Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Its only a game

• 02-02-2012 1:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭

In light of the events in Egypt earlier I decided to start a thread, just to say that this place can get pretty intense with tribal **** here from time to time, a lot of the time i allow myself to get right in the middle of it too, but at the end of the day its only a game, nobody should ever go to watch a game of football and not go home.

We fight, we argue about pedantic stupid **** and we probably always will, but if we can all just take a minute to remember those that lost their lives in this tragedy, people who were massacred while supporting their team and just keep things in perspective.

Its only a game, and without the rivalries it wouldnt be half as interesting.

All in all boards.ie soccer forum is a great community and without naming names, opposing fans views can be some of the most well informed and objective as well as being the most biased.

I have kinda lost my train of thought so apologies for the rambling now, I just wanna say that I appreciate all of your opinions, even the ones I totally disagree with and I am glad we have a place we can come and share them.

Obviously this particular incident appears to be different to the usual football fan violence and that is the most disgusting part.

Thoughts are with the families of those who were slain today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fair play OP.

Days like today can put things into perspective.

Even as a United fan I hope one day sooner then later that victims and families of Hillsborough will also get justice, and we should always remember tragedies like Bradford to remember what's really important.

I be the first to stir things from time to time, but at end of day we are all football fans that love our club(s) or country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭lubo_moravcik

It very much is 'only a game', at the same time it can also be a way of life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Initial indications are that it seems to be a political and football stew that has boiled over into probably the worst football stadium riot ever witnessed.

Seems two groups used their football teams as a way of showing their political alligence .

But yea OP as much as some threads get my blood boiling it (the game of football ) should never result in any human being ever getting hurt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Football issues involve corruption, racism, technology, cheating, diving etc.

Stuff like this has nothing at all to do with football. It's violence with football used as the excuse or avenue. "Firms" and "outfits" have no place in football and should not be aloud by clubs. People with serious criminal records should not be aloud entrance and anybody with known political affiliations should be the same.

Football is about football and scenes like these should not happen. Political demonstrations and riots have no place in a stadium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I feel the same, I dont believe football should be political in any way, should always be kept separate, some of the images from last night were horrifying. What was gained from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

The tragic events in Egypt are beyond football ,beyond humanity ,
    Has left me feeling numb ,
    My heart goes out to families of the victims ,
    As the OP states its only a game..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

My life is football it is my religion and my politics and I cannot get my head around what happened last night. My heart is breakingfor the families who have lost a loved one who just went off to support their team.

Sorry I just got about 2 hours sleep coz am so upset so I mite not be making sense, but then what happened in Port Said doesn't either. R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Even as a United fan I hope one day sooner then later that victims and families of Hillsborough will also get justice

Is there even a need to state something like this? Just find it a bit odd :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I believe Mr Shankly said..

"Football's not a matter of life and death.. it's more important than that”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Horrible tragic event but i think it just happened to be football fans and a football stadium that were used as pawns in a wider political struggle. The Egyptian military's fingerprints are all over this.

Fair play OP.

Even as a United fan I hope one day sooner then later that victims and families of Hillsborough will also get justice, and we should always remember tragedies like Bradford to remember what's really important.

wtf???:confused:

Renn wrote: »
    Is there even a need to state something like this? Just find it a bit odd :confused:

after the weekend singing from both fans I think so

wtf???:confused:

:confused: wtf is right

I believe Mr Shankly said..

"Football's not a matter of life and death.. it's more important than that”

Do people think he was being serious?

Lots use that quote, do they know it was part of a joke like? genuinely curious

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It would appear to be simple calculated cold blooded murder. The fans were led into a trap which not all would be allowed to get out alive.

A football match was allowed to come to an organised murderous end. The match itself was of no consequence. It's very difficult to compute that. It doesn't relate to any experience of any of 'us' as attendees (who've had exit gates locked or blocked) or watchers.

:confused: wtf is right

What has being a man united got to do with wanting justice for the 96? Why feel the need to even mention it as if to infer that it would be somehow acceptable for united fans to be ambivalent on this issue? Thats the way it comes across anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Great post, Kryogen. Things get heated in here at times, alright. The likes of what happened in Egypt makes you realise that it's not really important on here and it's really just a bit of craic.

To be honest, though, i came to that conclusion when i heard Eirebhoy died! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭hadepsx

"can't we all just get along" he says with the Jokers voice.:D

kryogen wrote: »
    Do people think he was being serious?

Lots use that quote, do they know it was part of a joke like? genuinely curious

No way we he being serious. That was just an off the cuff remark he used on a chat show

Edit: Sorry, i realise now you were asking about the people who think he was serious rather than the great man himself being serious!

What has being a man united got to do with wanting justice for the 96? Why feel the need to even mention it as if to infer that it would be somehow acceptable for united fans to be ambivalent on this issue? Thats the way it comes across anyway.

wells it's not ffs.

grow up!!!

/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

Why bother to mention it then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Excellent thread idea OP, pity to see it descend into petty bickering so quickly, the very opposite of your intentions I'm sure.

Absolutely horrific scenes last night. RIP to all those murdered.

keith16 wrote: »
    Excellent thread idea OP, pity to see it descend into petty bickering so quickly, the very opposite of your intentions I'm sure.

Absolutely horrific scenes last night. RIP to all those murdered.

Exactly, just chill out. This forum is feckin mental!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Two things, which will always contradict football:
    1. Politics
    2. Religion

On second thought, those two mentioned above can, affect all aspects of life in a negative way, if someone has any kind of extreme belief and values :mad:

monkey9 wrote: »
    Great post, Kryogen. Things get heated in here at times, alright. The likes of what happened in Egypt makes you realise that it's not really important on here and it's really just a bit of craic.

To be honest, though, i came to that conclusion when i heard Eirebhoy died! :(

Yeah that tragedy also put everything into perspective, the events in Egypt brought it all back to me. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Truly shocking scenes in Egypt the other night - so much violence, blood, people suffering, people scared.

Watching the scenes the other night genuinely upset me, and the figures are just staggering - 70-something dead, over 1000 injured - crazy, crazy stuff.

My heart goes out to the families and friends of the innocent victims - to think they just left home to watch a game we all love, and will never come home.

Sad. Really really sad.

ps

Just like the tragedies of Munich, Heysel, Hillsborough, Ibrox, Bradford etc. peoples club allegiances just dont matter. I think we can all agree that football pales into insignificance when people lose their lives.
    RIP.