Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Phill Hogan - Minister for "not my problem"

• 30-01-2012 12:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭

Anyone else think he's a right Gobsh1te?

Myself and another person I know have wrote to him on two different issues to be told basically, "eh... not my problem..."

My complaint was over Irish Rail not answering customer complaints, which fair enough, may not have been too relevant, but at the least he could have sent off a letter and gave an impression of caring.

The second was over bendy bus poles in St. Stephens Green. Seems that some row between Dublin City Corpo and Dublin Bus has happened and Dublin Bus aren't allowed to put bus stops on the path, so they have gone and made bendy ones that are mounted on the road, about 6 inches from the kerb, and bent them to stand over the path. It looks like something out of failblog...

And to that Old' Phill said, "eh... That's not up to me..." when really it is, with him being minister of the environment! Seems that the government have gotten all arrogant like the last crowd.

And I won't get started on the household charge, all I'll say is I heard about some leaflets that will be sent out telling people about the consequences of not paying, and that there's some campaign to send them all to Phill Hogan's house address in a SAE...

Might be worth a go for the craic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

He's not the minister for transport, you want Leo Varadkar darling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭El Inho

to be honest....id say you could of aimed those two questions better.

kinda siding with him to be honest..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Wrong minister OP. You may as well have asked Roisin Shortall for a bottle of tequila.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,316 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

nimrod86 wrote: »
    Anyone else think he's a right Gobsh1te?

Myself and another person I know have wrote to him on two different issues to be told basically, "eh... not my problem..."

My complaint was over Irish Rail not answering customer complaints, which fair enough, may not have been too relevant, but at the least he could have sent off a letter and gave an impression of caring.

The second was over bendy bus poles in St. Stephens Green. Seems that some row between Dublin City Corpo and Dublin Bus has happened and Dublin Bus aren't allowed to put bus stops on the path, so they have gone and made bendy ones that are mounted on the road, about 6 inches from the kerb, and bent them to stand over the path. It looks like something out of failblog...

And to that Old' Phill said, "eh... That's not up to me..." when really it is, with him being minister of the environment! Seems that the government have gotten all arrogant like the last crowd.

And I won't get started on the household charge, all I'll say is I heard about some leaflets that will be sent out telling people about the consequences of not paying, and that there's some campaign to send them all to Phill Hogan's house address in a SAE...

Might be worth a go for the craic...

First we have to pay €5 to join the campaign and now you want us to buy stamps. We haven't got the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Wouldn't you write to the appropriate parties? Or event eh relevant minister (Varadkar)?

OPW owns SSG, not the council

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Dear Nimrod

Couldn't give a **** about Irish Rail or bus stops brother. But eat your vitamins, drink your milk and say your prayers.

Regards

Phil "Hollywood" Hogan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭nimrod86

Victor wrote: »
    Wouldn't you write to the appropriate parties? Or event eh relevant minister (Varadkar)?

OPW owns SSG, not the council

I wrote to varadker and Irish Rail, never got a reply from Irish Rail and varadker directed me to the head of Irish Rail which helped alot

and another thing...

suck it up and pay the damn household charge..youre just going to end up paying more or being arrested...

we dont even nearly have it hard in this country.

Dear Nimrod,

Keep up the letter writing.

Love your work.

Regards,
    An Post

eldwaro wrote: »
    and another thing...

suck it up and pay the damn household charge..youre just going to end up paying more or being arrested...

Household charge doesn't apply to me really since I'm a student living at home, just saying that I think it's stupid that they can make up charges like this for people already stuggleing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

If he doesn't care what made you think we would?

if you reply to this thread nimrod thanks it, maybe its an attention deficit disorder?

Sindri wrote: »
    If he doesn't care what made you think we would?

fair point..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Send a stamped addressed envelope the next time, I hear he's a bit of a cheap-skate

efb wrote: »
    if you reply to this thread nimrod thanks it, maybe its an attention deficit disorder?

not really, I just thank posts I find funny or helpfulish...

also, kinda the facebook mindset of "like" everything you vaguely recognise or agree with...

