Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tea total

• 03-02-2012 10:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭

Now that i am taking this cycling lark a bit more seriously i have more or less cut out the drink and replaced my friday bottles of beer with tea or coffee.
    So i got to wondering what effect all this tea may be having on my performance ? In the hope that i would be better off with a few beers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

fair play to you ,i heard the great sean kelly say one time it takes three weeks for a pint of larger to leave your system so a good choice no idea what he said on tea.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Yeah, and he also said "no sex before a race....weakens the legs!!" cheers! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭killalanerr

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Yeah, and he also said "no sex before a race....weakens the legs!!" cheers! :)
    i would say the odd knee trembler would be good for you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

So you expect to be 1st to the top of Snowtown in the morn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

I'm always expect to be first, but just like sex, it never seems to work out that way! :)

bcmf wrote: »
    So you expect to be 1st to the top of Snowtown in the morn?
    aren't i always and im thinking of going carbon in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

aren't i always and im thinking of going carbon in the morning
    Oh Jaysus...Things are getting serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

Caffiene dehydrates you ,drink loads of water. Some days I'm downing 10 litres of water ,fishes don't have a patch on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭Tropheus

Wheely GR8 wrote: »
    Caffiene dehydrates you

I've heard that this isn't true. Not saying caffiene is good for you, but liquid is liquid whether it's tea, coffee or water. Alcohol is obviously the exception.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

ksimpson wrote: »
    I've heard that this isn't true. Not saying caffiene is good for you, but liquid is liquid whether it's tea, coffee or water. Alcohol is obviously the exception.

Most people I know ,use the bog more when they drink coffee. Personally I never drank much water until last august and since then I've lost a huge amount of weight.
    I think water is brilliant ,don't drink as much alcohol now either mind and use to drink a lot of that.

Edit : Sorry ,I should say tea and coffee is grand I drink it all the time. Water aswell though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Wheely GR8 wrote: »
    Caffiene dehydrates you ,drink loads of water. Some days I'm downing 10 litres of water ,fishes don't have a patch on me.
    Really? Think you need to read up on hyponatraemia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

beer is 95% water. the other 5 % contains carbohydrates. a good unfiltered craft beer also contains vitamins too. don't believe the hype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

My old man is fond of saying, "everything in moderation, particularly moderation."
    I thought of it when I read the first post.
    I think that cycling wouldn't be much fun if one gave up absolutely everything to become a better cyclist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭cranks

Thermal bottle. Lemon tea. Sugar to taste.
    Lemon cuts through the mouth crud; caffeine make you think you're sharper; sugar fuels the delusion; and the little bit if heat is most welcome. All-in-all the perfect winter spin drink. So there.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

If you're serious about racing, then go for it but for the rest of us, I'm not serious enough to care, I'm not going to meet pretty ladies staying at home, not that I meet them out either, the beer helps me forget.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

Some even drank during the race!

Reading Coppi's life story at present. His arch rival Bartali famous for his non abstinence on tour.

http://www.allposters.co.uk/-sp/Archrivals-Gino-Bartali-and-Fausto-Coppi-Posters_i4857567_.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Now that i am taking this cycling lark a bit more seriously i have more or less cut out the drink and replaced my friday bottles of beer with tea or coffee.
    So i got to wondering what effect all this tea may be having on my performance ? In the hope that i would be better off with a few beers

In general, it's probably not the "few beers" that causes the problems, but the amount of junk food people consume after a "few beers" that causes problems.

Beer may be empty calories, but it's not going to throw on the fat like junk food will.

I think I remember a study that cited a beer (just one!) after a cycle, was actually a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭531

I think I read somewhere that in the Rás, 3 pints was (or maybe only 2) pints of guinness was recommended (and expected) to be drunk each night between stages. Probably in the 70s or 80s, I can't imagine the pros with their ultra scientific diets etc being allowed.

I'm also told TdF riders take alochol as it it keeps their stomachs clean. It what form thay take it (shot of spirits. pint of beer?), I don't know. But Landis took it for a different reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Giving up beer is definitely a step too far for me. I have cut back a bit though, partly because I'm so knackered from cycling that I fall asleep after a couple.

So my cuppa is not doing me any harm everything in moderation good advise,i still have the odd drink as im about 25years to late in trying to secure the Pro contract so i dont think the odd glass of red is going to make a hole lot of difference to me
    Over the years i have see some guys in the ras go to bed legless then go on to have the ride of their life's the next day but not so much in the recent history of the race,so now i just have to try and get some of the boardies to actually buy me a drink :P