Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda Accord / BMW 320d / Skoda Superb / Volkswagen Passat / Opel insignia

• 31-01-2012 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭

Title says it all
    If you had the choice between

Honda Accord / BMW 320d / Skoda Superb / Volkswagen Passat / Opel insignia

All around 2009, Diesel and a 2 litre engine.
    Obviously, lots of variants, some cars will be cheaper and with mileage etc will be different.

If the BMW for example was picked in the SE version with extras, I would probably have to sacrifice a year ( or 2 ) or get it with higher mileage etc

but high level, which one would you choose and why ?

**Reliability being a big factor**

No point having a nice looking car if it has issues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I'd go with an Accord. Easily the rarest one of those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

3 series no comp..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

In top spec? Superb for me if your not a badge snob. Honda Accord in 2nd and the 320d in 3rd for me anyway.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Heart says accord, but would depend on spec tbh.
    320d as im more familiar with that marque, but again depends on spec.

I'd take a high spec superb over an ES model 320d all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

Yeh id be for the Accord, as good as any of them in most departments. Imo Looks better than the rest and as far as the two owners of them i know their pretty reliable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

320d hands down.

More power, better handling, and IMO better looks than the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Matthewjohn

Skoda Superb would be defiantly the best choice for you good to drive, luxurious and very very spacious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I wouldn't have a Superb and not because I'm a badge snob at all. It's more to do with it being TOO big for me if I was looking at a compact executive car and the fact that it looks awful. The way a car looks is probably my main priority. I think I'd have a decent spec Honda Accord over the rest of them.

The rest are just a bit meh...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd add the Passat CC to the list if it was in budget. The rarest of that lot and most of them tend to be decent spec.

Of the ones mentioned it would be the 320d but it would have to be a well speced M Sport followed by a top spec Accord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭Marcin_diy

Honda Accord.
    I love my car..:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

The Honda is my favourite to look at, but while the 3-series is as common as muck, it's excellent to drive, if a little harsh over bumps, and it's got an excellent engine, and I just prefer RWD by and large.
    So I'd have a 320d, followed closely by an Accord, then dunno about the remaining three. I'd be looking at a Mazda 6 2.2 185bhp instead to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

If you enjoy throwing a car in to the bends and having a bit of fun, then the 320d is the one to go for.

If you like wafting down motorways in supreme comfort, playing with all the toys in the car (and avoiding your reflection in any windows), then the Superb is the one to go for.

If you want something that is OK to drive, and unlikely to ever cause trouble then go for the Honda. Not as good to throw in to bends as the 320d (but better than a Superb) and not as nice to waft along Motorways in as a Superb.

If you want to follow the crowd and take a car that does everything you need, but doesn't excel anywhere, and will cost more than it should, go for the Passat.

Insignia isn't a bad car either, but unless you can get a really good deal on one it's just not as good as a 3 Series or Superb or Honda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭obi604

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    The Honda is my favourite to look at, but while the 3-series is as common as muck, it's excellent to drive, if a little harsh over bumps, and it's got an excellent engine, and I just prefer RWD by and large.
    So I'd have a 320d, followed closely by an Accord, then dunno about the remaining three. I'd be looking at a Mazda 6 2.2 185bhp instead to be honest.

Are there many Mazda 6 2.2 185bhp available in Ireland ?

Presume they are very rare

What year was this 185 bhp model launched ?

I had a look on carzone.ie and can only see 140, 150 and 163 BHP versions of the Mazda 6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Like for like spec it would have to be the BMW for me if I wasn't paying. Drive them all and you will see the BMW is head and shoulders above the others. If it was my own money then the Passat and Superb and even the Insignia would start to look more appealing as I would imagine there would be quite a difference in spec for your cash compared to the BMW.

Having said that the BMW wouldn't be for everyone. It depends on your priorities. As already mentioned the 320d is easily the best car to drive from that group, but also has easily the smallest interior and worst rear seat leg room. This wouldn't be a problem for me as I don't have any kids and don't ever have to sit in the back of my own car. But it may be different for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

I have a 3-series and a Superb.

