Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SaorView box with RF in?

• 25-01-2012 12:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

I have an old CRT upstairs that I want to connect to the RF OUT of my sky hd box. I want to connect a SaorView box to it and get one with RF IN so I can watch sky upstairs too (I know it will be the same channel as downstairs / us a magic eye to change channels).

Maybe all Saorview boxes have RF IN I don't know. I just want a cheap enough one \I can pick iup in Argus or something.

Recommendations appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,351 ✭✭✭Ronnie Raygun

All Saorview boxes have RF in (they wouldn't get a signal otherwise) & an RF loopthrough to take any analogue signals (like from the Sky box) on to the tv. The actual Saorview channels will be delivered to the tv via scart if it's an old crt.

Do you have an aerial receiving Saorview connected to the Sky box RF in? If not, there won't be any Saorview signal present on the cable coming from the RF out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,848 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

boardtc wrote: »
    I have an old CRT upstairs that I want to connect to the RF OUT of my sky hd box. I want to connect a SaorView box to it and get one with RF IN so I can watch sky upstairs too (I know it will be the same channel as downstairs / us a magic eye to change channels).

No Saorview STB has an RF modulator that I know of, so not possible to feed the output directly from the STB to the TV upstairs, as Ronnie says above most if not all Saorview receivers require a scart connection to the TV.

Do you have a subscription with the Sky receiver, if so this will supply the 5 basic irish channels via RF2 using a magic eye, Saorview box not required unless you want the few extra channels that are carried on Saorview.

If you don't have a sub this Triax Tri-Link performs a similar function to the Sky RF2/magic eye when connected to a scart output of a STB/DVD/VCR etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

boardtc - very simple and cheap to achieve what you need.
    All you need is a VCR with scart in - so pretty much any old VCR (cost about €0) should work, though 2 scarts on VCR will give you more options.
    Connect Saorview box scart to scart in on VCR.
    Connect main aerial to VCR.
    Loop VCR RF out through the Skybox RF.
    Switch VCR to Aux/External/Scart
    Now take RF out from Sky to CRT.
    Tune CRT in to both Sky and VCR.

Now you have both available through RF.
    Probably the cheapest way of distributing Saorview and Sky to other non SaorviewTvs with more than acceptable quality for standard bedroom/kitchen TVs.

If you have a second spare Skybox you could loop that through, set on a different RF frequency giving 2 Sky and 1 Saorview channel on the other TV.
    EPG planning makes life easy. If you really need it a remote extender could be used for changing channels but legs are usually cheaper.

There's life in an old VCR yet.

Note that the OP didn't say anything about a Saorview box with a modulator.

Even if that's what he/she meant by "RF in", I decided to take it at face value rather than being presumptuous.

Note that the OP didn't say anything about a Saorview box with a modulator.

Even if that's what he/she meant by "RF in", I decided to take it at face value rather than being presumptuous.

I agree having reread the post, the OP may want to place the Saorview box next to the TV upstairs with the Sky RF2 looped through to the TV co-ax plug.

As Ronnie posted above scart required on the old TV for the Saorview channels and aerial connected to the Sky box RF input with good saorview signal and no Sky output RF channels sharing/conflicting with the Saorview UHF channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭boardtc

I am so sorry for the delay in getting back with ye guys. I really want to get my finger out and sort this out.

All the suggestions made confused me I have to say! I have only 1 sky subscription, a sky plus box downstairs.

It sounds like with the vcr option I could just run the cable and watch sky upstairs with the magic eye. I'll look for my long tv cable and test with the vcr on the 2nd tv.

Then additionally if I want to add a Saorview box upstairs to watch independently of downstairs that could be done too. I can pick up any old Saorview box it seems. Does anyone know where I could get one of the DVB-T Receivers, advertised in bulk for 25 euros on done deal ? All other Saorview boxes seem to be in the 60 euro region.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Peter Rhea

So you want Sky & Saorview on the downstairs tv & you need a Saorview box for downstairs?

