Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frontline 23 January

• 23-01-2012 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭

Anybody watching?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Yup, a lot of common sense being spoken in the five minutes I've watched it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭baldbear

I'm watching.:D

My water is undrinkable, the stink of chemicals makes me tea stink. They can feck right off....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

the reason why it was so expensive for the water was cause the pipes were cracked and not up to standards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I have all the vegetables lined up to throw at the telly when whingebag Clare Daly pipes up.

baldbear wrote: »

Good I thought I was going to a be quoting my own posts all night:D

No problem paying for waste - it's a costly service
    No problem paying for water - providing the pipes are fixed

Eh, Mortgage Broker not doing the stereotypical view of mortgage brokers any help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

if people are this agitated about paying one hundred euro , what will the response be like when we are paying ten times that , are people this ignorant about the fiscal state of the country ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Keedowah

It seems like everything is going to have a separate charge now - where do our taxes go besides paying off unsecured bond holders and ministers' perks?

I do think that water should be charged - but it needs to be a good standard, and I fear that it will just rise and rise with little justification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I'd like to know why local authority tenants are exempt from paying the household charge? They make use of local amenities and facilities as well. Why should they get off without paying this charge???

They abolished it for votes i'd say..

ah here is the bossy frauline , telling us pixie irish how we need to behave ourselves

You must pay for ze vater, you must pay ze taxes, and you must pay ze bondholders so that our banks dont collapse, you must obey ze orders at all times...

Hitler-salute3.jpg

Ja Voll

Not sure what the purpose of comparing us to other countries is. "ah sure somewhere else it's worse, so just put up with it".

I guess German taxes are going in to the same black hole ours go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nudger

I have all the vegetables lined up to throw at the telly when whingebag Clare Daly pipes up.

Bombs away!

So this is ww3, finance style!

nudger wrote: »
    Bombs away!

Once again she doesnt have a clue what she's talking about... very basic, tabloid, populist knowledge of economics... She was on debating with Moor MacDowall a few weeks ago, and she was embarrassing...

Jaysus Packie Bonnar has gone very grey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

The default look on the faces of The Frontline Audience is 'It seemed like a good idea to apply for tickets, at the time'

Not sure what the purpose of comparing us to other countries is. "ah sure somewhere else it's worse, so just put up with it".

I guess German taxes are going in to the same black hole ours go.

Yeah sick of every argument is "Oh the French or German do it this way", we are not French or German (yet)!

Are the Germans paying back for the mess their bankers made - isn't that us?

The audience don't look happy at all at all.

You must pay for ze vater, you must pay ze taxes, and you must pay ze bondholders so that our banks dont collapse, you must obey ze orders at all times...

Hitler-salute3.jpg

Ja Voll

ive said it before , most stereotypes are based on truth

A shortage of water in a country where it never stops raining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Pat's getting a good sense of humour in his old age.

Pat's not being very fair tonight.. He must have read Joe Duffy's book on "Facetious Broadcasting"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭artful_codger

i hope there's a few audience members from Tyrone in tonight.

Irish politics is just so depressing, I don't think I can watch any more.

Each politician using short-term, populist approaches that benefits themselves and not the population, either present or future generations.

Good night all, try not to get too worked up or ye won't sleep!

Can I apply for the regulator job or is some relation of the Government getting it?

i hope there's a few audience members from Tyrone in tonight.

They're probably all still busy kicking Denis "Shine" O'Sullivan...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Why are these cretins still given a platform?

Can't wait for the count to get his spek in.

i shudder to think of how us paddies will react to be charged for flushing a toilet.

fly sh*tting, for starters.

FF getting on the " exempt the pensioners " side of the arguement good and early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The Property Tax is just to pay the bondholders, pure and simple. I am not paying for someone else's gambling losses.

Like SF and the bin tax campaign don't pay ..... where is that campaign at now - I haven't seen anybody lately throwing bags into the back of the bin truck.

Glad they got the fella in from ComparetheMeerkat.com - he seems to be talking sense.

The Property Tax is just to pay the bondholders, pure and simple. I am not paying for someone else's gambling losses.

its also to pay for croke park

irishh_bob wrote: »
    its also to pay for croke park

Are they building another stand?

yeah , going to be called the jack o connor end

oh just FKKKKKKK off Fianna Fáíl, shouldnt even be given a chair on this panel..

probably got huge grants for all of that work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

If anyone is nostalgic for 'Questions and Answers' on a Monday Night, John Bowman is on Vincent Browne now.

She should of read the official book , She hasn't a clue.:eek:

She needed a whole minute to dodge the question..

just shut up and pay your money so we don't have to upset the Unions.

taxpayer scum.

labour party press secretary in the house i see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

Is it me or is it Kenny doing most of the rabble rousing? You can tell he doesn't care about it at all, he's just saying what he thinks people will agree with.

When will they be discussing the new broadcast charge? I bet Kenny won't be so vocal about that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

taxpayer scum.

We have to pay the Germans, Angela said so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Cherrycola

My water is undrinkable, the stink of chemicals makes me tea stink. They can feck right off....

This is my huge issue with water charges. Our water supply is a disgrace, its so full of lime.

Only half the town is run off this source, so depending which side of the canal you live on, you either have fabulous crystal clear, soft drinkable water, making your hair shiny, skin soft, and and tea taste divine, or you have the hardest water i have ever come across, ruining washing machines, kettles, dishwashers, tanks, electric showers, causing hair to be brittle and dry, and aggravating skin conditions like eczema and psoriasis, and meaning that we have to install water softeners, at an extra cost to ourselves to maintain and top up with salt, never mind the replacement appliances!

They have their sh*te if they think i am paying them one red cent for that crap water, that is only fit for flushing toilets, when other towns people a half a mile away dont have these extra expenses!

God it makes me so angry!!!!:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Is it me or is it Kenny doing most of the rabble rousing? You can tell he doesn't care about it at all, he's just saying what he thinks people will agree with.

When will they be discussing the new broadcast charge? I bet Kenny won't be so vocal about that one.

Kenny is acting the populist maggot. He does the same with the bondholder payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭MrCreosote

His job is to stimulate debate and represent the popular viewpoint. Whether or not he cares about the point he is making doesn't matter.

"Populist maggot" as the good loser says- yeah right, he's a consummate professional. Just because you don't like what he does, doesn't mean he's not great at it.