Household charge doesn't apply to me really since I'm a student living at home, just saying that I think it's stupid that they can make up charges like this for people already stuggleing

im a student living in college...so it doesnt affect me either...

but at the same time...i think its terrible that people do so much bloody complaining.

the government needs to make money...tough....get over it...

complaining does nothing!

(feel free to say you're only student what would you know blah blah blah)

not really, I just thank posts I find funny or helpfulish...

also, kinda the facebook mindset of "like" everything you vaguely recognise or agree with...

glad i was helpfulish.

yours,

Big Phil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

There is something about Phil Hogan that just doesn't sit well with me. He comes across as being highly arrogant and partisan.

Its a shame his career didn't end with his resignation in '95.

TBH I'm surprised you didn't get pointed in the right direction, because Itsnot the minister that writes the letters afaik, but one of his mandarins.

There is something about Phil Hogan that just doesn't sit well with me. He comes across as being highly arrogant and partisan.

Its a shame his career didn't end with his resignation in '95.

Every cabinet needs a ball breaker

im a student living in college...so it doesnt affect me either...

but at the same time...i think its terrible that people do so much bloody complaining.

the government needs to make money...tough....get over it...

complaining does nothing!

(feel free to say you're only student what would you know blah blah blah)

I'm not going to say what would I know and back down!

Where would we be if people didn't complain? The government would tax us to take a dump if they could at the moment!

Why should the average person pay a charge on a house that is theirs? Why can't they get money off the developers that caused a lot of this?

ah look...where a country of fecking complainers...

were still better off than a lot of people in the world so you wont find me complaining.

except about everyone who complains...funnily enough..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Every cabinet needs a ball breaker

He just comes across as a prick though. He has plenty of company in the cabinet too

I'm not going to say what would I know and back down!

Where would we be if people didn't complain? The government would tax us to take a dump if they could at the moment!

Why should the average person pay a charge on a house that is theirs? Why can't they get money off the developers that caused a lot of this?

Eh, Septic tank charge...

He just comes across as a prick though. He has plenty of company in the cabinet too

They seem to think they've earned there place there, would they not cop on and see they're there cause people wanted the other shower gone and there was nobody else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭SillyMcCarthy

and another thing...

So when it becomes a property tax will the farmers be paying
    a levy per acre?

plus...if ya can afford a house, ya can afford €100

if you use the kids excuse, then you should have had kids yet.
    if you use the work excuse, then you arent looking hard enough for work.

sorry im such a ballcocks on this topic but ya have to get sick of listening to doom and gloom and just grab the country be the balls and go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

A clown is what he is...The new Michael McDowell ..

So when it becomes a property tax will the farmers be paying
    a levy per acre?

as a percentage of profit per acre maybe yea...why not...everyone in the country has a responsibility to fix the place...

sure we didnt fúck it up...but sure didnt the coast guard help after that italian lad made a hole in his ship!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

He is not one i'd trust much tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,648 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Eh, Septic tank charge...

This will need to be paid whether you use it or not. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 buzz123

and another thing...

If 1000,000 don't pay the 100 Euro it would cost 900 or thereabouts a week to keep them incarcerated and a hundred or more years to process them... cop on to yourself, I smell a serious degree of smugness in your reply.

To keep the Council offices open on Saturday to process idiots scared into paying will cost many thousands... Direland is a perfect Name for what's going on today.

The reason the Government want People to register is to get details that will make the collection of other wonderful charges that they might think up easier in the future .

If everything was above Board, I would expect a Bill to arrive at my Letterbox, including what I am paying for and where the Money is going but anyone with a modicum of intelligence would know it's going to fill up the the Coffers in Europe, yes, we are in a mess but we didn't cause it, the Banks giving Mortgages away, offering people huge amounts straight away, telling them that the value of their Home would be good enough to sort out any problems should they arrive. You just cannot blame people for thinking "OK, these people know what they are doing" , you say pay up or go to Prison, you mention it's only 100 Euro, so, you think people who don't pay could face Prison and Bankers and Politicians get off scot free? mental, just mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭BackScrub

and another thing...