Superb is twice (well almost) the size of a 3 series and should be driven accordingly.

BMW is RWD and, for those who haven't driven one, should be experienced to appreciate the difference compared to a FWD.

If you want a small car to throw about the BMW is the best. If you want comfort and luxury, you will struggle to get better value than the Superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

accord all the way, there is no comparision in terms of build quality. i used to own a petrol accord 2.4 and clutch launch it nearly every day, it still lasted 2 years before the diff began to break. :)

rwd/fwd doesnt really matter at those horsepower ranges, and considering you're obvously not buying it to be racing it around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

obi604 wrote: »
    Title says it all
    **Reliability being a big factor**
    No point having a nice looking car if it has issues

Well then it has to be Honda - doesn't it?

jayok wrote: »
    Well then it has to be Honda - doesn't it?

I think the Skoda superb is very reliable also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Bobo78

R.O.R wrote: »
    If you enjoy throwing a car in to the bends and having a bit of fun, then the 320d is the one to go for.

If you like wafting down motorways in supreme comfort, playing with all the toys in the car (and avoiding your reflection in any windows), then the Superb is the one to go for.

If you want something that is OK to drive, and unlikely to ever cause trouble then go for the Honda. Not as good to throw in to bends as the 320d (but better than a Superb) and not as nice to waft along Motorways in as a Superb.

If you want to follow the crowd and take a car that does everything you need, but doesn't excel anywhere, and will cost more than it should, go for the Passat.

Insignia isn't a bad car either, but unless you can get a really good deal on one it's just not as good as a 3 Series or Superb or Honda.

A bit off topic but one question for you since I can see that you know what your talking about (from experiance).

I used to have a Mazda 6 04 petrol and now I have Passat b5.5 05 and I find quite a lot of difference between them in motorway driving.

I find Passat much better in motorway driving in terms of comfort, easyines of driving, stability and refinment while Mazda 6 is good car but I just find it to be a bit noisy on motorway and steering a bit to light for motorway driving like for example when your driving around 140 kph it seems to me that steering is very light and you can easily drift from one side to other side of lane if your not 100 % concentrated on driving and keeping your hands on steering wheel. It just seems that steering wheel reacts on even the tiniest move of the finger which I find is a bit tiring on motorway driving while for driving around bends and rural driving is spot on.

So my question is does BMW 3 series and Ford Mondeo offer the same characteristics like Mazda for motorway driving or are they more like Passat in terms of steering and refinement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

3 Series is probably worse than the Passat because it's RWD so the front wheels are only doing the steering. Coming from a FWD car, the steering on BMW's always seems a bit "different". I've noticed I'm wandering in lanes more in the 5 Series than I was in my old Accord.

Been a while since I've driven a Mondeo on the Motorway, but I seem to remember they are pretty stable and easy to keep in a straight line. Wouldn't have thought a Passat B5.5 was that flighty though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

3 series tramlines more than the passat (follows the contours in the road), definitely. I had always thought that was related to the width of the tyres, though.

I guess that you cant get best of both worlds such as really good driving dynamics in rural areas and easyness, refinment and stability on motorway driving.

I guess then that i wount be buying BMW in near future. :o
    I prefer the driving style of Passat rather then the kind of Mazda and BMW which are bit too much for me.

P.S. I m not sure is the Passat b5.5 that good comparing to modern rivals but in my experiance I found it to be better for motorway crusing than Mazda defo especially if ye driven on the new motorway from Galway to Athlone where the road is almost like a glass surface and it seems it can be very easy to loose grip when driving car with steering like Mazda and maybe some other cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Bobo78 wrote: »
    I guess that you cant get best of both worlds such as really good driving dynamics in rural areas and easyness, refinment and stability on motorway driving.

