Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bookies shop giving out credit

• 26-01-2012 2:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭

Have just heard a story of a customer in a bookies shop being given credit to bet with.
    Have never heard of this happening before in fact i couldn't believe it when i was told about it
    The person that was given the credit is a regular in the shop but has recently lost his job, if this is true it seems incredible that they could get away with this,
    The person in question has paid back the money after the bookmaker sent someone to find him

Has anyone ever heard of this practice ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Gambling debts are unenforceable, he should of went to the cops and got the bookies closed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

naanman wrote: »
    Have just heard a story

end of thread tbh

Unless there is more details.

More fool the guy for paying up though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Very true Healio.

I take it this is an independent you're on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Fair play to him for paying up imo. If he was big enough to do it, he should be big enough to lose it.

Although it should have never happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

This happens in every county in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭naanman

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Very true Healio.

I take it this is an independent you're on about?
    Thanks for the replies lads

It was a multiple that this happened in
    I'm gonna find out more about it tonight

If it is true i would hope to be able to persuade the person in question to go to the guards because if he's has given this credit to one person god knows how many more have been caught in this trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

naanman wrote:
    If it is true i would hope to be able to persuade the person in question to go to the guards

Presumably he knew he "would" have to pay it back at some point; regardless of the law (or lack thereof). He's hardly going to go to the gardai and say I had a few bets, then the bookie came looking for the money.
    Although if it was recouped by intimidation; that is a separate matter.
    naanman wrote:
    because if he's has given this credit to one person god knows how many more have been caught in this trap

It is hardly a trap, fair enough the bookmaker has made a (ludacrious) decision to let someone bet on credit, but is the bookmaker not entitled to ask for the money at some point?

It is probably the one business I would never expect anyone (bar perhaps the VIP mega-mug types) to be given any credit, at least something like bar tab can be controlled/wont spiral out of control too quickly, but gamblers can be wreckless, especially if they go chasing.

I would be very sceptical that a mulitple would do this, if its the case contact head office and also go to the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I honestly dont see the big deal. Pubs do it, drug dealers do it, shops do it, practically most places give credit to loyal customers. And yes he should have paid it back. Whats all this run to the cops crap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

It does happen, normally the individual is well known and builds up trust. It's not something that should ever happen however as unfair on client and the teller involved who usually loses their job when it goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

As has been said gambling depts are unenforceable.

Should have told the bookie to **** off.

pajo1981 wrote: »

What if you had a big win and the bookie told you to **** off when you went in to collect?

ft9 wrote: »
    What if you had a big win and the bookie told you to **** off when you went in to collect?

If I had won on credit, there would be nothing I could do.

hint: gambling depts, unenforceable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

A bookie pays up tho when its unenforceable.

This rubbish of not paying the bookie is stupid.
    Maybe the bet was on a football match after he had closed the shop or something.

robbie1977 wrote: »
    A bookie pays up tho when its unenforceable.

A bookie who lends money to poor gob****es deserves everything they get

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ft9 wrote: »
    Fair play to him for paying up imo. If he was big enough to do it, he should be big enough to lose it.

Although it should have never happened.

True true. He got credit so should rightly pay it back.

The bookie is not the good guy in this scenario.

If a gambler pisses away all of their money that should be the end of it.

Letting them blow money they don't even have is just wrong.

If I had won on credit, there would be nothing I could do.

hint: gambling depts, unenforceable

Even if you had the money down he could still tell you to **** off.

Hint: Gambling debts, unenforceable.

Who is this bookie. I'd like some free bets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Warper wrote: »
    Pubs do it, drug dealers do it
    "Regulars" for the above would be alcoholics and addicts. The pubs and dealers do it to off-load stock knowing the regular won't say no.

Likewise with the bookie; they know the regular won't say no. The regular has no money, but the bookie gives them credit, and then sends around a heavy to get the money back by credit. Stinks a bit of gang related activity.
    if he's has given this credit to one person god knows how many more have been caught in this trap
    the bookmaker sent someone to find him
    It sounds like the bookies has a nice scam going: they offer credit to the addicts who can't pay, and then send out a heavy to take their money when they get paid - this sort of activity ensures the person is permanently in debt and cannot save as they always owe money to the bookie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭phantasmagoria

Bookmakers don't want to give credit - they would go out of business very quickly. Every reputable firm doesn't allow credit betting in their shops - official line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

I have been given credit on maybe 6 or 7 occasions by one of the big three establishments in Ireland...it's not uncommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭phantasmagoria

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    I have been given credit on maybe 6 or 7 occasions by one of the big three establishments in Ireland...it's not uncommon.

If this is in the shops, heads should be rolling

Yes, it's in one particular shop. They don't mind, I always go back in same day or worst case scenario the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

The bookie is not the good guy in this scenario.

If a gambler pisses away all of their money that should be the end of it.

Letting them blow money they don't even have is just wrong.

That's utter nonsense that statement.

For a start, a multiple such as Boylesports, Paddy Power or Ladbrokes would NEVER give credit.

It happens an odd time in smaller shops but only at the (pestering) request of the customer.

All shop's policy would be "do not ask for credit, refusal might offend" , because:

"the day you give a customer credit is the day you lose a customer" and shops don't want that scenario.

