Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clear Cold Moon

• 03-02-2012 9:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭

Love these crisp clear nights, the perfect time to grab a shot of the mooN! :)

424563_10150648041326718_631736717_11746248_1694814660_n.jpg

422042_10150648041036718_631736717_11746247_689174135_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 17,008 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

My one from earlier this week

007aqa.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭muckish

Iancar29 wrote: »
    Love these crisp clear nights, the perfect time to grab a shot of the mooN! :)

Putting that new camera to good use I see. Great shots? What lens? Camera settings? Care to add your Moon photo tips to the Weather photography tips thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

muckish wrote: »
    Putting that new camera to good use I see. Great shots? What lens? Camera settings? Care to add your Moon photo tips to the Weather photography tips thread!

Yep , got to gets its moneys worth! ha
    My Dad's birding lens, the big 500 mm , F8 , ISO 100. Shutter speed 1/100
    20% sharpening retouch.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭Trogdor

Superb shots there Ian! Never been able to get a picture of the moon as clear/sharp as that myself, makes me want a 500mm lens too although it would probably be a bit pricey just for the occasional moon shot :p

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

trogdor wrote: »
    Superb shots there Ian! Never been able to get a picture of the moon as clear/sharp as that myself, makes me want a 500mm lens too although it would probably be a bit pricey just for the occasional moon shot :p

Cheers man! Ye i was originally gonna just see what i could do with the kit lens and was like... Wait a fecking sec... theres a Huge zoom lens just inside! haha , me always just thinking of it as a birding lens never made me think it was also perfect for something like that!

Ye I wouldnt buy one myself for just that. HOpefully get another good one when its goes full to a full Moon.

I have filter paper too now so if the sun gets some more big sunspots on it im gonna try capture them too! :)

Wow, those shots are bloody amazing Ian:) fair play to ye.