Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland needs a dictatorship

• 31-01-2012 5:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭

When the Irish vote they have incredible tendency to vote for the spiv in the sharp suit who talks about “solutions” and “going forward”. The Irish love hearing what they want to hear. This is putty in the hands for likes of Fianna Fail spivs.

How do you stop this?

Under the current system you can’t. The muppets always seem to have their way. We came within a hair’s breath of having another Fianna Fail spiv getting into the presidency.

Does Ireland need a dictatorship with a technocratic government installed? I am not talking about a Saddam Hussein-type dictatorship but a more of a benign dictatorship. Is this the only way chronic mismanagement and visionless leadership of the Ireland can be stopped?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

The man calling for a dictatorship calling other people muppets.. Oy..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

We may as well live under a dictatorship because everytime the government screws us we just roll over and accept it.

Another tax?

"Oh fine so"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭jpfahy

It's the only way but sadly there is no Messiah coming forward in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

jetsonx wrote: »
    When the Irish vote they have incredible tendency to vote for the spiv in the sharp suit who talks about “solutions” and “going forward”.

That's because this describes all of the candidates!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭Indubitable

We do live in a dictatorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Does Ireland need a dictatorship?

Good God Damned right we do, send in the troops, execute the lot of them in. Roll in the military junta to give us the bad medicine we so dearly need.

We can cosy up with the likes of Chavez, Castro, Putin, and be totally badass and feared and respected by the rest of Europe. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭jetsonx

FearDark wrote: »
    We may as well live under a dictatorship because everytime the government screws us we just roll over and accept it.

yes, did you see Sarkozy tickling Enda yesterday in same way you would tickle a friendly labrador.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

When the Irish vote they have incredible tendency to vote for the spiv in the sharp suit who talks about “solutions” and “going forward”. The Irish love hearing what they want to hear. This is putty in the hands for likes of Fianna Fail spivs.

How do you stop this?

Under the current system you can’t. The muppets always seem to have their way. We came within a hair’s breath of having another Fianna Fail spiv getting into the presidency.

Does Ireland need a dictatorship with a technocratic government installed? I am not talking about a Saddam Hussein-type dictatorship but a more of benign dictatorship. Is this the only way chronic mismanagement and visionless leadership of the Ireland can be stopped?

Benign dictatorship= Enlightened absolutism.
    historians debate the actual implementation of enlightened absolutism. They distinguish between the "enlightenment" of the ruler personally, versus that of his or her regime. For example, Frederick II, "The Great," of Prussia was tutored in the ideas of the French Enlightenment in his youth, and maintained those ideas in his private life as an adult, but in many ways was unable or unwilling to affect enlightened reforms in practice. Others rulers like Sebastião José de Carvalho e Melo, the prime minister of Portugal, used the enlightenment not only to achieve reforms but also to enhance autocracy, crush opposition, suppress criticism, further colonial economic exploitation, and consolidate personal control and profit.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Enlightened_absolutism

What happens when the dictatorship is no longer benign? How is this benign dictator selected? Benign toward whom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

ill be a great dictator, southern ireland is best Ireland. yous would all be grand though, everyone would be so fcuked up on legal drugs that they wouldnt realise that i put all the minorities in mosney and built some new shower cubicles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Cool anyone wanna start a militia, i have cigars and guns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

jpfahy wrote: »

Ill have a go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

How do you stop this?

Does Ireland need a dictatorship with a technocratic government installed? I am not talking about a Saddam Hussein-type dictatorship but a more of a benign dictatorship. Is this the only way chronic mismanagement and visionless leadership of the Ireland can be stopped?

Heil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

We live in a Dicktatorship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Yes, we do have quite a few dick-tators spouting crap 24/7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

When the Irish people vote they have incredible tendency to vote for the spiv in the sharp suit who talks about “solutions” and “going forward”. The Irish People everywhere love hearing what they want to hear.
    FYP
    Is this the only way chronic mismanagement and visionless leadership of the Ireland can be stopped?
    Or maybe vote for someone with a clue.
    jpfahy wrote: »
    And if one did appear you can be sure the begrudgers and party shills would pull him or her down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

It's not a matter of the Irish loving 'whatever'. It's simply the case that there is no party you'd actually want to vote for. There isn't one politician who is in a position from which they can instigate change.

