Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2006 BMW 318d es????

• 30-01-2012 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Hi All.
    Looked at one of these cars last night and have to say really liked it. Drove very well and car looks immaculate. Low mileage of 50K miles. While the car is low enough spec its still a big step up from what im driving currently :)
    Problem is I know feck all bout these cars so few questions for ye:

How much should I be spending on this car. Advertised for 12000 but he dropped to 10000 no problem last night so could i push him a little more or what are these cars making these days? I said 8000 to him and he wasnt that surprised so could i get it for that?

Next question is there many problems with these cars that I should look out for?
    Any help would be appriacted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

I think problem about low spec premium brand cars is they still have same high maintenance/running costs of top spec model. It is much easier to accept this cost with a high spec version than low spec one. Low spec one should be much cheaper than high spec one to justify buying one.

It is also hard to sell them with low spec. I had a low spec 320i and I started to look for higher spec ones in 3-4 months because of the reason above = running cost is same for all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭swhyte027

If I was you I'd work about the 8grand mark ya.also ask him has he got the abs pressure switch done.it was a problem on that model and could cost a couple of hundred to fix.although I'd say 90% or them are done now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Check for service history.
    at 50k, officially, it wouldnt of had the breather filter changed, so maybe ask the dealer to do this or it would be safer to get it done in an independant tbh.

The ES model is fairly basic, but it can be spec'd up depending on the owner, i had one before and the previous owner told me his job paid for it, and he was only able to buy ES but he could add X amount of options to it, which resulted in PDC, Leather, Bluetooth, MFSW and a few other little things.

Have you got a link to have a look at the car?

The only major problem is the DSC control unit which goes on most of them, my GF's E90 went at 29k and was covered by BMW goodwill, so we only had to pay labour of 260e IIRC in Duffys.

Other than that, decent engine, nice power, nice economy and a remap really ignites the engine ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Jimmywangyang

Forgot to say it has been remapped :) Will ask him bout the other few things. Cheers for the advice lads. Much appreciated. Will keep ye updated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That is very low mileage for a 6 year old example and not cheap either imo considering it is a basic ES model. At that low mileage I would definately ask the owner to bring it to a BMW dealer with you. They can scan the key as the mileage is recorded on that, the odometer and the car's ECU.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

bazz26 wrote: »
    That is very low mileage for a 6 year old example and not cheap either imo considering it is a basic ES model. At that low mileage I would definately ask the owner to bring it to a BMW dealer with you. They can scan the key as the mileage is recorded on that, the odometer and the car's ECU.

My E90 has 51k km on it :D
    2007 318d MSport.

Will have fun trying to explain that to buyers when selling :D