Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The only TD in Ireland who claims NO expenses

• 02-02-2012 5:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭

Labour TD Eamonn Maloney is the only TD in the Dáil who claimed no expenses at all in 2011. Despite many TDs claiming more than €50,000 in expenses in less than a year, the Dublin South West TD didn’t claim a single euro on travel, accommodation or costs
    http://www.thejournal.ie/the-only-td-in-ireland-who-claims-no-expenses-344258-Feb2012/?utm_source=shortlink

Can we have another 165 like him please?

Personally, I'd do the job for the 50,000 'expenses' alone - they can keep the salary...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Fair play to him.

It's a sad state of affairs, when in the middle of a recession where everyone is being hit in the pocket, TD's are still riding the gravy train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Bannasidhe wrote: »

Personally, I'd do the job for the 50,000 'expenses' alone - they can keep the salary...:D

Maybe he didn't do anything to justify claiming an expense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Dublin South West TD

Too scared to go outside his door I'd imagine........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

jester77 wrote: »

Given that TD's can claim just for turning up at Leinster House - and his voting record indicates he has done that on more then one occasion ( http://www.kildarestreet.com/td/eamonn_maloney/dublin_south_west#votingrecord) plus there is the dry cleaning allowance it's fair to assume there were a few allowances and expenses he could have claimed if he wanted.

Whether any of these are 'justifiable'... he states in the article he believes they arn't - so he didn't claim them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Any chance of a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

TD for The Agoraphobia Party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

ejmaztec wrote: »
    TD for The Agoraphobia Party.

No, that's Ivana Bacik.

Oh, no wait she doesn't have arophobia, she has that thing when everyone Else is afraid of you going out doors.

Also she is not a T.D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

http://www.thejournal.ie/the-only-td-in-ireland-who-claims-no-expenses-344258-Feb2012/?utm_source=shortlink

Effectively you'd do the Job for nothing. Thats says a lot more about you than it does about the expense system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

What about Ming Flanagan, didn't he pledge to take the average industrial wage? Doesn't taking expenses make that pledge kind of pointless, and slightly insidious?

And what of the lefties and our working class heroes the Sinners? I'd actually happily pay for a few of them to get a copy of 'State Economics for Dummies'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

token101 wrote: »
    What about Ming Flanagan, didn't he pledge to take the average industrial wage? Doesn't taking expenses make that pledge kind of pointless, and slightly insidious?

And what of the lefties and our working class heroes the Sinners? I'd actually happily pay for a few of them to get a copy of 'State Economics for Dummies'.

And Joe 'The Great Socialist" Higgins, a man who's all too happy to lead a campaign against the household charge, knowing he's not liable for it as his residence is his mothers house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jester77 wrote: »

I think that could be applied to a lot of them, but they still do it!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Effectively you'd do the Job for nothing. Thats says a lot more about you than it does about the expense system

Yup - it says I consider 50,000 a year significantly more then 'nothing'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

any link on what the others claim? Do others who live in Dublin claim for travel and accomodation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Fair dues to him!:) Maith an fear! But I bet there are lots of people searching desperately to find some dirt on him, anything at all will do.;) His kind of example can queer the pitch for too many who have their snouts deep in the trough, and the last thing they need is someone showing that you can do the job without creaming off every possible penny.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

squod wrote: »
    Too scared to go outside his door I'd imagine........

heerp derp derp derp derp derp....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Datotrunk

What?? TD not claiming expenses?? Quick check his pulse!!

Balmed Out wrote: »
    any link on what the others claim? Do others who live in Dublin claim for travel and accomodation?

The December 2011 expenses claimed by TDs are here: http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/members/PSA-D20111230.pdf

In December:
    Varadkar claimed 1,666.67
    Burton, Claire Daly and Joe Higgins all claimed 1,000 (as did Enda...)