I can agree with your last line perhaps, not the rest.

Of course the country needs to raise revenue but this charge is ridiculous:

1. Taxing a person's home is fundamentally wrong IMO

2. Resorting to threatening responses like "you'll lose your library and your pool" and "we'll get it at source" is not the way to bring people along with you

Big Phil was on RTE last night talking about this. He was asked would all revenue raised go directly to local services. He replied that around 3-4% would go on administration costs, but his answer had all the hallmarks of a man who had no real answer. 2 things:

1. How can you decide on the rate of a charge if you haven't worked out the associated costs?

2. The government removed certain funding to local government and are essentially replacing it with the household charge. As it stands now therefore, the 3-4% administration charge becomes another form of income tax as I'm damn sure the 'administration' will be done centrally.

That begs the questions:

1. What were the administration costs pre-household charge?
    2. How much of your 3-4% makes it's way to the banks?

Why should anyone pay this?

Big Phil is a full-blown jackass but anyone who pays this is no better as far as I'm concerned. When will people shout stop to this madness?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭lividduck

Do they have a BA in Stuggleing, what is a stuggle, sounds kinda kinky:D

BackScrub wrote: »
    I can agree with your last line perhaps, not the rest.

Of course the country needs to raise revenue but this charge is ridiculous:

1. Taxing a person's home is fundamentally wrong IMO

2. Resorting to threatening responses like "you'll lose your library and your pool" and "we'll get it at source" is not the way to bring people along with you

Big Phil was on RTE last night talking about this. He was asked would all revenue raised go directly to local services. He replied that around 3-4% would go on administration costs, but his answer had all the hallmarks of a man who had no real answer. 2 things:

1. How can you decide on the rate of a charge if you haven't worked out the associated costs?

2. The government removed certain funding to local government and are essentially replacing it with the household charge. As it stands now therefore, the 3-4% administration charge becomes another form of income tax as I'm damn sure the 'administration' will be done centrally.

That begs the questions:

1. What were the administration costs pre-household charge?
    2. How much of your 3-4% makes it's way to the banks?

Why should anyone pay this?

Big Phil is a full-blown jackass but anyone who pays this is no better as far as I'm concerned. When will people shout stop to this madness?

Agreed, I am amazed at how various groups got p*ssed off and marched to get what THEY wanted, all little groups with their own agendas, the Elderly, the Students, the Nurses et al, made their individual statements, downed Placards and went to Pubs or Home having had their say... that just isn't good enough, everyone concerned should have arrived en masse and made a once and for all statement.

Those who have paid are either able to or those scared sh1tless not to.
    We are percieved to be Idiots by Government and Banks and are treated accordingly. Watch, next they'll be threatening to remove the possibility of care for the elderly . SOYLENT GREEN IS NOT TOO FAR AWAY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

buzz123 wrote: »
    Agreed, I am amazed at how various groups got p*ssed off and marched to get what THEY wanted, all little groups with their own agendas, the Elderly, the Students, the Nurses et al,

What was Al's beef?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

LOL

You might as well have sent a letter to Obama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

sorry im such a ballcocks on this topic but ya have to get sick of listening to doom and gloom and just grab the country be the balls and go for it.

WTF kind of babble is this.
    Like something dribbled from the mouth of a tramp sprawled under a railway underpass.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    What was Al's beef?:confused:

Hope you are dismally trying to be funny, if not......

Et al=

1. And others; to complete a list, especially of people, as authors of a published work.
    Failed Educational system methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

easy to say from the comfort of the lecture hall, just wait til you get out into the REAL world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

Hogan's on Matt Cooper now

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056484852

Lets keep it to the one thread please folks.