Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

LightForce Dimmer Switch

• 03-02-2012 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭

Howya Lads,
    Mate of mine called me yesterday and said that a fox had taken 4 of his hens during the night and would I be able to go down with the lamp and rifle tonight. I headed down at 22:30 after work and was just getting all sorted and tried to switch on the lightforce 170 scope mounted lamp and there wasnt a blip out of it, dead as a dodo.
    I headed home like a F*****G anti christ that my lamp had let me down as I knew the battery was charged up fully.
    Between the jigs and the reels I've positively narrowed it down to the switch on the cable that you can stick onto the side of your rifle and switch it on or off with your thumbs as required.
    Would the switch in the link below be ok to fit on a lightforce cable do ye know ?
    As I dont want to buy it and then for it not to be compatible with a light force lamps wiring !
    Thanks for any replies lads.

http://www.opticswarehouse.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=debbrtcont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Dont know anything about the dimmer switches but one night we lost all power to the hand held 170.
    On inspection when we got back to the jeep it turns out that theres a crimped connection of the wires inside the handle an when we slid it out one of them was after breaking. We removed the crimped piece and joined both wires with tape and it worked grand.
    Heaad this is a common problem so worth a check.

Another tip with them is Wrap aload of tape on the wire inside the handle. Have extra wire inside the handle so when the wire gets pulled it will catch on the slot in the handle with the tape instead of on the connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

garv123 wrote: »
    Dont know anything about the dimmer switches but one night we lost all power to the hand held 170.
    On inspection when we got back to the jeep it turns out that theres a crimped connection of the wires inside the handle an when we slid it out one of them was after breaking. We removed the crimped piece and joined both wires with tape and it worked grand.
    Heaad this is a common problem so worth a check.

Another tip with them is Wrap aload of tape on the wire inside the handle. Have extra wire inside the handle so when the wire gets pulled it will catch on the slot in the handle with the tape instead of on the connections.

+1 for those ****e connections in the handle its probably them
    and if its not replace them anyway or you will be posting another thread about the lamp letting ya down :D
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/10-Electrical-Wire-Cable-Snap-Lock-Splice-Connectors-/180466212307?pt=UK_In_Car_Technology&hash=item2a049fddd3
    i use these to sort it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

vixdname wrote: »
    Howya Lads,
    Mate of mine called me yesterday and said that a fox had taken 4 of his hens during the night and would I be able to go down with the lamp and rifle tonight. I headed down at 22:30 after work and was just getting all sorted and tried to switch on the lightforce 170 scope mounted lamp and there wasnt a blip out of it, dead as a dodo.
    I headed home like a F*****G anti christ that my lamp had let me down as I knew the battery was charged up fully.
    Between the jigs and the reels I've positively narrowed it down to the switch on the cable that you can stick onto the side of your rifle and switch it on or off with your thumbs as required.
    Would the switch in the link below be ok to fit on a lightforce cable do ye know ?
    As I dont want to buy it and then for it not to be compatible with a light force lamps wiring !
    Thanks for any replies lads.

http://www.opticswarehouse.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=debbrtcont

Yes, it'll work. What they don't tell you is that switch is rated for 50W bulb and not 100W. I bought one a good while ago, it was written on the packet but that info wasn't in the advert. I think I still used it but can't remember 100%.