Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Frontline: 30th January 2011

• 30-01-2012 9:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭

Anybody watching... This issue really shows how the unions have ruined the public service.. How can they call themselves "public servants", they are serving themselves and leaving the education system to pick up the pieces..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

Anybody watching... This issue really shows how the unions have ruined the public service.. How can they call themselves "public servants", they are serving themselves and leaving the education system to pick up the pieces..

the public service in ireland exists first and foremost to serve those who work within it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Martin Donellan mustnt be far off an RTE pension to top up his one from An Garda Síochána..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

I'm confused. The CPA was agreed with the aim of maintaining PS pay by reducing numbers and maintaining the same level of services, is this correct? But now the gardai, teachers etc are saying that this can't be done? Does that mean the CPA has failed? Should we maintain the same numbers but reduce pay?

omahaid wrote: »
    I'm confused. The CPA was agreed with the aim of maintaining PS pay by reducing numbers and maintaining the same level of services, is this correct? But now the gardai, teachers etc are saying that this can't be done? Does that mean the CPA has failed? Should we maintain the same numbers but reduce pay?

no , they just want things to go back to the way they used to be , no cut in numbers and no cut in pay

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Cannon is an embarrassment.

Well from what I understand....

- With the CPA, they werent allowed made mandatory cuts, any reduction of staff had to be through natural wastage or people voluntarily leaving...
    - They are bringing in new measures to bring the lump sum pay off and pensions back in to the real world, but comes in to effect after March of this year... For this reason, a lot of the teachers who have worked enough years to qualify for a pension are now leaving...

It's the worst of both worlds for the Government, who will now have to pay pensions to teachers who would have been teaching, they lose a lot of experienced teachers, pay new teachers to take up whatever posts they fill.

"You have two employees.. One is great and one is useless"..

Was Pat alluding to himself and Tubridy there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

There will be paycuts for new entrants at around 10%. As usual the older people who are already better off are looked after, the younger people (who'll have to pay back the loans we need to pay the older workers now) are the ones who get screwed over. It's the way of the world.

amacachi wrote: »
    There will be paycuts for new entrants at around 10%. As usual the older people who are already better off are looked after, the younger people (who'll have to pay back the loans we need to pay the older workers now) are the ones who get screwed over. It's the way of the world.

ireland is ageist , against the young , unfortunatley the young seem to support the policy of spoiling the old

That chap is making a lot of sense....

(He wont be allowed on the show again)..

Yer man in the blue shirt + glasses deserves a medal for what he said, no reform as usual, just people padding their own nest.

He's bang on with his point about the "types" of people that will leave.. The people who will leave are those who have the confidence in their own ability and work ethic that they will pick up work somewhere else... It is the worst employees that will not want to leave, and they will just hang on in there, knowing they cant be made redundant...

Like I said, worst possible deal for the Government and worst value for money for the taxpayers... The unions really should hang their heads in shame...

and completley shameless about doing so

He's bang on with his point about the "types" of people that will leave.. The people who will leave are those who have the confidence in their own ability and work ethic that they will pick up work somewhere else... It is the worst employees that will not want to leave, and they will just hang on in there, knowing they cant be made redundant...

Like I said, worst possible deal for the Government and worst value for money for the taxpayers... The unions really should hang their heads in shame...

ultimate responsibility rests with the goverment who made this lousy deal with the unions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You all seem to have made very bad career choices.

What do you mean?

God I'm getting Sinn Féin and their populist crap... As if they had any solutions to Ireland's problems.. They shouldnt even be given a seat on any realistic discussion panel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

God I'm getting Sinn Féin and their populist crap... As if they had any solutions to Ireland's problems.. They shouldnt even be given a seat on any realistic discussion panel

I don't like them but could they actually do any worse than what we have/had ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 963 ✭✭✭NinjaK

nonsense. They are not the ones who are destroying this country.

NinjaK wrote: »
    nonsense. They are not the ones who are destroying this country.

Sinn Féin say that they would tell the bondholders to fk off... There is NOT the remotest chance that they would risk social welfare payments and the wages of public sector employees...