Here is a typical situation in where I have seen it arise in small shops:

A regular customer phones the shop and says "can I put a bet on the next race, I'm stuck in traffic blah blah blah, and will be into in half an hour. "

It's very hard to say no, so you accept it in good faith because you deal with that person as a regular customer.

If it wins, they come through the door 2 seconds after the race to collect the winnings. If it loses you don't see them again or you will see them going into a competitor's shop the next day avoid paying what they owe you,taking advantage of your trust in them.

I bet something like this happened in this case (because no bookie wants to voluntarily give credit) and the punter should have honour the goodwill and I don't blame the bookie.

Howjoe1 wrote: »

For a start, a multiple such as Boylesports, Paddy Power or Ladbrokes would NEVER give credit.

I beg to differ .. it's one of these three shops that I was referring to earlier

Ladbokes...English company...completely regimental...no chance. we can rule them out.

Boyles & Powers: Staff have to balance their cash each evening and no show "carries"....pratice would be frowned upon.

Is the cashier putting the money in from their own pocket on your behalf? Is their a limit applying? I would be shocked if it was sanctioned by head office.

Ladbokes...English company...completely regimental...no chance. we can rule them out.

Boyles & Powers: Staff have to balance their cash each evening and no show "carries"....pratice would be frowned upon.

Is the cashier putting the money in from their own pocket on your behalf? Is their a limit applying? I would be shocked if it was sanctioned by head office.

You're right, they do balance their cash out every evening, however, it may be 48 hours before head office actually do the tallying for each of the shops.
    Anyway, it's definitely not sanctioned by head office, but it's not from their own pocket either. I don't have a limit per say, but on the occasions I've had it done, it's been for on average 500 euro.

You're right, they do balance their cash out every evening, however, it may be 48 hours before head office actually do the tallying for each of the shops.
    Anyway, it's definitely not sanctioned by head office, but it's not from their own pocket either. I don't have a limit per say, but on the occasions I've had it done, it's been for on average 500 euro.

experience will let you know who is the odd customer you can trust.

Going back to the OP's story:

Would you, Dr Silly, disappear for weeks if you were given credit or not pay up at all if the bet lost ?

I think I know the answer, is No...because you would honour your word.

Credit is rare and where looked for , which I have no doubt was the situation, the outcome should be honoured by both sides.

experience will let you know who is the odd customer you can trust.

Going back to the OP's story:

Would you, Dr Silly, disappear for weeks if you were given credit or not pay up at all if the bet lost ?

I think I know the answer, is No...because you would honour your word.

Credit is rare and where looked for , which I have no doubt was the situation, the outcome should be honoured by both sides.

I couldn't agree more.
    If I get credit, I make sure that I have it available should the bet lose.
    Gambling with something you don't have ... well .. is a bad gambler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭UDAWINNER

Even rich people don't pay when given credit.

http://www.irishkop.com/forums/archive/index.php/t-18547.html
    Lousy guy.

UDAWINNER wrote: »

Lousy guy.

Just reading this...the poor girl...he is some low life for leaving her to get the sack.

ps when I saw the name first..I thought it was comedian:D bloke...and couldn't imagine him doing that.

I wonder is the offender still backing with Boyles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Amigomenor

UDAWINNER wrote: »

Lousy guy.

Glad this was posted as I had alluded to it. Lowest of the low if true but an addiction can do that to certain people.

Is his brother the guy Brefnie O 'Brien the investor for the rich and famous who was running a ponzi scheme?

He sounds like a right prick.

He conned that girl

If it's not sanctioned by head office then they're asking for trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,262 ✭✭✭Juwwi

If it's not sanctioned by head office then they're asking for trouble

Its stupid on the cashiers behalf.
    What is it to them or their pay packet by not giving him credit maybe they lose a customer at worst .:confused:

I feel sorry for that girl but it is a lesson learnt, gambling debts are unenforceable and i have seen many people given credit in the gambling scene because the people who give them credit want to keep them coming in like addicts, i cannot blame people for not paying back in this poisition because they were made fools of at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

This happens in every county in Ireland.

Mainly in local bookies and not the big name players ...........Its the personal touch .

Yeah and why should the person who got credit pay these scumbags back?
    They act like there doing them a favour but there making a fool out of them, very simple never pay back to these scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

Whats in it for the cashier to stick there neck out like this? Either you've come across the dumbest employee in the history of betting shops or theres some scam going on amongst the staff..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Jack46

Yeah and why should the person who got credit pay these scumbags back?
    They act like there doing them a favour but there making a fool out of them, very simple never pay back to these scum.
    Bookies aren't scumbags or scum. They offer a service which people can choose to use if they wish, just like a pub, restaurant, shop, cinema, bank, etc. Service providers offer credit to attract/retain customers and make more profit, nothing wrong with that.

It's highly immoral to choose not to pay back their money. Would you advise someone not to pay back their credit card debts or not pay a shop back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Jack46 wrote: »
    Would you advise someone not to pay back their credit card debts or not pay a shop back?
    Would you encourage an addict to get "freebies" that they later have to pay for?

He sounds like a right prick.

He conned that girl

Indeed........... lol at this bit though "He would always be in and out of the bookies, he has great knowledge of the races."

In saying that the staff member should have known better.