Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What essentials do I need for my car

• 24-01-2012 12:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

What is essential to keep in my car? I had loads of crap like teddies and cushions so i'm dumping all that but in my boot I had this car kit from argos as I got it as a present with stuff like jump leads, a torch, first aid kit and one of them silver blanket thing and a few spanner or tooly type things. I've never used it but should I keep it in there its heavy but its in a bag so its grand not having loads of bits everywhere but I dont have a big boot and its a bit big???

Also Does anybody know a good air freshener that won't take chunks out of my dashboard?

I've witnessed what the yankee ones do and I've never really liked them ones you get in garages (can't remember the name, I'm sure you all know the brand I'm on about)

As well does anyone know if them carbins goods or will a good old plastic bag do the job? I was looking at http://www.richbrook-styling.co.uk/car-bin/car-bin---with-roll-of-30-bags-inside/146 but I dont want someone sitting in the back having a load of rubbish in their face. thoughts?

Thanks goys for helping a girl out I'm not great with the oul cars as long as it moves I'm happy but it was in desperate need of a good clean ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Firstly, what ar have you got? I ask this cause that would dictate how much stuff you can carry etc..

This is my list in the Beemer;

First aid kit (standard factory issue for my car) added band-aids to it,
    Little "break-down kit with tow rope, jumper cables and I added a couple of high vizs,
    A blanket (if car breaks down, have to carry goods that I don't want ruining the seats),
    Tool kit (use for work),
    Dashboard wipes,
    Spare air fresheners,
    Couple of pens and notepad,
    Black bags, (ya never know when you have to bag body parts ;) ),

Bought a spacesaver tyre and kit as my car doesn't come with one (best 300 quid I spent!)

I have a little alcove on the left and right inside the boot so with a bit of double sided sticky Velcro I fastened a little plastic box with secureable lid to put some of these in.

Regarding the bin, what about a plastic bag and just throw it out when yer finished or re-use it if you just had paper & plastic bottles in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,545 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mini air compressor, very handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

After experiencing a break down on an unlit motorway at night, I now carry a high vis vest, high vis trousers, high vis hat, high vis gloves, etc.. :D

Keep the breakdown kit even its a bit bulky, you may need it one day and it's no use to you at home.

As for a car bin, they're a waste of money imo. I just stick any rubbish in the car door and remove it when I'm getting out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Pump for tyres.
    Reflective warning triangle in case of breakdown.
    Wheel wrench or wheel spider, one with plenty of leverage. The ones that come with the car generally don't have that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭vetstu

A headlamp, a torch is no good cause you need two hands to change a tyre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Pique

Emergency dynamo torch (no need for batteries).
    Window hammer/seatbelt cutter (keep within reach of drivers seat, like in seatback pocket etc.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Reflective triangle: great for when you break down, and need to let cars approaching you that a) you're there, and b) you're broke down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I have:

Windup torch
    Water
    Food (Pringles, Twix & a few oat bars)
    200 piece toolkit
    Highviz vest
    Oil
    Carb spray
    Disposable camera
    Spare SIM
    Tyre pump
    Multitool
    Emergency blanket & poncho (x2)
    Books
    Hand warmers
    Glowsticks

The list just keeps going...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

things you don't need ......

any clue what you are doing.
    a drivers licence
    courtesy
    lights at any time
    rear view mirrors ( useless )
    your glasses - you'll be fine !
    to stop at red lights
    the left lane on a motorway unless leaving at that exit.

sorry to hijack the thread op....very nearly just got creamed by some tart to busy "driving the car" too look where she was going !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

A definite must for every car is a warning triangle and high vis vest- I've seen several (vulnerable) motorists changing wheels in the dark in the hard shoulders of the M50 and M7 in recent weeks. Stick a pair of leather gardening gloves in with the spare and a bin liner to kneel on to keep your hands and clothes clean. A few cables ties and spare bulbs- especially a main beam H7 or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

A definite must for every car is a warning triangle and high vis vest- I've seen several (vulnerable) motorists changing wheels in the dark in the hard shoulders of the M50 and M7 in recent weeks. Stick a pair of leather gardening gloves in with the spare and a bin liner to kneel on to keep your hands and clothes clean. A few cables ties and spare bulbs- especially a main beam H7 or whatever.

Warning triangles aren't meant to be used on motorways, you are supposed to pull into the hard shoulder, put on the hazards and/or parking lights, and walk to use an emergency phone apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Well this is what I have in mine.

