Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best quaint country pub?

• 22-01-2012 12:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭

Gf coming back from Brazil on Friday...she has never been outside Dub. Wanted to take her to a B&B somewhere rural with a nice village atmosphere and a cute little country pub where they play trad, not the false trad you get in Dublin, but you know that spur of the moment stuff...maybe even some impromptu Irish dancing or something...not sure if that even goes on as I've never seen it...

any recommendations for this type of place in the country? Anywhere really...like where you walk back from the pub along a pitch black country road and can see the stars. I have only ever been to one place in Kerry that was like this...the pub was also someones living room. was great craic and felt like the "real Ireland" not the manufactured crap we sell to the tourist in Temple Bar.

Any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

I'm very glad I live in the big schmoke. To get away from this hokey, begorrah bejaysus bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Mrs' O's in Skryne maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

chin_grin wrote: »
    I'm very glad I live in the big schmoke. To get away from this hokey, begorrah bejaysus bollocks.

think your missing out man...some of the best nights I've had where at impromptu trad sessions outside Dublin...it's not hokey begorrah down there...it's actually talented people playing some real Irish music...there's culture outside Dublin you know, and that's coming from a dub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gk5000

Stay in Dublin, and go to the Royal Oak in Kilmainham - no fiddle-de-de but just a genuine small pub and with no pretense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭megafan

"maybe even some impromptu Irish dancing or something..."

Any ideas?[/QUOTE]

"girlfriend from Brazil" & What part of the world do you hail from?? Begorrah!!!:confused:

megafan wrote: »
    "maybe even some impromptu Irish dancing or something..."

Any ideas?

"girlfriend from Brazil" & What part of the world do you hail from?? Begorrah!!!:confused:[/QUOTE]

I'm Irish mate. Actually, the Irish dancing is not important really, probably stretching it a bit, but it was more for her really. She's a dancer and wanted to see some Irish dancing, and I'm arsed if we're going in to the Arlington for that kind of crap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

O'Connors in Doolin Co. Clare and stop off in Moneygall on your way, Ollies bar, where Barak Obama visited earlier this year. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

http://www.glashafarmhouse.com/

All hours country pub right around the corner.

Edit: Really in the middle of nowhere by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

+1 for O'Connors. Great place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

We get it OP, you have a Brazilian girlfriend who is a dancer and want to let everyone know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Take her to Achill.

amacachi wrote: »
    We get it OP, you have a Brazilian girlfriend who is a dancer and want to let everyone know.

Pff...I have better things to do with my time than boast on boards. Only stating the necessary info - i.e she's foreign, never been outside Dub, wanted to show her what the craic is like outside Dublin, she is into traditional dancing as she dances forro, a traditional non sexual dance and shes always wanted to see irish traditional dancing.

If you want a Brazilian girlfriend just swing your mickey around temple bar for a while

Thanks for the suggestions people...o connors seems to be the ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Arpa wrote: »
    Gf coming back from Brazil on Friday...she has never been outside Dub. Wanted to take her to a B&B somewhere rural with a nice village atmosphere and a cute little country pub where they play trad, not the false trad you get in Dublin, but you know that spur of the moment stuff...maybe even some impromptu Irish dancing or something...not sure if that even goes on as I've never seen it...

any recommendations for this type of place in the country? Anywhere really...like where you walk back from the pub along a pitch black country road and can see the stars. I have only ever been to one place in Kerry that was like this...the pub was also someones living room. was great craic and felt like the "real Ireland" not the manufactured crap we sell to the tourist in Temple Bar.

Any ideas?

You could go to Cashel and check out Bru Boru (you will see irish dancing and music), also check put the Rock while there. Lots of nice pubs where I am sure will have music if it is thursday or friday night and a michelin star restautant to boot.

I think what you have described above is a scene from Ryan's Daughter though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

Wait, you want to know where some spur of the moment impromptu trad and irish dancing. I'll just get my time machine and be back in a few with where and when it'll happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Wait, you want to know where some spur of the moment impromptu trad and irish dancing. I'll just get my time machine and be back in a few with where and when it'll happen.

Or just go to the Westch. It'd easier & cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

The boot inn. aka, Jets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Off with ye to the Scotland then.

That sh1t dont go down here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Somewhere like Ennis is brimming with 'real' sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

policarp wrote: »
    Ollies bar, where Barak Obama visited earlier this year. . .
    But Ollies bar is not quaint! It's just a really quiet, boring pub in a market village. I took some French friends to Moneygall last year and I actually had to make stuff up to keep them interested in it. Did you know that Napoleon sourced his first Irish legion from there?

I'd stick with Doolin or Killarney OP; because she's probably going to want to enjoy more than just the pub and B&B, even if you haven't seen each other in a long time:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Go to Killaloe in Clare.

Lots of small pubs and music sessions
    And if you want barfood there are excellent choices across the Shannon in Ballina,Tipp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Jaysus Celica Ahern has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭nommm

Trad fest is on all next week in Temple Bar.

Take her to Leitrim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭joewicklow

Johnnie Foxes, Glencullen, Wicklow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

If you're trying to get away from the fake temple bar bullsh1t, stay clear of doolin.. O connors is full of yanks looking for the irish experience.

Better off heading to o connors in ballyboughal. Proper impromptu sessions at the weekend. Less of a drive as a bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Ballyvaghan Co. Clare :pac:

Great ald village. and enough trad to break your ankles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Ballyvaghan Co. Clare :pac:

Great ald village. and enough trad to break your ankles
    Many a night spent in louges lodge. Great place. Also a great pub on the left on the way to monks, o loughlins i think.

The bar maid does "black is the colour" acappella. It'd send shivers down your spine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

You mean a traditional pub as in where the locals all stare at you when you walk in, the toilets are manky with no bog roll or soap (but normally the sh1tter is full of puke), the interior has been ripped out and replaced by something that looks like it was designed by the local kitchen fittings supplier etc etc? Head in any direction out of Dublin and try the first place you see, should fit the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

You mean a traditional pub as in where the locals all stare at you when you walk in, the toilets are manky with no bog roll or soap (but normally the sh1tter is full of puke), the interior has been ripped out and replaced by something that looks like it was designed by the local kitchen fittings supplier etc etc? Head in any direction out of Dublin and try the first place you see, should fit the bill.

Not Roches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

joewicklow wrote: »
    Johnnie Foxes, Glencullen, Wicklow.

Jesus, no. Not that place.

Its the most Oirish, overpriced over manufactured kitschy place I've ever been to. It tries far too hard and its far too touristed.

OP: In Dublin The Cobblestone at the top of Smithfield is a great spot for trad and its not kitschy. Down the country the Roscommon/Sligo/Leitrim area is excellent for late nights and little or no tourists so the "craic" is genuine.

Theres a pub somewhere near Keadue called The Bogside that has excellent trad sessions on a Saturday night, well worth it, its all genuine, anyone can show up and just play an instrument. Its in the middle of nowhere but ask in Keadue or Knockvicar and they'll get you there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

bijapos wrote: »
    OP: In Dublin The Cobblestone at the top of Smithfield is a great spot for trad and its not kitschy.

And you may even bump into the Big Yin.