I guess then that i wount be buying BMW in near future. :o
    I prefer the driving style of Passat rather then the kind of Mazda and BMW which are bit too much for me.

P.S. I m not sure is the Passat b5.5 that good comparing to modern rivals but in my experiance I found it to be better for motorway crusing than Mazda defo especially if ye driven on the new motorway from Galway to Athlone where the road is almost like a glass surface and it seems it can be very easy to loose grip when driving car with steering like Mazda and maybe some other cars.
    What you're saying doesn't make sense there. The Mazda won't loose grip any easier than a Passat, in fact probably less easily. Wandering lanes would be down to steering sensitivity, particularly around the dead centre. Sometimes manufacturers engineer a deadness in and around the centre to combat what you're talking about but the balance between good steering accuracy and feel and feedback versus the leave it alone on a motorway type is where it gets difficult.
    The VAG cars are always very numb in terms of chassis feel and particularly steering feel and feedback, in most cases offering none at all. It's true that the B5.5 Passat was very refined, compared to most in its class, and the Mazda wasn't as well sound insulated, but both are very comfortable cruisers.
    If you don't like that over-accurate steering then maybe the 3-Series or Mazda aren't for you, but try them first to decide. Actually the newer Lexus IS has an excellent balance of comfort and stability on the motorway and around town combined with very decent response from the chassis on a twisty back road, combined with nice accurate steering that's not over-sensitive at motorway speeds. The petrol IS is very good, the diesel has it's known problems that you'll need to be aware of before buying, and is bettered by the BMW engine.
    Unfortunately in life there are always compromises though!!! Test drive many, and choose wisely! :) If you don't like it, change again in a year or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

PaulKK wrote: »
    320d hands down.

More power, better handling, and IMO better looks than the rest.
    The cabin is also the least noisy and least prone to vibration. Important if you're doing a lot of motorway mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

I don't have much experience to compare with other cars, but I can confirm 2.0l petrol Accord also has really light steering - I don't feel it as issue on the motorway (it's electronically assisted to have different levels of 'turn' depending on the speed, sorry about the technical jargon ;) ), but I do feel it tram-lining - sticking to the faults on the road, painted lines etc - then again it was most apparent with Bridgestone Potenza tires worn past 3mm. It didn't feel that bad with Sport Contact 3s (also really worn), and never an issue with any tyres with reasonable amount of tread. Good car over all - never had any issues in last 3 years or so, other than one blown side light bulb.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    What you're saying doesn't make sense there. The Mazda won't loose grip any easier than a Passat, in fact probably less easily. Wandering lanes would be down to steering sensitivity, particularly around the dead centre. Sometimes manufacturers engineer a deadness in and around the centre to combat what you're talking about but the balance between good steering accuracy and feel and feedback versus the leave it alone on a motorway type is where it gets difficult.
    The VAG cars are always very numb in terms of chassis feel and particularly steering feel and feedback, in most cases offering none at all. It's true that the B5.5 Passat was very refined, compared to most in its class, and the Mazda wasn't as well sound insulated, but both are very comfortable cruisers.
    If you don't like that over-accurate steering then maybe the 3-Series or Mazda aren't for you, but try them first to decide. Actually the newer Lexus IS has an excellent balance of comfort and stability on the motorway and around town combined with very decent response from the chassis on a twisty back road, combined with nice accurate steering that's not over-sensitive at motorway speeds. The petrol IS is very good, the diesel has it's known problems that you'll need to be aware of before buying, and is bettered by the BMW engine.
    Unfortunately in life there are always compromises though!!! Test drive many, and choose wisely! :) If you don't like it, change again in a year or two!

I definitely didnt use proper words in explaining myself but you put it there better then me.
    Thats exactly what I though and wanted to say. :) and i agree with everything you said.
    That s the main diferrence which I noticed between Mazda 6 and Passat.
    To be honest in some moments I miss Mazda but then in some moments I preffer Passat because of the refinment and better noise isolation.
    Thou I dont think I ll be changing cars anytime soon even thou there are very good few deals on BMW 3 series 2004 for under 5 grand with 2 l petrol engine that are tempting me and causing to visit carzone good few times a day :)

re tramlining, the level of this is purely dependent on the tyre dimensions (thinner tyres around big wheels = more tramlining, fatter 'jeep-style' tyres with relatively small wheels = less tramlining).

I get far more tramlining on my current car (e46 m3) than my old one (accord 2.4), but as regards the rest of "handling", the m3 beats the sh*t out of the accord and is far more 'accurate' to drive.

I'd still advise the OP to buy a honda though, if reliability is his main concern!

yoke wrote: »
    re tramlining, the level of this is purely dependent on the tyre dimensions (thinner tyres around big wheels = more tramlining, fatter 'jeep-style' tyres with relatively small wheels = less tramlining).

I get far more tramlining on my current car (e46 m3) than my old one (accord 2.4), but as regards the rest of "handling", the m3 beats the sh*t out of the accord and is far more 'accurate' to drive.

I'd still advise the OP to buy a honda though, if reliability is his main concern!

OP here. Reliability is probably the main concern, but I like the bit of poke also : )

well in that case, the handling of the 3-series will be much better than the accord, its RWD so it can do more stunts as well.. you'll need more cash to pay for the random things that break as well, though :)

accord = very well built, very reliable car, if the petrol version is anything to go by
    3-series = much more fun, but you will break the components much more easily as well (at least on the m3, the build quality of the components shared with the regular 3-series isn't as good as honda)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,662 ✭✭✭walus

None of the above. Get Subaru Legacy - it is an all wheel drive car with a great new boxer diesel engine that revs like petrol.

”Where’s the revolution? Come on, people you’re letting me down!”

walus wrote: »
    None of the above. Get Subaru Legacy - it is an all wheel drive car with a great new boxer diesel engine that revs like petrol.

I should have also pointed out , im not a boy racer :)))

I just have also pointed out , im not a boy racer :)))

It is a Legacy not an Impreza we are talking about here - two totally different cars. Look it up - great looking car. Drives fantastic too.

fair enough, they still have that thing in teh bonnet that makes them look boy racery IMHO

And there seems to be rare, only 57 of them on carzone anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Shane Fitz

fair enough, they still have that thing in teh bonnet that makes them look boy racery IMHO

Isn't their MPG poor compared to the other options??

That is the turbo cooling hood. They are rare but then again no one buys Legacy by accident - most owners now exactly what they are getting and look after their cars.

The 2.0l boxer diesel has "only" 150 bhp but tons of torque from 1.5k to 4k rpm.

Shane Fitz wrote: »
    Isn't their MPG poor compared to the other options??

I read a test somewhere where the awd Legacy returned better mpg than Passat TDI 2.0 140 bhp... pretty impressive for an all wheel drive car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭THall04

OP here. Reliability is probably the main concern, but I like the bit of poke also : )

I got a Superb with the 170bhp 2L diesel 3 years ago now with 50K miles on the clock.

So far I've had one problem , got a DPF warning light at about 44K miles....which was a bit of a shock as the car gets a 100mile spin on the motorway at least twice a week.
    It turned out to be a faulty sensor......the car was out of warranty , but Skoda paid for the part and I paid the 65 Euro labour to fit it.

No other problems , very happy with the car.

Before I bought it , I also considered the Passat ,Insignia and the Accord.
    Ruled out VW and Opel due to reliability concerns...thought the Accord was good but a bit overpriced.

The Superb is also more practical with the twin door , for the odd time you may need to carry bulky items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

THall04 wrote: »
    I got a Superb with the 170bhp 2L diesel 3 years ago now with 50K miles on the clock.
    Before I bought it , I also considered the Passat ,Insignia and the Accord.
    Ruled out VW due to reliability concerns...

Now that is funny :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

PaulKK wrote: »
    Now that is funny :pac:

Lol well spotted...