the pedal axis. I was applying too much pressure to my toes because cleats were to far forward on the shoe. This change was only a few millimeters but instant success. Never bothered now with toe pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Happens to me when I over do it on the sockage in the winter time. It makes the shoes a bit too tight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

no experience with mavic ,but look pedals/cleats are a pain to get just right ,time pedals/cleats are much better simple because theres loads of float in the workings of both cleat/pedal.
    best thing to try is to ware a pair of trainers for a 12km spin and see if you still suffer pain, if all is ok after that
    then its down to your set up on both bike/shoes.

you might even be suffering from a thing called hotfoot which just comes and goes some kinda nerve pain.
    anyway best of luck hope you find the cause quickly.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

Something else to check is whether the shoes are providing adequate support for your foot arches. I have relatively high arches which caused me problems with one pair of shoes where the insoles were intended for lower arches. Basically my feet were rolling over onto the arches in the shoes and my toes were having to grip hard to compensate when pressing on the pedals. The end result was numb toes initially followed by severe pain across my toes later on in the ride.

In my case if I stood on a flat surface in bare feet I found that if I deliberately rolled over onto my arches and then tried to press my toes down flat on the ground as if pressing on a pedal, then I was able to reproduce the same pain I was experiencing on the bike. That helped me figure out the cause of the problem. As well as satisfying my internal lapsed catholic's penchant for self punishment, of course...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Investigate Specialized Body Geometry (BG) insoles. I had a pair of shoes with poor enough standard insoles that had started to migrate towards the back of the shoe and I got foot pain. Replaced the standard insoles with the Specialized ones and they were a revelation. Very comfortable.

I got mine in Swords, but I also saw them in Cycleways on Parnell St (Dublin) where they have a thing to gauge your instep also.

There are some other insoles available which may be suitable also.