Hi viz vest
    Warning triangle
    gloves
    tyre iron + Lock nut key
    long jump leads (short ones are a pain)
    wind up torch
    Tow rope
    waterproof picnic blanket (great to change a tyre in the wet)
    Selection on Bulbs
    this tool kit from halfords (Link)
    Duck tape
    Note book and pens
    First aid kit + emergency blanket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

My list
    1. Change for tolls
    2. First aid + tool kit
    3. Little pump
    4. Can of tyre goo.
    5. Flashlight (wind up from IKEA)
    6. High vis jacket.
    7. 1ltr. Oil and paper funnel.
    8. adapter for locking wheel nut.
    9. Microfiber cloth
    10. Pen and paper.
    11. Phone charger
    12. Sometimes a can of petrol (for reasons I will not go into :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Gerard93

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Mini air compressor, very handy

Are these any good, any picture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭Jemmy

Confab wrote: »
    I have:

Windup torch
    Water
    Food (Pringles, Twix & a few oat bars)
    200 piece toolkit
    Highviz vest
    Oil
    Carb spray
    Disposable camera
    Spare SIM
    Tyre pump
    Multitool
    Emergency blanket & poncho (x2)
    Books
    Hand warmers
    Glowsticks

The list just keeps going...

You living in Antarctica or some remote land?! I mean being cautious is one thing but really?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Volovo

First Aid kit and a good torch are top of my list, along with the obvious spare wheel and jack! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Gerard93 wrote: »
    Are these any good, any picture?

Yep, one of the better things you can carry now that petrol stations have to remove the air pumps because of muppets. No need for pictures. You can get them in Argos for about E20 or Lidl/Aldi do them regularly.

You can spend a bit more for one which is a power pack to jump start a car, but they need to be kept charged and you know it won't be when you need it. Just buy jump leads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

A good thread this, given me an idea or two of things I'm missing. Since the car comes with no spare or even the room for one ...
    • Two large cans of Tyreweld
    • 12V Compressor
    • Extendable Wheel Brace
    • Tool Kit
    • First Aid Kit
    • Fire Extinguisher
    • Warning Triangle
    • Digital Tyre Gauge
    • Locking Nut
    • 1L of 5W30
    • Magnetic LED light
    • Hi-Vis vests for Driver & Passengers
    • Blanket
    • Rain Jacket, Gloves & Hat
    • Spare Bulbs & Fuses
    • Bungee Cords
    • Roadside Assistance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I keep €20 in the sleeve of the car's manual for fuel/chinese takeaway emergencies :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

Paddy@CIRL wrote: »
    A good thread this, given me an idea or two of things I'm missing. Since the car comes with no spare or even the room for one ...

Volvo?

Ive a good list of stuff in the car similar to above, the one ive used the most is the mini compressor. Very handy little yoke. Also if you have hubcaps that are cable tied on you'll need a little knife or scissors.

With the list of stuff i have, I got a puncture recently and couldn't get the wheel off so ive added a 2 pound lump hammer onto my "to get" list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

focus_mad wrote: »

Black bags, (ya never know when you have to bag body parts ;) ),

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Lads ye are only living in Ireland the amount of gear ye are packing would be only used when snowed in in a very remote place or on a very long road trip. Neither can happen in Ireland as there is always a house nearby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Jemmy wrote: »
    You living in Antarctica or some remote land?! I mean being cautious is one thing but really?!

I like to be prepared. Next up for inclusion is a baseball bat after a slight incident.

Edit: The incident was me forgetting my baseball bat. You'd be surprised how many baseball/softball clubs there are in Dublin.

Confab wrote: »
    I like to be prepared. Next up for inclusion is a baseball bat after a slight incident.

Dual use for a 2 pound lump hammer there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Hihello

wow some fair to you all who carry that much stuff in your car. I thought I was bad with this little bag I had. I had a look in it and there is some good stuff in that bag. Also discussed this with my boyfriend on the phone yesterday and he comes home with this tonight haha

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Essential-Care-Girls-Danielle-McCormick/dp/0955732913

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I've a nice wee mod coming up to install a fire extinguisher under the drivers seat. Factory one is like €150, €9.99 for Aldis finest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

With the list of stuff i have, I got a puncture recently and couldn't get the wheel off so ive added a 2 pound lump hammer onto my "to get" list.

Wouldn't bother with a hammer. Swing the spare at the wheel that won't come off and it should dislodge it. Rubber to rubber contact is going to be a lot easier on a car than bashing it with a hammer too.

This stroke of genius came to me after 40 minutes of waiting at the side of the M1 for breakdown assistance on a cold, wet night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

In my boot

Some tools
    Jump cables
    Work gloves
    Silicon oil
    Some empty bags for shopping
    Extra light bulbs
    One of them first aid kits from Aldi

and more I can't remember now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭simit

If you can't figure out what you need by yourself, then maybe you should stick to getting the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

simit wrote: »
    If you can't figure out what you need by yourself, then maybe you should stick to getting the bus.

And if you can't post in motors without being helpful, I suggest that you should stick to after hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Pack of overnight stuff:
    Toothbrush, Toothpaste, Spray, T-Shirt, Jocks, Socks.

Luminous Jacket
    Warning Triangle
    Ancient POS Nokia Phone, battery lasts forever in the thing.
    Working Spare wheel
    Spare Bulbs
    WD-40
    Silicon Spray
    Lock De-Icer
    Telescopic Ice Scraper
    Suction pump (No builtin Primer on the V50)
    And a small toolkit.

Thats in the boot.