Also you want the Sky RF feed on the upstairs tv & an RF feed from the downstairs Saorview box too?

Peter Rhea wrote: »
    So you want Sky & Saorview on the downstairs tv & you need a Saorview box for downstairs?

Also you want the Sky RF feed on the upstairs tv & an RF feed from the downstairs Saorview box too?

Looks like I have done a bad job of explaining. I have a sky plus box downstairs & I have a tv upstairs.
    • watch sky upstairs
    • optional extra to have saorview box upstairs to enable indepedent viewing

Does anyone know where I could get one of the DVB-T Receivers, advertised in bulk for 25 euros on done deal ? All other Saorview boxes seem to be in the 60 euro region.

Why that well known auction site of course ...

Have a bit of a trawl through this lot. You'll find something for less than 30 quid with free delivery.

I should point out that these are not Saorview receivers, merely generic items that happen to decode the signal in its present form (& more than likely will continue to do so). Others have been taken to task for promoting this kind of stuff here, but since I own one myself it would be a bit hypocritical of me to take the same line.

If you're unsure of the suitability of anything, you can always ask here.

• watch sky upstairs
    • optional extra to have saorview box upstairs to enable indepedent viewing

In that case you'd connect a terrestrial aerial to the Sky box RF-in & the RF2 output would have the Saorview signal, the UHF analogue output from the Sky box & also the 9V power for the magic eye (assuming it's switched on).

When the Saorview box is in place at the 2nd tv, you can connect this feed to the aerial-in socket & loop out with a patch lead to the tv's aerial socket for the analogue Sky RF output.

Or the Saorview box could have its own separate aerial feed upstairs, if you don't need terrestrial channels downstairs, even an indoor aerial if you have a strong enough signal.

Why bring VCRs into it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭swoofer

a simple question what is the make of tv upstairs and does it have any scart sockets?

GBCULLEN wrote: »
    a simple question what is the make of tv upstairs and does it have any scart sockets?

Hitachi C2125S. It has 1 scart socket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭swoofer

all the saorview boxes will have rf loopthrugh so just run lead from rf2 on sky box to rf in on saorview then usual tv lead from rf out on saorview to tv aerial in on tv. NB You will have your normal aerial lead plugged in to aerial IN socket on hd. Use the scart socket for saorview. job done. if you get any interference come back and we will tell you how to change the rf2 out channel frequency but you may already know that. the default is 68.

gbc

Ok. I have tried to progress this. I currently have the spare tv in the living room trying to get it working. I have a 20m coax running from the RF out on the sky dvr to the Opticum HD T50 Irish DTT Digital Terrestrial Receiver (Saorview Compatible), purchased on ebay after advice on this thread.

The DTR has a usb and a hdmi. My TV has scart and RCA (red, white, yellow). I have used the RCA on the TV before with a sender/receiver. So being that a hdmi to scart adaptor does not exist. Will things work if I connect the hdmi to rca? The only adaptor I can see on ebay is HDMI to VGA 3 RCA, so it has a VGA connector as well, which in this case would be unused, would it work?

It's not Saorview anything if it doesn't have a scart output (seems strange). Why would you buy a receiver with no analogue outputs for an old tv? :confused:

I see it doesn't have a scart & the seller I looked at points it out in a "notes" section. It's unfortunate that you happened upon the only one of these things that isn't basically a scart plug with a decoder attached :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,029 ✭✭✭zg3409

I agree. The box you have will not work with the TV you have. I don't think a lead will solve the problem. You need a box with a Scart connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭winston_1

It's a pity you did not follow this more closely.

"Others have been taken to task for promoting this kind of stuff here."

There have been many posts condemning non Saroview approved equipment on these forums and now you have learnt the hard way and still have to spend another 60 euros odd getting an approved device.

