Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Suggestions for a newly Licenced Driver

• 30-01-2012 11:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Well Lads,

Just a quick one...

I got the full licence back in November and have saved a bit. Have a good job so I can afford to save for a car with little to no out goings as I am only 20.

I am a named driver and am getting quotes on the mothers insurance of roughly 1000 to 1600 for the likes. I can afford it at the minute so its not a question of price or insurance or anything like that..

I am just interested in a nice flash car. Ihave been looking at Toyota MR2s, Golf GTIs, Golf TDIs, GTTDIs. Honda Civics (non VTI or Type R as I either cannot get quoted or the price is astronomical) Honda Accords, VW Passats, Boras etc.

I would just like general opinions of ye lads to see whats nice to drive, will give me quality for my buck and has a bitta power under the bonnet.

I am driving a 1.2 clio expression now which was my starter car which I love and get me through the test fine and if i could keep it forever I would but the sister is of age now so i will give the clio to her along with all its glory to get her started too.

Also I live in Athlone and a commute to Dublin is also on the cards with work so I have to keep this in mind too.

So basically a stylish car, which can take the commute if needed, but over all looks nice with a nice kick to it

Thanks A Million,

Gary :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭YBTurbo

BMW E36 Coupe?

Get an M-Tech, Nice little subtle body-kit in them, Half Leather etc.... 140bhp (318is) so plenty of power..

If you are interested I have one on DoneDeal at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

ghogie91 wrote: »

I am just interested in a nice flash car. Ihave been looking at Toyota MR2s, Golf GTIs, Golf TDIs, GTTDIs. Honda Civics (non VTI or Type R as I either cannot get quoted or the price is astronomical) Honda Accords, VW Passats, Boras etc.

I know nobody ever listens, but you would be much better off driving a bog standard 1-1.2 litre for another couple of years. Save the money on tax, insurance and running costs and actually buy a proper "nice flash car" when your around 25 rather then a felt spec lump of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

ghogie91 wrote: »

Does not compute...:confused: :pac:

Seriously though, the budget is the main thing, what do you have to spend? Then also take into consideration how much this Athlone to Dublin commute occurs. Is it a daily thing? What sort of mileage do you do annually?

You dont seem to be too pushed by running costs, which is good, but you do need to factor them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

How about a Mondeo 2.0TDCI Titanium Spec.

Not exactly slow and the Insurance isn't too bad either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

Hi

Yeah I should have included Budget haha sorry.

I have about 10,000e available for the car alone :)

Yeah I know this is obviously the answer that was bound to happen. But at the minute I have a good job and dont gotta worry about basically anything else in my life except insurance and tax, I mean I live at home, so before the costs begin to come into my life as in rent, mortgage or whatever

I can do it now so im taking the cliff dive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Ah jaysus

Spend the money and move out of home, you'll look far cooler in the Clio when bringing chicks back to your own gaff.

An MR2 would be cool up to the point you have to ring your mam to ask if she can come over ;)

How about a Mondeo 2.0TDCI Titanium Spec.

Not exactly slow and the Insurance isn't too bad either

I dont know exactly why but I have a severe dislike of Ford cars. I have no reasoning behind this at all, they could be the best in the world but I cant bring myself to even consider spending money on one. :confused:

Ah jaysus

Spend the money and move out of home, you'll look far cooler in the Clio when bringing chicks back to your own gaff.

An MR2 would be cool up to the point you have to ring your mam to ask if she can come over ;)

Haha well it would be cool when Im ringing my mam or dad after the heavy back end of the MR2 oversteers and I end up in the Shannon haha

'Back Happy' as the man says haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Sorry, wrong thread!