In the Glove Box I have a Parking disk, Insurance and License and APK papers,thats it really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

In the Glove Box I have a Parking disk, Insurance and License and APK papers,thats it really.
    That reminds me of this old thread
    What's in your glove box?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Working Spare wheel

:confused:What's a working spare wheel and how is it different to a spare wheel?:confused:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,823 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

After seeing some poor schmuck trying to change his tyre in the pouring rain on the M50 one day, I threw in an old set of oilskins too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

Fags and a bottle of coke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭whippet

vetstu wrote: »
    A headlamp, a torch is no good cause you need two hands to change a tyre

my skoda has a little rechargeable magnetic one in the boot .. just for situations like these!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

Volvo?

Ive a good list of stuff in the car similar to above, the one ive used the most is the mini compressor. Very handy little yoke. Also if you have hubcaps that are cable tied on you'll need a little knife or scissors.

E90 BMW - I know it came originally with Runflat tyres but I'd rather drive the car with concrete filled tyres than RFTs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,962 ✭✭✭Greenman

To add to the list.:)

In a small bag, surgical gloves. For tyre changes.

A fleece to keep you warm if you're broken down in the cold.

Bungees and ratchet straps. For when I have my trailer.

A net. To cover the trailer if I'm carrying loose items.

A proper wheel brace.

Route map book of Europe.

Front windscreen protector of frost and sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

R.O.R wrote: »
    Wouldn't bother with a hammer. Swing the spare at the wheel that won't come off and it should dislodge it. Rubber to rubber contact is going to be a lot easier on a car than bashing it with a hammer too.

This stroke of genius came to me after 40 minutes of waiting at the side of the M1 for breakdown assistance on a cold, wet night.

Jesus how many of us cam swing a spare wheel round like that.
    If the wheel won't come off just screw in the studs half way, let the jack down slowly and the weight of the car will dislodge the wheel, if not slowly move car back/forward with studs half loose.
    It's becoming a common problem though. My 02 passat is a dog to get the rear wheels off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

bbam wrote: »
    Jesus how many of us cam swing a spare wheel round like that.
    If the wheel won't come off just screw in the studs half way, let the jack down slowly and the weight of the car will dislodge the wheel, if not slowly move car back/forward with studs half loose.
    It's becoming a common problem though. My 02 passat is a dog to get the rear wheels off.

Swing it between your legs, not around your head :D

Took all the nuts off the wife's Volvo and drove it forwards and backwards (gently mind) but the wheel stayed firmly on.

R.O.R wrote: »

There was no Rubber left on it :( Dark wet evening on the M7, Bet it with the spare for twenty minutes after trying to dislodge it with my heel and looking for some timber for leverage for 40 mins before that. In the end three taps of a lump hammer on the inside of the wheel did it. (steel wheel)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

There was no Rubber left on it :( Dark wet evening on the M7, Bet it with the spare for twenty minutes after trying to dislodge it with my heel and looking for some timber for leverage for 40 mins before that. In the end three taps of a lump hammer on the inside of the wheel did it. (steel wheel)

Kicking the sides of the back wheels on my old car worked, entertained a crowd of people in the work car park one evening too!

I've a mini air compressor, a warning triangle, torch, book, a long wheel brace, oil, and that's about it at the minute.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Right so, my list:

Snow chains from LIDL, will tell you how they work once it snows, but I live on a hill and last two winters where tricky without.
    Jump leads
    12v compressor
    Standard jack and tools along with the now standard issue donut wheel (foam no good if the tire is shredded)
    Tow rope
    Bluetooth headset (looks dorky, but safety first and it is so much nicer than trying to juggle a phone while driving)
    Insulated coffee mug (essential for that 7am one hour drive to work)
    Ice scraper
    Fold-up map in the glove box
    Pair of work gloves
    Piece of paper and a pen
    Sunglasses
    Blanket in the back for the dogs
    And last but not least, my phone as my mp3 player, Irish radio sucks ass.

And trust me on this, no matter what you will have packed in your car, when something goes wrong, you will need the ONE bit you haven't got.
    Once you get that piece, you will never need it again.
    The snow chains are a good case in point.:D

On things a lot of drivers don't need:

Tax, NCT, Insurance, lights, exhaust, a working headgasket or matching tires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Hihello

simit wrote: »

Get a life, you obviously don't have one if you feel the need to post pointless comments on the internet. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 904 ✭✭✭yourpics

Tow Rope
    Jump Leads
    First Aid Kit
    Fire Extinguisher
    Torch
    Gloves
    Hi-Vis Jacket (can also be used to kneel on)

Tool kit of my own (screwdrivers, spanners, sockets, torx keys, fuses, duct tape, cable ties)

Also a steel bar for extra leverage when changing a wheel.

Most of the smaller stuff can be kept under the spare wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

I've a nice wee mod coming up to install a fire extinguisher under the drivers seat. Factory one is like €150, €9.99 for Aldis finest!

You telling everyone about this ;)

Yer handywork is good :D