It's not Saorview anything if it doesn't have a scart output (seems strange). Why would you buy a receiver with no analogue outputs for an old tv? :confused:

I see it doesn't have a scart & the seller I looked at points it out in a "notes" section. It's unfortunate that you happened upon the only one of these things that isn't basically a scart plug with a decoder attached :(

I bought this because I did not know any different :-( I will have to see about returning it, thanks.

I tried hooking from RF our on the sky box into a new digital receiver's RF In via the 20m cable, staying in the same room for now. I saw the same set working for saorview in the shop. I connected a scart from the digital receiver to the TV. Switching to AV on the TV the digital receiver was picked up, I kicked off auto search for channels but nothing was found :-( Have i done everything ok?

Do you have an aerial attached to the "RF aerial in" on the Sky receiver? If so disconnect it from the Sky receiver and connect it directly to the Saorview receiver's RF in and check for a signal. Does your aerial pick up the existing 4 analogue channels, RTÉ, TV3, TG4?

The Cush wrote: »
    Do you have an aerial attached to the "RF aerial in" on the Sky receiver? If so disconnect it from the Sky receiver and connect it directly to the Saorview receiver's RF in and check for a signal. Does your aerial pick up the existing 4 analogue channels, RTÉ, TV3, TG4?
    I checked my sky box and I have dish input 1 & 2. Can I test with these?

The dish inputs are no use for Saorview. It's been mentioned in the majority of replies to this thread that you need an aerial capable of receiving terrestrial signals.

Peter Rhea wrote: »
    The dish inputs are no use for Saorview. It's been mentioned in the majority of replies to this thread that you need an aerial capable of receiving terrestrial signals.

I'm lost now lads :-( Based on info in this thread I bought a 20m cable to go from the RF out from my sky box to the RF in of the receiver box. Are you saying that this will not work? Thanks!!

Not without an aerial attached to either the RF aerial input on the Sky receiver or the Saorview receiver.

http://www.saorview.ie/make-the-switch/
    http://www.rtenl.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/Saorview-DTT-October2010.pdf
    http://www.rtenl.ie/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/connecting_a_television_set_to_saorview.pdf
    http://www.rtenl.ie/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/RTÉNL-SAORVIEW-FAQs-May-2012-Rev-7.1.pdf

The RF out from the Sky box consists of 2 components; (1) the output of the modulator within the receiver producing a UHF analogue copy of the satellite channel currently selected which can be viewed via a tv's analogue tuner & (2) if you connect a suitable feed to the RF-in socket, be it a terrestrial aerial or the output from another modulator (e.g. another Sky box or a VCR), it will combine this signal with its own modulated output. You only need to ensure that none of the UHF channels in use interfere with each other.

There's nothing in any of the replies here that would suggest a 20m cable from your Sky box would enable Saorview reception.

Thanks for your patience, I have been trying to figure all this out, a lot of it goes over my head.

I got a indoor aerial and connected in to the DTR and I can get the 8 Saorview channels on the 2nd TV now.

I would like to connect the main (sky box) TV to the 2nd one to be able to watch the same sky channel on the 2nd TV (and change channels via a magic yoke).

Saorview on the 2nd is picked up on av1. So maybe when the skybox is connected correctly I will be able to find the sky channel on av2. The problem for me is connecting correctly. From reading the above I am still unsure of how to connect. There is a RF loop through on the DTR, which I would to get a gender adapter to connect to form the RF out of the sky. if I do that will it pick it up? Thanks!

RF2 on the Skybox is the output to use with magic eyes. Since you have an aerial connected to the DTT receiver, all you have to do is run a coax. cable from RF2 to the 2nd tv's aerial input (with the eye connected inline). The Sky channel is tuned on the tv's analogue tuner, not the AV inputs.

See here, the 1st setup shown is all you need (how to connect for 1 extra tv).

I got a indoor aerial and connected in to the DTR and I can get the 8 Saorview channels on the 2nd TV now.

Great some positive progress!
    I would like to connect the main (sky box) TV to the 2nd one to be able to watch the same sky channel on the 2nd TV (and change channels via a magic yoke).

