Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this some type of scam?

• 27-01-2012 6:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭

Lads looking for thoughts on this;

Individual I know leaves work today and there is an envelope on windscreen of their car. Note inside which says the following;

"this car reversed into me around 2 weeks ago and drove off. I know it was this car as I took the reg and also the reg was given to me by a witness. It is in your best interest to contact me and resolve this matter. " they left name and mobile number.

I find this odd for a number of reasons-

You'd surely know if you'd backed into someone. The person I know is certain they never did anything

Very vague with when it happened (around 2 weeks) I'd have date time and day if it was me.

Why a gap of 2 weeks? were they just spending the 2 weeks trying to see what cars are parked in the area every day and target one of these people

Why not have told the guards? If someone had hit me & drove off I'd have them rung within 5 mins

What are ye're thoughts? Or what's going on here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Nigerians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

We have a thread for scams you know..... It's very pretty. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭big_drive

MugMugs wrote: »
    We have a thread for scams you know..... It's very pretty. :)

Sorry didnt realise there was a special thread for scams. Maybe a mod could move this thanks

pajo1981 wrote: »
    Nigerians.

The name signed was Irish I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

big_drive wrote: »
    The name signed was Irish I think

Nigerians posing as Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

reply to them saying you were out of the county at the time.

ask them where, when, how, name and number of witness and why was it not reported to the gardai if they had reg.

when you find out where and when you can either hunt for cctv

or

say you were elsewhere and for them to prove it.

witness could mean nothing as it could be their buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Stop trolling pajo.

Just forget about it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Erper

Keep the letter, just in case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

It is in your best interest to contact me and resolve this matter
    Sounds like a threat to me. Keep the letter and do nothing, should you receive any more, contact the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

"as I took the reg and also the reg was given to me by a witness".

Ya wha?

"as I took the reg and also the reg was given to me by a witness".

Ya wha?

Yeah that's what it says. I think he's trying to say that the reg number he has matches up with that of a witness

i say ****e to him

let him call the gardai then when the gardai contact you then you respond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

I would call Garda first, explain that is scam, ad than together with garda call them. get the f****n scamers ... hate them.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Give them a ring and find out what you can from them. Get time/date/place/their car details. Then goto the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Lads looking for thoughts on this;

Individual I know leaves work today and there is an envelope on windscreen of their car. Note inside which says the following;

"this car reversed into me around 2 weeks ago and drove off. I know it was this car as I took the reg and also the reg was given to me by a witness. It is in your best interest to contact me and resolve this matter. " they left name and mobile number.

I find this odd for a number of reasons-

You'd surely know if you'd backed into someone. The person I know is certain they never did anything

Very vague with when it happened (around 2 weeks) I'd have date time and day if it was me.

Why a gap of 2 weeks? were they just spending the 2 weeks trying to see what cars are parked in the area every day and target one of these people

Why not have told the guards? If someone had hit me & drove off I'd have them rung within 5 mins

What are ye're thoughts? Or what's going on here?

PM me the number please, I will contact them free of charge for you. Just for a laugh.It is a scam.

Thanks. I'll have the ask permission from the person involved. Not sure if he will give me the number

The individual involved has decided to go to the gardai. I will let ye know what happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

sounds like bulls**t to me ,,,,i saw it happening ,also witness but i did not contact the garda or you till 2 weeks later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Has anyone come across this scam before ?

where's the damage on either car to prove this ?

The guy I know has checked every inch of his car this evening. Can find nothing to suggest it was in contact with any other car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Call him and pretend to be a legal advisor to yourself and see what they have to say, I'm 100% sure it's some sort of a scam.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Take pictures of your car with a date print at all possible angles to show that there's no damage to your car, get someone to witness that you did that.
    You never know, that guy might decide to add the "damage" later to back up his claim.
    If he tells you where and when this supposedly might have happened, make sure you have an alibi.
    Looks like the scammers have caught on to the fact that there's CCTV everywhere and some people have dash cams. What's the world coming to.