Payments to TDs and Senators - broken down by month can be found here:http://www.oireachtas.ie/ViewDoc.asp?DocId=-1&CatID=169&m=m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Will one of Ye become the priminister and ban expense. Or bring in a law of only 5-9,000 expense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

dont want to upset you all,but if they are anything like their UK brothers they will be getting hand outs from big companies as advisors,or on certain company boards/unions ect who wish to have MPs/TDs in their pockets that will look after their interests ,is there a way of checking that out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

no he said he would take half a cut in his salary http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/results/roscommonsouth-leitrim-ming-pledges-to-cut-salary-by-50pc-as-dail-quest-pays-off-2559034.html

anyway comparing ming to someone who lives up the road from leinster house is silly, its a 250 mile roundtrip from dublin to castlerea for one

They get €90,000 salary a year as public servants. Certain travel expenses are fair enough, but dry cleaning? It's their job to turn up in a clean suit FFS, I don't get laundry expenses for turning up somewhat clean in my job!

rossie1977 wrote: »
    no he said he would take half a cut in his salary http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/results/roscommonsouth-leitrim-ming-pledges-to-cut-salary-by-50pc-as-dail-quest-pays-off-2559034.html

anyway comparing ming to someone who lives up the road from leinster house is silly, its a 250 mile roundtrip from dublin to castlerea for one

Not condemning him at all, I like Ming he's entertaining at least. Just saying it's a PR stunt to go halving your salary when he's claiming a fair bit back in expenses that's all. I've nothing against PR stunts ;)

They get €90,000 salary a year as public servants. Certain travel expenses are fair enough, but dry cleaning? It's their job to turn up in a clean suit FFS, I don't get laundry expenses for turning up somewhat clean in my job!

To be fair (:pac:) they have to pay out and then claim it back...so its not like money for nothing - I'm sure there is paperwork involved :p
    IRELAND’S MINISTERS are entitled to claim €3,500 off their tax bill in order to cover the cost of washing their dirty laundry, it has emerged.
    Finance minister Michael Noonan has revealed that ministers from outside Dublin, who need to take hotel or guest house accommodation while based in the capital, can claim the huge tax refund – without even having to vouch for their expenses.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/ministers-can-claim-e3500-tax-refund-for-laundry-expenses-287477-Nov2011/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I take my (virtual) hat off to that man. An example to the rest of them. We had one guy down here sending out alien-themed Christmas cards, funded by the taxpayer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

Will one of Ye become the priminister and ban UNVOUCHED expense. Or bring in a law of only 5-9,000 expense

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Shíte TD... haven't seen him once around the area. Waste of a vote, at least Charlie would be out on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

darragh16 wrote: »
    Waste of a vote, at least Charlie would be out on the ground.

He did like a drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Shíte TD... haven't seen him once around the area. Waste of a vote, at least Charlie would be out on the ground.

You are easily bought

Was that part of the problem though? The TDs going around the community and attending funerals getting the face shown looking for votes and neglecting their job: making sure the country was being run properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Maybe he's just late putting through the claim form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

Anyone know where theres a link to who claimed what? It said on Vincent Brown that the average was €38,000 so if that takes into account this guy and others who didn`t pull the p*ss I`ll love to see who`s milkin it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

And who would write a book like that?

Some tard from FF or FG? :rolleyes:

theg81der wrote: »
    Anyone know where theres a link to who claimed what? It said on Vincent Brown that the average was €38,000 so if that takes into account this guy and others who didn`t pull the p*ss I`ll love to see who`s milkin it!

Links @ post #20. ;)

Zebra3 wrote: »

Then it would be State Economics by Dummies.

Zebra3 wrote: »

Definitely yeah :rolleyes:

Or even somebody who has more than a tenous grasp of reality. Someone who's clever enough to know that when you default on a loan that's already been agreed, you won't find people rushing to lend you money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭theg81der

This literally makes me fume. I`m trying to understand why it makes me so angry.....if I was in Government this one have been something I would have voted to do away with given the austerity that they are forcing on people. These feckers are cutting proportionally huge amounts of social welfare and other areas. This to them is pocket change, this is a real indication of who these guys are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭brennan1979

And Joe 'The Great Socialist" Higgins, a man who's all too happy to lead a campaign against the household charge, knowing he's not liable for it as his residence is his mothers house?