OK. So the problem we have now is only how to get a Sky magic eye setup.

1) Do you have the magic eye yet? If so can you post make and model?

2) The coax needs to go from the RF2 of the Sky box to the aerial input on the TV upstairs (not to the saorview box). The RF2 does not go to the scart.

However just before it goes into the TV it first needs to go in and out of the remote eye. So it is

SkyRF2
    Eye ---- back of TV upstairs

The setup guide is here:
    http://www.sky-remotes.com/setup-sky-magic-eye.shtml

Thanks!! Moving the aerial to the tv did the trick. I'm sorted for the euros :-) I have some fine tuning questions:

1. Watching Saorview with the indoor aerial on top of the tv, the picture is good but flickers/bleeds every minute or two and the sounds went once too. In the shop they told me this is normal that the signal is not fully sorted yet. Is that true? Would I benefit from extending the indoor aerial (I am not in a potion to put a roof aerial up) 5m into the attic?

2. I have the 20m coax running form RF out on the sky box straight to the aerial in for the 2nd tube tv, at the moment the 2 TVs are sitting side by side. The resolution of the sky channel is very fuzzy and it's crackly, it's marginly better that when I have hooked them up using an av sender. Is that down to the length of the coax? Anyway I can improve this?

3. I have not yet picked up a magic eye, something like the strand magic eye for 7 euros on ebay ok?

1. Watching Saorview with the indoor aerial on top of the tv, the picture is good but flickers/bleeds every minute or two and the sounds went once too. In the shop they told me this is normal that the signal is not fully sorted yet.

No this is a lie. Indoor aerials work fine when the signal is strong. In many cases the signal is not strong indoors.
    Is that true? Would I benefit from extending the indoor aerial (I am not in a potion to put a roof aerial up) 5m into the attic?

It depends if the new location has a better signal or not. Generally the signal would be better in the attic. Does the Saorview box show signal level and quality. If so try it in lots of places and leave it wherever quality is best.
    2. I have the 20m coax running form RF out on the sky box straight to the aerial in for the 2nd tube tv, at the moment the 2 TVs are sitting side by side. The resolution of the sky channel is very fuzzy and it's crackly, it's marginly better that when I have hooked them up using an av sender. Is that down to the length of the coax? Anyway I can improve this?

The picture should be 100% perfect. Do not accept anything less. Firstly remove any lead from the aerial in on the back of the Sky box. If the picture suddently improves to 100% then you need to change the "RF channel number" from 68 to a different number. Then re-tune in the TV to find Sky again.

http://www.sky-remotes.com/setup-sky-magic-eye.shtml

If there is nothing connected to the aerial in on your Sky box, or if it makes no difference then still try the RF channel number.

If that does not help you have a dodgy connection on the cable or the TV needs fine tuning/retuning.
    3. I have not yet picked up a magic eye, something like the strand magic eye for 7 euros on ebay ok?

Cheap ones are probably OK. Try to get one with "F" connectors so the leads don't fall out. Also get the correct leads. You also need a second remote. -There are slightly different remotes for recording, non recording, HD etc.

1. Watching Saorview with the indoor aerial on top of the tv, the picture is good but flickers/bleeds every minute or two and the sounds went once too. In the shop they told me this is normal that the signal is not fully sorted yet. Is that true? Would I benefit from extending the indoor aerial (I am not in a potion to put a roof aerial up) 5m into the attic?

It's probably normal for an indoor aerial where the signal strength/quality is reduced because of its location, indoor aerials are too susceptible to localised physical and electrical interference. The Saorview network is designed around the use of a rooftop aerial. Moving the aerial to the attic should improve reception. For most Saorview transmitters they are running at full power bar a few near the border.

Check that the RF2 UHF output frequency/channel isn't conflicting with any of the UHF frequencies coming in on the aerial.