We have limited, woeful choices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

yes, did you see Sarkozy tickling Enda yesterday in same way you would tickle a friendly labrador.

sarkozy-kenny-i_1010459t.jpg
    Sarkozy:Good boy enda, sit, roll over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

theres already a lot of dick taking going on in this country (the govt giving it to the people up the aras)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Yep, with Herr Merkel calling the shots! Actung Baby!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

It's not a matter of the Irish loving 'whatever'. It's simply the case that there is no party you'd actually want to vote for. There isn't one politician who is in a position from which they can instigate change.

We have limited, woeful choices.
    Sure you sold all your sovereignty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

sarkozy-kenny-i_1010459t.jpg
    Sarkozy:Good boy enda, sit, roll over.

a picture paints a thousand words :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Pissmire

No such thing as a free lunch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

That's deep, man. No we don't. I think Eamon Gilmore is a bit of a gimp - guess what? I won't get arrested!

People who maintain a dictatorship is needed are only referring to other people living under it, not themselves, so they don't really mean it. But they think it sounds clever - those who say we're living in a dictatorship think the same about their inane soundbite too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Sure you sold all your sovereignty.
    Good chap keith.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Dudess wrote: »
    That's deep, man. No we don't. I think Eamon Gilmore is a bit of a gimp - guess what? I won't get arrested!

People who maintain a dictatorship is needed are only referring to other people living under it, not themselves, so they don't really mean it. But they think it sounds clever - those who say we're living in a dictatorship think the same about their inane soundbite too.

Shhh... The Tonton Mocoutes are listening...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It won't be a cheap option. The captains of industry who made such a sucess of business recently would need €1 million minimum to tempt them. We might get Eamonn Dunphy a bit cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"If this were a dictatorship, it'd be a heck of a lot easier, just so long as I'm the dictator"
    George Bush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MisterEpicurus

If I was dictator, I would abolish the concept of Munster and its land and relocate the people onto an island where people have to jump for food like fish.

In addition, I would ban all of the following;
    - Tracksuit bottoms
    - Uggs
    - Plastic Surgery
    - Immigration
    - Emigration

I'd use all the finance to power nuclear weapons secretly, and then bomb the Vatican, Iran, Sarah Palin's house, and probably China just for fun.

But I would listen to the people.

But I'll never have this power, so try not to be too downbeat ;-)

I think that were well on our way to a dictatorship. The Irish SOPA law seems to prove this, no matter how many others oppose the law both TDs and common folk Sherlock has made it clear that while he'll take peoples opinions on-board they're all wrong and he's right and as such he's signing the law without changing a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,986 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I think that were well on our way to a dictatorship. The Irish SOPA law seems to prove this, no matter how many others oppose the law both TDs and common folk Sherlock has made it clear that while he'll take peoples opinions on-board they're all wrong and he's right and as such he's signing the law without changing a word.

In a real dictatorship you would be heading for the salt mines for writing this sort of stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭St.Spodo

I'm surprised people still believe this is a novel and viable idea in 2012. It doesn't make you sound clever or wise. It's a terrible, historically ignorant, brain fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

No country needs a dictatorship! Any more than it needs a severe earthquake, famine, a natural catastrophe or a plague or locusts.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I suggest the OP find out what a dictatorship actually is, what it's like to live in one. Google a few key words like Hitler, Stalin, Franco, Mussolini, Idi Amin, Pol Pot --- Imagine what it's like to live in a society where you don't have the freedom to fart. Things are bad enough in Ireland, but we're still a long way from people being killed and tortured in their thousands.:D

Ireland needs a lot of things, but a dictatorship would be at the very bottom of the list. Long before it would come a greater sense of civic responsibility on the part of well-informed citizens ---:):)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    No country needs a dictatorship! Any more than it needs a severe earthquake, famine, a natural catastrophe or a plague or locusts.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I suggest the OP find out what a dictatorship actually is, what it's like to live in one. Google a few key words like Hitler, Stalin, Franco, Mussolini, Idi Amin, Pol Pot --- Imagine what it's like to live in a society where you don't have the freedom to fart. Things are bad enough in Ireland, but we're still a long way from people being killed and tortured in their thousands.:D

Ireland needs a lot of things, but a dictatorship would be at the very bottom of the list. Long before it would come a greater sense of civic responsibility on the part of well-informed citizens ---:):)
    Hitler was pretty good for the germans really..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

pmcmahon wrote: »

Except for the 6.5 - 9 million or so of them of them who died in the armed forces or as a result of bombing or crimes against humanity in World War 11.:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Cool anyone wanna start a militia, i have cigars and guns.

I'll bring the beards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

That's what the Germans thought in 1933, but we all know, what happened :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

How do you stop this?

Ireland needs a spaceship ,,, I might've fixed this recession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Lars1916 wrote: »
    That's what the Germans thought in 1933, but we all know, what happened :rolleyes:

Yes indeed, aside from a few set backs, it' has gone from strength to strength to become one of the most successful economies in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yeah that whole war and genocide thing was a setback all right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Yay Ireland need a ditatorship, I would much prefer an intelligent electorate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Lars1916 wrote: »

No they didn't. The Nazi's never had a majority in the Reichstag, though they eventually became the largest party. He was appointed Chancellor by Hindenburg, and he had the Reichstag Fire Decree and the Enabling Act passed that allowed him to establish absolute power.

In a real dictatorship you would be heading for the salt mines for writing this sort of stuff.

In a real dictatorship I wouldn't have been able to post that in the first place as boards would be blocked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Had Hitler been clever, he would have been the best thing to happen Germany since Bismarck. Hitler was popular through the 1930's in Germany. Rearmament drew Germany out of disastrous recession, though obviously it couldn't continue without war - and successful war, at that.

Hitlers popularity actually increased after the almost effortless conquering of Poland. Had he not made the disastrous mistake of attacking the Soviet Union, he would likely have been considered one of Germany's greatest statesmen.

By mid 1941, he had brought Germany out of a disastrous recession, achieved battlefield victories in several weeks that eluded the high command over several years between 1914-1918, and brought Germany to an elevated position of power and importance thought unfathomable after the defeats of 1918, and cemented Germany as the greatest power on the European continent - 20 years after the total defeat and dismantlement of the once powerful and dominant Germany.

Had be been a little smarter...

The world doesn't want to know but....

He could have ruled the world.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We came within a hair’s breath of having another Fianna Fail spiv getting into the presidency.

Does Ireland need a dictatorship with a technocratic government installed? I am not talking about a Saddam Hussein-type dictatorship but a more of a benign dictatorship.
    I think you've answered your own question.

If we were to elect a dictator then it would almost certainly end up as an FF one. Anyone have fond memories of what Dev did for the country ?

As for benign

George Washington didn't seize power and become a dictator

Sulla stepped down at the end of his term in 81 BC.
    He popularised the word proscription, ie. you sent your slave down to the forum first thing each morning to see was your name on the list, if so then you would drop everything and flee for your life. (If you hadn't already been picked up)

Other than those two almost everyone else who has been in a position to take and hold absolute power has done so for as long as possible.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Had Hitler been clever, he would have been the best thing to happen Germany since Bismarck. Hitler was popular through the 1930's in Germany. Rearmament drew Germany out of disastrous recession, though obviously it couldn't continue without war - and successful war, at that.

Hitlers popularity actually increased after the almost effortless conquering of Poland. Had he not made the disastrous mistake of attacking the Soviet Union, he would likely have been considered one of Germany's greatest statesmen.

By mid 1941, he had brought Germany out of a disastrous recession, achieved battlefield victories in several weeks that eluded the high command over several years between 1914-1918, and brought Germany to an elevated position of power and importance thought unfathomable after the defeats of 1918, and cemented Germany as the greatest power on the European continent - 20 years after the total defeat and dismantlement of the once powerful and dominant Germany.

Had be been a little smarter...

The world doesn't want to know but....

He could have ruled the world.
    Rearmament was a bubble like the housing here. Debts would have had to be paid.

Had he not persecuted the local populations in the East the war might have gone on longer. Had he not invaded Russia but setup a defensive perimeter who knows ?

Had he not allied with Italy and Japan and not invaded Russia then it could have been very different and scaled back on the battle of the Atlantic to let the UK go bankrupt...

There would have been no victories in North Africa. There would have been no victories in Italy. No having to keep 3/4 of the army on the Eastern Front.

The Pacific war might have been different, with US and UK focusing more on it. But in the end the B29 / Manhattan projects might have tipped the balance later on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

He never would have won, for the simple reason, he did not want to invest to much in Jewish physics. So he would have been eventually nuked.

Also nobody at that time could have possibly fought against the USA wealth, resources and industrial might. In the end it was the Americans that kept the Russians supplied and advancing, (the irony).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

How do you stop this?

we have a dictator.. Kenny is the white Mugabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

People who think we live in a dictatorship need to look at actual dictatorships. Everyone could vote Socialist in the next election if they wanted. It would be the ruin of the country but people are free to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭s20101938

We already live in a dick-tayto-chip