Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perks to being a Garda Reserve

• 22-01-2012 1:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭

I moved this because I put it in the wrong forum....

I have at last been accepted into the Garda Reserve......I couldn't be happier and being a part of such an organisation is an honour for me but was just wondering (as an aside) are there any extra perks to having "the badge", along the lines of getting in free to events and clubs, money off car insurance,etc?

Not important but just thought I would ask for the craic!

Has anyone any stories as to how it became "beneficial" to flash the badge or explain your status as a member of AGS? Just heard a story of a member who showed his reserve badge in a nightclub and got in FOC......the cheek of some people, have to admire his guts though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

I've no interest in joining AGS but seen this thread appear on the homepage.

Is it not a little corrupt to expect perks for being a guard?

As a regular citizen I'm kind of pissed off that recruits to the reserve may be expecting better treatment. People volunteer in many other organisations and they aren't given little perks. Also, you're a reserve. Not the local super in a small town.

It says a lot about your attitude to think along those lines. Maybe when the romance of the new uniform has worn off you'll see police work for what it really is. Tough and unforgiving.

Cop on.
    Pun intended.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Dean0088 wrote: »

As a regular citizen I'm kind of pissed off that recruits to the reserve may be expecting better treatment. People volunteer in many other organisations and they aren't given little perks. Also, you're a reserve. Not the local super in a small town.

It says a lot about your attitude to think along those lines. Maybe when the romance of the new uniform has worn off you'll see police work for what it really is. Tough and unforgiving.

Cop on.
    Pun intended.

Exactly. Nice to see the OPs motives in signing up are pure. Maybe he should become a politician next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭Armaghmagic

Dean0088 wrote: »

Cop on.
    Pun intended.

If I was going into it for the perks....... I WOULD NOT be going into it at all!
    It has taken 5 years to get to this point so I am not taking it as a given that it is all fun and games or that it will be at any stage!

I just meant this to be light hearted! I did like the pun though!

Indicative of the sense of entitlement that the public sector has - even the 'volunteers'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

Don't feed the trolls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭dubdamo

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Indicative of the sense of entitlement that the public sector has - even the 'volunteers'.
    Quite a sweeping statement to make about tens of tousands of people that you don't even know.

I will be honoured to be a member of the force, even at a volunteer level......so no I am not expecting special treatment as being in a position to don the uniform is perk enough! It was just as an "aside".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 nomura

Has anyone any stories as to how it became "beneficial" to flash the badge or explain your status as a member of AGS? Just heard a story of a member who showed his reserve badge in a nightclub and got in FOC......the cheek of some people, have to admire his guts though!

You could try some of the tricks alot of my Garda buds use

Q at Nightclub / Nightclub Entry Fee :

Flash Badge skip Q dont pay in. Works: sometimes

Tolled Roads

Flash badge - free pass. Works: soemtimes but pesky toll booth free roads are the problem now the overhead scanners cant see your a member of AGS

Credit Union

Not sure if you'll get in but cheap loans so you can get that next Buy-To-Let apartment in Smithfield to add to the few you have already

Public Transport

Flash badge, get on for free Works: sometimes usually Nitelink is best

Haha ive heard of a few of those being tried alright.....dont think I would have the nerve to try it though! I have heard that Gardaí get cheaper car insurance but ive been told this is only full time members that have completed all the driver training!

dubdamo wrote: »
    Quite a sweeping statement to make about tens of tousands of people that you don't even know.

I've spent years working on site in the public sector across numerous government departments.

I am also a substitute teacher and get no entitlements either so I am not expecting anything from being a Garda Reserve, was just as a matter of interest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

I have at last been accepted into the Garda Reserve......I couldn't be happier and being a part of such an organisation is an honour for me but was just wondering (as an aside) are there any extra perks to having "the badge", along the lines of getting in free to events and clubs, money off car insurance,etc?

Tell me you are for real, you post this stuff on an open forum, for everyone and their mother to read, not to mention the Media moguls, who will have a field day with this, even if it is a bit of craic, if you want to become a member of AGS your first priority is to grow up, and remember everything you post on forums like this is open to misinterpretation, and taken out of context and even get twisted and end up in the local rag.

Ie reserves just want to join to get "freebies" now how would that look in the tabloid, just from a stupid remark you made.

The Reserves have been getting bad press, and then you go and open up a stupid can of worms about flashing badges, if that is all you want from this you are joining the wrong club.

Learn what you should and should not post that is NO1 priority, and what you posted above, is defo not 1 of them that is for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

My own guess is this could be someone fishing for a story - I'm a cynic admittedly.

I appreciate how this looks......

So to take the heat off myself and not to tarnish the Garda Reserve name could I please have this thread deleted/closed please?

Thanks and apologies for any annoyance caused!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

bluetop wrote: »

Ie reserves just want to join to get "freebies" now how would that look in the tabloid, just from a stupid remark you made.

Not sure what papers you read, but if it's staffed by journalists who could infer the headline Reserves just want to join to get "freebies" from what the op has said in this thread, ie,
    If I was going into it for the perks....... I WOULD NOT be going into it at all!
    It has taken 5 years to get to this point so I am not taking it as a given that it is all fun and games or that it will be at any stage!
    I just meant this to be light hearted!
    I am not expecting anything from being a Garda Reserve, was just as a matter of interest!
    I will be honoured to be a member of the force, even at a volunteer level......so no I am not expecting special treatment as being in a position to don the uniform is perk enough! It was just as an "aside".

then maybe you should reconsider your choice of newspaper.

Duiske wrote: »
    Not sure what papers you read, but if it's staffed by journalists who could infer the headline Reserves just want to join to get "freebies" from what the op has said in this thread, ie,

OP doth protest too much, I fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,040 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

You really, seriously think that those sorts of papers would consider the wider context and take all quotes into account, rather than pick the one-liner juicy headline :confused:

OP should maybe learn to think a little forward before posting in a public forum!

(and fair play to OP for requesting that the thread be closed/removed, btw)

If that is your attitude it's a pity it hasn't taken longer for you to get in and mature some more.

The perks of the job are helping people in need, catching a good criminal and having a bit of craic with people on the street or at events.

Just have a look at the Michael Noonan affair this week and think your statement through again.

Also, this thread should be kept to show the stupidity of the original poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭bluetop

Not sure what papers you read, but if it's staffed by journalists who could infer the headline from what the op has said in this thread, ie,

So you are telling me that the media could not twist the above story, well i think you are very much mistaken look at the lines in bold above.

Jumps out of the paper at me Reserves just want to join to get "freebies" And a shiny Badge"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

ArmaghmMagic you need a break from the ES forums.

For reposting a locked thread that without intervention would become a trollfest I am banning you for 5 days.

And as for expecting perks while being a volunteer in An Garda Siochana, you have a lot to learn about the work the Gardai do, the public perception of the Gardai and the risks involved in wearing a police uniform.

Turner.