So he lives with his mother in Dingle does he? Quite the commute! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

That is interesting reading.
    http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/members/PSA-D20111230.pdf

Look at what Gerry Adams is claiming!! :eek: Pretty much 5 grand for one month! And Richard Boyd Barrett is just over three grand. :D

So between the two lefties moaning about gravy trains, spending blah blah blah, they claimed 8 thousand for one month. More then Joan Burton, Richard Bruton, Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore, Eamon Moloney, Michael Noonan, John Perry and Pat Rabitte and Alan Shatter combined! Combined!!

Funny, the great backstabbing working class crusader that is Patrick Nulty claimed over three grand in December, says it all really. And look at this, ha, http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/members/PSAD20111130.pdf , he claimed 500 euro from the 27th to the 31st of October, which was a thursday to a monday. He claimed 500 euro for three days work. He claimed more in those three days then a Labour TD claimed in an entire year and Nulty is the one to leave Labour on some bulls**t working class crusade.

SF: 14 TDS = 60935 Thousand Euro for December, f**king cheek of them.

Fair play to Joe Higgins and Clare Daly, not complete hypocrites like some of their buddies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    Fair dues to him!:) Maith an fear! But I bet there are lots of people searching desperately to find some dirt on him, anything at all will do.;) His kind of example can queer the pitch for too many who have their snouts deep in the trough, and the last thing they need is someone showing that you can do the job without creaming off every possible penny.:eek:

True.

But for most, it's not just every POSSIBLE penny. It's 'as much as you can get'!

There's plenty in the trough. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

rossie1977 wrote: »

Ha, nice excuse but not going to fly, plenty of TDs from around the country that did not claim just under 5 grand like Ming. Is he driving up and down every day now? :D

Another chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Ellis Dee wrote: »

This will be most embarrassing for any greedy Labour TD's. I'd say they're cursing him under their breath while patting him on the back.

That's a good idea he has though, I think that the first political party that promised not to claim any expenses whatsoever would get a huge boost at the polls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

What's Joe Costello claiming over three thousand a month for?

You could walk from his Dublin central office to the Dáil in fifteen minutes
    What expenses :confused:

List of the expenses claimed from Feb - Dec 2011 here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AlxJrxiwB44XdGJZcG0tUVI2aWVGZzdkUThWZG1FTHc#gid=0

Apparently Ministers claim many expenses through their departments which is why their figure for expenses personally claimed seem low in comparison to non-ministers.
    When it comes to the average claimed by TDs from a political party (and the Ceann Comhairle), this is the breakdown:

WUAG* – Average per TD: €49,911 (1 TD – Seamus Healy) *Workers and Unemployed Action Group

Fianna Fáil* – Average per TD: €47,115 (*of the 19 current TDs)

Sinn Féin - Average per TD: €44,153

Independents – Average per TD: €40,713

Fine Gael – Average per TD: €36,412

People Before Profit Alliance – Average per TD: €31,866

Labour* – Average per TD: €29,513 (*of original 37)

Socialist Party – Average per TD: €23,653

NOTES: The Fine Gael and Labour totals include TDs who were elected under the party name but have since lost the party whip, eg, Naughten, Penrose and Broughan. Neither Patrick Nulty nor Brian Lenihan are included in the averages as they only served a small part of the year.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/this-is-how-much-your-td-claimed-in-expenses-in-2011-344683-Feb2012/

Being from Cork I am particularly outraged that it seems all the Cork TDs needed at least 50k in expenses each for just over 10 months 'work'. Are they travelling to Dublin via New York? :mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Tipperary TD's are all racking up the expenses, North and South, well up there among the leaders, everyone one of them
    Noel Coonan, Michael Lowry, Seamus Healy, Mattie McGrath and Tom Hayes

Except Alan Kelly but he's a junior minister and seems to be on a special rate

It's what Tipp TD's do best :rolleyes:

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Tipperary TD's are all racking up the expenses, North and South, well up there among the leader, everyone one of them
    Noel Coonan, Michael Lowry, Seamus Healy, Mattie McGrath and I forget the third one from Tipp South?

Except Alan Kelly but he's a junior minister and seems to on a special rate

It's what Tipp TD's do best :rolleyes:

Perhaps they need the money to bribe the border patrol between Munster and Leinster and pay for the visas....oh...wait....