Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Value of Autographed Jersey

• 03-02-2012 5:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭

Just back from Barcelona and one of the guys from work got himself a signed jersey from Messi, Xavi & Iniesta.

We were having a discussion afterwards in the bar and trying to work out what something like this would be worth considering you have arguably 3 of the best players in the world at the moment and possibly 1 of the greatest players ever.

The longer its kept I'd say the more valuable it gets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭RayCon

Not as much as you'd think right now .................

50yrs from now ... who knows ?

Is it encased?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

I'd say have a look on ebay and see what the same is going for there?? Nice thing to keep though..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Lex Luthor wrote: »
    Just back from Barcelona and one of the guys from work got himself a signed jersey from Messi, Xavi & Iniesta.

We were having a discussion afterwards in the bar and trying to work out what something like this would be worth considering you have arguably 3 of the best players in the world at the moment and possibly 1 of the greatest players ever.

How much does he want ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭ASOT

On the topic of this lads how much do ya reckon this would be worth?

DSC00094.jpg

EDIT -

DSC00095.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Has to have some form of authenticity verification.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Lex Luthor wrote: »

Probably not.

Its about supply and demand...there are probably thousands of signed Messi jerseys in the world at the mo. In 50 years, there will be about the same amount as long as Messi is still alive in 50yrs and can scribble down his down on a jersey.

In 50 years there could have been 2 more players better than Messi and his values deminshes.

The only reason you see signed baseball jerseys go for so much is becuase there is a culture for it and also a signed jersey is usually on the actual jersey the player wore because there were no replica jerseys back 50 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You should assassinate all three in order to whack up the value of the shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Liam O wrote: »
    Is it encased?

No. He got it directly presented to him by a club official. He wouldnt sell it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

My friend has got a Man Utd jersey signed by all of the 2004 FA cup winning team.

Won it in a raffle, worst of all he's a Liverpool supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

They worth whatever someone willing to pay.

i paid 250 for a signed pats jersey few years ago cos i really wanted it.

regardless of dead or alive, its how much someone willing to pay and in the CL type players market ......well everyone has one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

IvySlayer wrote: »
    My friend has got a Man Utd jersey signed by all of the 2004 FA cup winning team.

Won it in a raffle, worst of all he's a Liverpool supporter.

I was at a Nike promo a few years ago and got the chance to go up on stage with then Ireland manager Brian Kerr to pick a prize from one of three envelopes. The one I chose was for a signed United shirt and, of course, Kerr asked was I happy with it.

I took great pleasure in the awkward silence when I said no because I'm a City fan and the shirt is headed for eBay :D

(I still have the shirt somewhere though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

I have a signed united ball from the 99 treble winning team. How much is that worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭shangri la

Would really like a barcelona jersey signed by messi but there are too many fakes going around.

Bar going to barca how would I get on that is 100% genuine?

Would like a Gerrard signed jersey also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

250 bucks will get ye the whole 10/11 barca team(most of them and pep, not sure why suarez is mentioned) signed jersey so yours is probably worth 100 tops

http://www.ebay.com/itm/10-11-Barcelona-Team-Signed-Jersey-W-COA-/320840370942?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4ab3938afe#ht_500wt_1156

There is no value or money to be made in signed memorabilia

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

I got this from my best mate for my daughters christening. His partner at the time had an uncle working as a kitman or something in Anfield.

8416_1153328711761_1183973745_415915_2240166_n.jpg

8416_1153328751762_1183973745_415916_3350292_n.jpg