Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deaf fox???

• 22-01-2012 7:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

went out to a flooded area this morning that we had flighted yesterday with no luck.flood was down but there is a few drains that hold duck but no luck this morning.
    the uncle was walking towards me and started waving like mad telling me to cross:confused:
    i thought he had seen duck on a splash of water so had to make my way to the gap to cross and headed down the field.
    was walking down the field and was thinking fs arm was going to fall off with all the waving. i kept moving and thought he said fox:confused:
    kept moving down the field thinking a duck would rise from under my feet but with me squelching through the waterlogged ground wondering why it hadnt risen,then i got the flash of a red fox trotting ahead:eek:
    he was a bit out of range so started to walk quickly after him thinking he would run away but no, so i started to run (probaly sounding like an elephant going over the ground) and was gaining on him just as he got to a fallen tree and i fired two shots which hit him and he came walking towards me:eek:
    im dying with the cold water running down from my eyes with the cold wind, trying to find catridges in my pockets, while kepping an eye on foxy.
    got gun loaded and had lost sight of him so went to the rushes were id last seen him and he was trotting away so gave him two number 6s which stopped him in his tracks.:)
    so the big question remains why didnt he hear me,f or scent us or the dog seeing as the wind was blowing to him
    f said he was down on his belly stalking a snipe or somthing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

maybe he was blocked up with a cold:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

maybe he was blocked up with a cold:D:D

jesus tack id say the no 6,s are after clearing that promlem up for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Probably preoccupied with dinner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 grylls243

ye lad defo a bad cold ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭thekevin4540

i was pheasant shooting today and was walking up a river and i spoted a fox on the other side of the river eating something i dont know how he didnt see or hear me becouse thare are cleare banks and i was walking through rushes and boggy ground so i gave him a bb into the head and that stopped him he ran about twenty feet and dropped stone dead i crossed the river and got him a big dog fox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭kemen

maybe they all got abit of action lst nyt and were day dreamin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭Dupont

kemen wrote: »
    maybe they all got abit of action lst nyt and were day dreamin :D

jays i wouldnt say that i was wide awake;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

never that lucky with a fox but the other night i had two rabbits that ran straight into the lamp,turned off lamp for split second to stop them and twack! anyone ever see this?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Seasons lads. They are very very preoccupied, towards the end of Jan is the height of the mating season, they are desperate, vocal, braver and they have big blue balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

John_Rambo wrote: »
    , they are desperate, vocal, braver and they have big blue balls.

Makes me glad I'm not a teenager anymore:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Makes me glad I'm not a teenager anymore:D;)

Exactly!! We have all seen teenage young fella's going overboard showing off to girls! They get very brave! Currently I have some pretty vocal and very conspicuous fox dogs around my house at night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭PippaSpaniel

At this time of year there guard is down and don't seem to get spooked as easy also if food was on his mind they focus on that i have shot a few foxes that wouldn't budge and you could see a hare,woodcock or pheasant just in front of them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

They are in a mind of their own at this time of the year. We lamped a dog and vixen the other night and the fecker just continued on and didnt get off her till he finished the deed.:pac::pac:
    no safe shot though.

Who would ye have gone for, him or her? :D:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

ladies 1st it's hard to run with a hardon ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

They eventually took off running and he was much much slower. Defo could have got the two of them if the shots were safe. Do foxes lock like dogs and wolves :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

yep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭kemen

yes they do! i came across 2 on road 1 night locked an was an almighty struggle to break free! they seen me bout 500 meters away and only got apart bout 20 meters. lucky escape!

bout this time last year i shot 3 foxes and missed 1 in the 1 feild! after checking the first 1 was a vixen and other 2 wer dogs! was unbelievably sight to see them bombing towards her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

charlie10 wrote: »
    never that lucky with a fox but the other night i had two rabbits that ran straight into the lamp,turned off lamp for split second to stop them and twack! anyone ever see this?:confused:

yes hares tend to do it alot when you out lamping foxes , and ive seen a young deer do it while i was out checking a cow calving in a feild one night. deers was only about 3 months old i recon !