Thanks! Yikes, trying to hang in there.
    zg3409 wrote: »
    The picture should be 100% perfect. Do not accept anything less. Firstly remove any lead from the aerial in on the back of the Sky box. If the picture suddently improves to 100% then you need to change the "RF channel number" from 68 to a different number. Then re-tune in the TV to find Sky again.

I'm missing something. If I remove the coax from the back of the sky box how will I get any signal? Does "remove any lead" mean something else? I did no tuning, it came in one channel 0, it sounds like I should try and tune...
    The Cush wrote: »
    Check that the RF2 UHF output frequency/channel isn't conflicting with any of the UHF frequencies coming in on the aerial.
    Ok. How would I do that?

I'm missing something. If I remove the coax from the back of the sky box how will I get any signal? Does "remove any lead" mean something else? I did no tuning, it came in one channel 0, it sounds like I should try and tune...

If you remove the aerial and the Sky selected channel improves on the second TV that would prove that one of the aerial frequencies is conflicting with the RF2 frequency/channel.
    Ok. How would I do that?

http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-hd-supertelly/46772-bad-rf2-picture-quality.html.

OP, no harm to you, but you'd be well advised to get someone in to set things up.

There are a few on this forum who will to & fro with you forever & you'll get nothing done.

Thanks! Yikes, trying to hang in there.

Ok. How would I do that?

Yes try and tune first. If that does not work then ... at the back of the box there are lots of connections. Is anything connected to Aerial IN. There may not be. That is the one I am saying is if there is a lead connected to it, then remove it and see if it helps.

As for Ronnies comment, yes many times it's just easier to pay someone. For an installer it's a 1 minute job.

I have the 20m coax running form RF out on the sky box straight to the aerial in for the 2nd tube tv, at the moment the 2 TVs are sitting side by side. The resolution of the sky channel is very fuzzy and it's crackly

What part of the country are you in? It's possible that if your Saorview signal is strong enough to work with an indoor aerial, it's strong enough to be picked up on the 20m cable along with any analogue signals present & interfere with the Skybox RF out.

2 tvs side by side mightn't be a great idea either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 kt87

I've got an old sky box connected to a non saorview tv (tv1) to receive english free to air channels and I have sky magic eye connected to this for another tv (tv2). The problem is I have now bought a saorview box and do not know how to connect this to my tv (tv1) so that the other tv (tv2) doesn't lose the sky magic eye connection. Also tv2 is receiving the saorview channels through the connection from the sky magic eye. How do I set up the saorview box to tv1 but still recieve the saorview channels on tv2 and still recieve the english channels? (Hope this makes sense!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭winston_1

Connect the Saorview box to the VCR scart on the Sky box.

kt87 wrote: »
    I've got an old sky box connected to a non saorview tv (tv1) to receive english free to air channels and I have sky magic eye connected to this for another tv (tv2). The problem is I have now bought a saorview box and do not know how to connect this to my tv (tv1) so that the other tv (tv2) doesn't lose the sky magic eye connection. Also tv2 is receiving the saorview channels through the connection from the sky magic eye. How do I set up the saorview box to tv1 but still recieve the saorview channels on tv2 and still recieve the english channels? (Hope this makes sense!!)

I think you are saying TV1 is not saorview compatable, but TV2 is.

You need to connect the terrestrial aerial straight into "aerial in" labelled conenctor on the Sky box. There is probably nothing connected to this connector now.

Then if TV2 is Saorview compatable it will get the signal and the Sky signal through the same lead.

For TV one, connect the RF1 out of the Sky box into the Saorview box. Then connect the Saorview box to the TV using HDMI. Connect the Sky box to TV1 also using a second HDMI lead. Thus in this way TV1 gets both Sky and Saorview through different HDMI leads.

So the saorview aerial goes into the Sky box, via Aerial in, The Sky box itself splits the signal to RF1 and RF2 .RF2 is used for magic eye while RF1 feeds to Saorview box and on to TV via HDMI (assuming your TV has two HDMI ports, and you Sky box is HD)