Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

... 'Devon youngsters 'stoned' after gaming' ...

• 29-01-2012 10:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-devon-16771981
    A Devon charity says it has serious concerns over an increasing number of a young computer gamers "stoned" from sleep deprivation.
    Social workers at Wings South West said the result was that the social skills of gamers were going downhill.
    A computer games advice charity said youngsters were in danger of losing empathy and the compassion of "genuine relationships".
    One games seller said parents should be more aware of controls to limit gaming.
    Paul Bowser, who works with young people at Wings South West in Bideford, said: "We have a number of young people who most of the time look almost stoned, not necessarily on drugs, but just with sleep deprivation because they're gaming all the time.
    "Whether it's an obsession or an addiction, I don't know.
    "It's certainly different from a few years ago, partly because the technology wasn't there."
    Empathy 'replaced' Robert Hart Fletcher, who runs Kids and Media, a charity giving information about children's use of digital media, said: "Gaming is a phenomenon that's been around quite a while.
    "Now we are starting to see the effects in behaviour of young people.
    "In the past people had genuine relationships with empathy and compassion which has been replaced by this virtual relationship where they are not necessarily having to show empathy or compassion.
    "That's starting perhaps to affect the way they interact on a day to day basis."
    Bradley Bown of the Game store in Plymouth said more education should be available to parents about the controls available.
    Most computers and consoles could be set up to restrict the amount of time spent on them.
    "But if someone has had a stressful day then it's better to play a computer game than take it out on someone," he added.
    Daniel Wood, of the Association for UK Interactive Entertainment, said it advised gamers to take regular breaks.
    "There's no danger of addiction as such but we do recognise that as with all things, some people can do it excessively.
    "We believe gaming should be part of a healthy and balanced lifestyle."
    He advised parents to engage with children's games and make use of parental controls on machines.
    "They should pay close attention to the age rating of games, they are very robust and give guidance on the age, suitability and content of games."

The more I hear these anti-gaming stories the more I shake my head at people in this world :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

LighterGuy wrote: »

The more I hear these anti-gaming stories the more I shake my head at people in this world :pac:

Playing computer games all night was so 1993 :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I wonder what new scapegoat will be conjured up to hide blatant lazy parenting....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

The word Devon makes me think of rice pudding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

The head shops Joe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

sure so do I be.. but much like gaming, I only smoke before bed

.. makes sense. Seems I only smoke to game / game to smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

their off their face on custard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Virtual stoneness is not the same as real stoneness, much akin to a virtual girlfriend not being the same as a real life one.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,156 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Archeron wrote: »
    Devon knows how they make them so creamy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I tried gaming once but I got really paranoid and had to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

No doubt gaming has it's pros an cons, well worth discussion anyway.

I love playing a few games every now and then BF3 or Gran Turismo, but it dose bother me the way a few of my buddys now live in a fantasy land with no concept of reality. They seem to be getting relatively dumber as the days go by. I say relatively dumber because they are becoming expert in the games they play and it certainly dose take a lot of intelligence to play at the levels they do. But their social skills and the random bull**** they sprout from time to time is getting a bit unnerving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 _ __ _

Superbus wrote: »
    I tried gaming once but I got really paranoid and had to go home.
    I was gonna get my kid a wii but i heard it's a gateway console...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Archeron wrote: »

It makes me think of a lady from the 'Adult' movie industry.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I had exams last week and some days I was getting **** all sleep with study. I say, ban exams.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

k.p.h wrote: »

I love playing a few games every now and then BF3 or Gran Turismo, but it dose bother me the way a few of my buddys now live in a fantasy land with no concept of reality. They seem to be getting relatively dumber as the days go by. I say relatively dumber because they are becoming expert in the games they play and it certainly dose take a lot of intelligence to play at the levels they do. But their social skills and the random bull**** they sprout from time to time is getting a bit unnerving.

That's because they're arseholes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

k.p.h wrote: »

I know, I've been getting very suspicious of my son. I found a zippy bag under his bed, but he says that it's for CDs, but I don't know.
    And the other night, he said he was going out knacker drinking, but then I find out that he was at his greasy friend's house having a Halo marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

I actually find it quite enjoyable playing games while stoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Sonics2k wrote: »
    That's because they're arseholes :D

Quite possibly :p

I suppose the old "too much of anything is bad for you" saying seems appropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭housetypeb

I loved playing internet chess when stoned, sometimes I'd go so deep into the game that I'd forget to make a move and get timed out, still won more than I lost though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

byte wrote: »
    Devon knows how they make them so creamy!

Thats an awful thing to say about young kids playing computer games.

Perv!!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Saying they are stoned is ridiculous, but gaming addiction is a serious problem as is the game brain syndrome which I have experienced which will only get worse the more realistic games become.

Is there nothing you cant get addicted to these days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Sure of course they're not up all night watching TV or reading the bible. It's all that feckin Italian plumbers fault and that slipperly snake fella too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Is there nothing you cant get addicted to these days?

I would say you can't get addicted to weaning yourself off booze, smokes or video games.

Bad Panda wrote: »
    I would say you can't get addicted to weaning yourself off booze, smokes or video games.

You never know, i'm sure some psychologist has a name on being addicted to that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I blame Skyrim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

These are the kind of stories the Dinosaur media is guarenteed to to give oxegen. Congrats, journo. You have no soul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

"Devon knows how they make it so stoney."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Ohh ARRR! it's ambrosiarrrrrrrrrrr, an the sheep go BAR! :D. REmember that ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Sindri wrote: »
    Saying they are stoned is ridiculous, but gaming addiction is a serious problem as is the game brain syndrome which I have experienced which will only get worse the more realistic games become.

Video games are more exciting, interesting, and have better graphics than real life. I suspect the kids are just really pissed off that they have to go outside, and would prefer to come up with strategies for their games during their time away from them, giving them a glassy-eyed look, and leading people to think they're stoned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I played in goal for Liverpool in the 90's, but my concentration was shot from gaming, kept on making errors.

Or at least that's the bullshit story I came up with anyway....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

LighterGuy wrote: »

Seems pretty straight forward to me. Kid playing a game all night would efficiently be stoned come morning due to sleep deprivation. I've gone through many an all nighter and it seriously affects you. I dont think calling it "stoned" is too far off the mark even if it doesnt quite hit it.

If someone was experiencing that on a regular basis it would definitely not be good for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

It's the only thing gonna get yeh through the recession though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

But insomniacs look grand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

LiamN wrote: »
    But insomniacs look grand?

With insomnia, nothing is real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

gaming addiction is a serious problem

i hate the way the word addiction has changed its meaning so much in the past few years. will there be group counselling for gamers set up?
    i do not believe in gaming addiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

theteal wrote: »
    I wonder what new scapegoat will be conjured up to hide blatant lazy parenting....

comics
    punk
    video nasties
    rap music
    dangerous dogs

computer games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

That's mad, so it takes a whole sleepless night to get stoned :eek:
    Amateurs, they shall learn :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Remember this kid,are parents scared or clueless-who let's their kids stay up all night gaming? I play games myself but letting a console become a type of babysitter is crazy.Same as the mothers who plonk their babies in front of the tv all day.

Not the games industry's fault,just lazy parenting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

What a great name the charity guy has. Pic of him here :pac: