Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Self Defense Q (long post..)

• 28-01-2012 10:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭

I was out the other week with a couple of friends celebrating an 18th at the end of the night me and a friend were walking back when 3 lads came up to us causing **** so we ignored them and crossed the street, they followed and they were clearly drunk and looking for trouble and we wanted to avoid them so we went into the closest pub and they fecked off and that was that.
    We were out again last night and the same 3 came up to us asking us why we'd been talking to one of the barmen (won't name names or pubs) but apparently they'd been up to no good in one of the places we usually go to and they'd been barred and were blaming us for it:confused: I dunno where they got that from but we told them they were mistaken and walked off and again they followed and were talking all kinds of :mad::mad: trying to get a rise from us so I turned around and told them to quit the drink if they couldn't handle it and to stop following us or I'd call the guards. They made some threats and 2 backed off but one kept saying he'd put my head through a window but by this time his mates had left and we were getting angry and I'm at least twice his size so he quit the bs and left. I went home about 20mins after but my friend stayed behind waiting for his lift.

I got a text this morning to say they went back up to where he was waiting and threatened to stab him and one of the lads pulled out a knife but put it back 'cos people were coming and they left...he doesn't wanna go to the guards because he said they won't do anything about it (he's probably right there...:mad:) but if it's on CCTV those guys wouldn't have a leg to stand on...pulling a knife on someone 3-1 unprovoked is BS...I'd go make a report but I wasn't there and my friend said not to or they would find out.
    Sorry for the long post but I don't know what to do. :(
    I gave as much detail as I could without naming names and that kinda stuff.
    What can I do about this? What should my friend do? If I come across these guys again and they threaten me in the way they did my friend what can I do without getting into trouble with the police? I don't want to end up getting into trouble cos I was defending myself! I read through some of the recent threads...mace or something like that would be nice to have for security against douche bags like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

Your friend needs to make a report to the Gardai. Get a "crime number" and chase it up with them if you're worried they won't do anything. If they don't then make a complaint to the ombudsman.

The self defense thing has really been done to death here: (no pun intended)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056531059

Incidently pulling a knife on anyone at anytime is BS. I'd be looking to adjust my attitude and maybe stay out of the pubs a while if my opinion was any different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭benway

Section 18 of the Non-Fatal Offences Against the Person Act, 1997.

18.—(1) The use of force by a person for any of the following purposes, if only such as is reasonable in the circumstances as he or she believes them to be, does not constitute an offence—

(a) to protect himself or herself or a member of the family of that person or another from injury, assault or detention caused by a criminal act; or

(b) to protect himself or herself or (with the authority of that other) another from trespass to the person; or

(c) to protect his or her property from appropriation, destruction or damage caused by a criminal act or from trespass or infringement; or

(d) to protect property belonging to another from appropriation, destruction or damage caused by a criminal act or (with the authority of that other) from trespass or infringement; or

(e) to prevent crime or a breach of the peace.
    Arming yourself is likely to get you into trouble, as someone pointed out on the pepper spray thread, it's illegal under Section 9 of the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990 to carry an offensive weapon, as in "any other article whatsoever made or adapted for use for causing injury to or incapacitating a person".

If it comes down to a thing that you are attacked, use only as much force as is absolutely necessary to get out of the situation.

Your mate should go to the Gardaí, making threats and pulling a knife are offences - under Section 9 and a couple of other enactments. Even getting arrested and questioned may make them think twice about bringing out knives, and might make them leave you alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭CornsnakeKeeper

Thanks for the replies guys, I think my friend is gonna go in tomorrow and I told him about the crime number too so they can't just do nothing.
    I did some looking around and found the guy who was it it, I've heard stories and he's done this kind of thing before and being caught with a knife isn't new for him which makes this a lot worse.:/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

They'll tell you there is no such thing - just tell them you would like a way to keep track of it as he's sure there will be a recurrence and you'd like to be able to save the time of the Garda you report it too. They will give you some kind of reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kelijryan

if your friend is worried now about going out maybe suggest a self defense class like krav maga they show u easy ways to disarm ppl wit knives it might help a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭CornsnakeKeeper

They'll tell you there is no such thing - just tell them you would like a way to keep track of it as he's sure there will be a recurrence and you'd like to be able to save the time of the Garda you report it too. They will give you some kind of reference.

Thank you. :)

@kelijryan I just looked that up and I'm about to book a place for it, it's not til April but it looks good. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 kelijryan

its brillant i only started 3 weeks ago and i feel much better now being out at night