Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

White Tie for Bridal Party?

• 31-01-2012 9:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭

I know tradition dictates that white tie should only be worn in the evenings but I've always like the idea of it for myself and my groomsmen (how many other chances in a chap's life is a top-hat not only acceptable but practically expected?!).

Does anyone know *why* it's only deemed acceptable as evening wear? I can't find the answer on-line.

(Yes, I know I can say to hell with tradition and wear it anyway and probably will but I'd like to get an understanding of why the tradition exists before flaunting it!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

Sleepy wrote: »
    I know tradition dictates that white tie should only be worn in the evenings but I've always like the idea of it for myself and my groomsmen (how many other chances in a chap's life is a top-hat not only acceptable but practically expected?!).

Does anyone know *why* it's only deemed acceptable as evening wear? I can't find the answer on-line.

(Yes, I know I can say to hell with tradition and wear it anyway and probably will but I'd like to get an understanding of why the tradition exists before flaunting it!)
    I don't know of any tradition really, and I doubt many will.
    If its what you want it, do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,366 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I plan to. Just like to know the rules before I break them ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

I plan to. Just like to know the rules before I break them ;)
    Top hat and tails is more commonly known as "morning wear". The clue is in the name. ;)

While both have tails, a morning coat is different from the dress coat one wears with white tie. Tradition dictates that a morning coat be worn pre-6pm and black or white tie be "exclusively" worn after 6pm.

What I'm wondering is the reasoning behind it all...

While both have tails, a morning coat is different from the dress coat one wears with white tie. Tradition dictates that a morning coat be worn pre-6pm and black or white tie be "exclusively" worn after 6pm.

Good explanation here due to colors.
    http://www.blacktieguide.com/Supplemental/Morning_Dress.htm
    I would have thought the top hat an optional part of the morning wear.

Anyone ever been at a wedding where the bridal party changed after dinner? Thinking it would be great craic to have the lads change into white tie for the evening and come back in one side of the ballroom with top hats and canes twirling whilst the girls came in the other side in evening dancing dresses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭jomc

Perhaps its just an excuse to have an outfit change!

I better not let herself see this as she's in love with THREE dresses, i bet she'd go mad for a reason to get all three

Anyone ever been at a wedding where the bridal party changed after dinner? Thinking it would be great craic to have the lads change into white tie for the evening and come back in one side of the ballroom with top hats and canes twirling whilst the girls came in the other side in evening dancing dresses!

think logistics

Few quid extra, lets say 100 each for the suits and shoes unless youre all wearing white shoes already...girls would take ages to get ready, if it was bride only which happens sometimes, half the bridesmaids help her but if they had to change as well...lengthy break I would have thought.

If you go ahead with it, shorten other stuff like speeches so everyone has time to get ready for entertainment.

Love to see shots of it though. Gotta do it right with planned music..BIG intro with music, bride and groom meet in the middle. Be great.

When I say white tie, I mean the traditional black evening dress with a white shirt and white bow tie, black top hat, white silk scarf and cane rather than white tuxes so the shoes wouldn't need to be changed but there'd definitely be a second suit to hire...

I think it could be done as a quick enough change, half an hour or so, cos the girls would really just be changing dresses and shoes rather than a full 'do the hair and make-up' all over again...

Then make a big entrance on both sides, meeting in the middle for the first dance... You'd have to go with something pretty classy for the dance though... first thought is "Take 5"

Assuming myself, best man and the two groomsman changed into the white tie whilst the bride and her bridesmaids all changed into new dresses I'm thinking it should come in at well under a grand to do it (especially as the number of suits being hired would give serious haggling room with the suit hire company!), probably 7/800 tops and far better entertainment than some Irish dancers or a magician etc. imho.

agreed on the dancers and magician. good luck with the price.

brubeck not bad...or have a think

edit: embedded links not links working for some reason, heres the url

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sMZwZiU0kKs