Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever been put off the road?

• 21-01-2012 7:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

Four of my friends have been put off the road in the last year for drink driving and this got me wondering about what percentage of the country has been put off the road for drink driving or otherwise.

I couldn't find any statistics online so I said I'd ask on here to get a rough idea.

If you have been put off the road please say why.

ids

Have you been put off the road? 4 votes

Yes-Drink driving
    0% 0 votes
    Yes-Otherwise
    50% 2 votes
    No
    50% 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

No offence but your 4 friends are idiots!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭idunnoshur

cruais wrote: »

I forgot to say to please not post sh!t like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭bigneacy

idunnoshur wrote: »
    Four of my friends have been put off the road in the last year for drink driving and this got me wondering about what percentage of the country has been put off the road for drink driving or otherwise.

I couldn't find any statistics online so I said I'd ask on here to get a rough idea.

If you have been put off the road please say why.

ids

Your four friends are scumbags who should never get their licence back.

If you're so interested in statistics go and find out how many families were torn apart last year by the loss of a loved one caused by a drink driver. Then ask yourself why you still call these four people your friends.

Oh and sorry that you didn't want ****e like this, but what did you really expect?

I'm not giving out about you. But to drink and drive is a no go.

To answer your question, no I have never been put off the road

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

4of your friends.
    What type of people do you hang around with, drunk driving is such a no/no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'm not giving out about you. But to drink and drive is a no go.

http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lvrp8bU9AV1qibz0jo1_500.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Cruais is right .... i reckon anyone having 4 such idiotic friends is rare, at least i hope it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Did you think we were going to compliment them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

galwayrush wrote: »
    Cruais is right .... i reckon anyone having 4 such idiotic friends is rare, at least i hope it is.

It probably isnt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Not me personally, but I have been in a car that was put off the road.

I was getting a lift with a classmate back from a party. He was acting the bollocks, revving the car, beeping late at night. I had piped up ant told him to cop on but I was told to shut up and be glad I was getting a lift home. In fairness I did as if he had put me out on the road I'd have been fairly stuck, seeing that we were now in the countryside.

Anyway we get as far as the motorway and the blue lights come on in the rear view mirror. My classmate had been driving with his wheels across the centre line. He was also on a provisional. The guard comes up to him, tells him to stop messing about and to get off the motorway at the next exit and not let him see him on the motorway again. It was a long drive home on the backroads after that

That fairly humbled the driver, he also apologised to us for acting the prick.

Not me personally, but I have been in a car that was put off the road.

I was getting a lift with a classmate back from a party. He was acting the bollocks, revving the car, beeping late at night. I had piped up ant told him to cop on but I was told to shut up and be glad I was getting a lift home. In fairness I did as if he had put me out on the road I'd have been fairly stuck, seeing that we were now in the countryside.

Anyway we get as far as the motorway and the blue lights come on in the rear view mirror. My classmate had been driving with his wheels across the centre line. He was also on a provisional. The guard comes up to him, tells him to stop messing about and to get off the motorway at the next exit and not let him see him on the motorway again. It was a long drive home on the backroads after that

That fairly humbled the driver, he also apologised to us for acting the prick.

Thanks, your reply is the only one that actually answered what I asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Thanks, your reply is the only one that actually answered what I asked.

How does that answer your question?
    Do you want to know about people being told to stay off the motorway or people who have received a driving ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I've been lambasted for overtaking a squad-car (which I didn't see, but I was going below the speed limit). I didn't get put off the road, but I had to roll down the window so he could shout at me. That's about it...

I never drink and drive though...not even once, not even one pint. Shame on your mates for that. I'm glad they got caught. Gardaí at least taking the correct action.

I expected to get taken of the road about 3 years ago, I allegedly broke a light and a traffic car pulled me over, I wasn't going to argue so I put my hands up, but then my license was out of date by a month.
    So I got a summons for no valid license, not presenting my license, driving without insurance as my license wasn't valid and off course breaking a barrier. So it all added up to more then 12 points. So I bought a push bike and prepared to be without a car for the first time since I was 18.

But a combination of luck and some the cases ahead of me, a skanger a scumbag about 4 no shows, an African refuging to talk English and then I was called and I stood up in a suit and tie. The Judge said "good morning MR 44leto, Good morning Mam I replied. Then the guard read the charges and she asked why was my license out of date, I gave an honest explanation. Then she asked is your paperwork in order and I said off course it is Mam. "You can go now". I think it was the fact that I seem to have respected the court and up to then I had no points on my license.

I felt as if i won the Lotto and another thing I got out of the whole episode I found I have a love of cycling of which i still do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Evie90

Never been put off the road and i never will be, one of my brothers was killed by a drunk driver on his way home from work 10 years ago, the driver is now a quadriplegic who can't feed wash or dress himself. Anybody who gets behind the wheel of a car after drinking is a complete idiot with no regard for their own life or anybody else's.

tuxy wrote: »
    How does that answer your question?
    Do you want to know about people being told to stay off the motorway or people who have received a driving ban.

Alright he attempted to answer the question instead of being a gowl like the rest of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Thread moved to Motors, Motors Charter applies now.

Nope for me.
    One of the buddies was off the road for drink driving and took his missus's car out when drunk :eek: There was one or three police cars chasing him around Cork for a while, they obviously would have tracked him down anyway but he was caught there and then as the lad with him opened the passenger door and ran after the buddy pulled in and parked up with lights off, the lad with him left the door open so the car was lit up.

The chap has been off the drink a few years now in fairness to him and is now a model citizen :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

My wife's nephew was put off the road one week after he passed his test for speeding. He was doing 50kph in a 30kph. Lost his new licence for 4 weeks as here, if you are going 150% of the limit, it's an automatic 4 week ban. You can appeal within 48 of being notified.

My cousin is defo looking at a serious long ban, a learner driver and he failed a breathalyser the morning after the night before, he bolloxed really but his case hasn't been heard yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

To try and answer your question, not enough people have been put off the road. There are too many people, like your mates, who think it is ok to drive with a few beers on them. also clowns who speed, as in really speed and not just 5 - 10k over the limit.

And I have never been put off the road, pulled once, but that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭focus_mad

Been pulled over a number of times but only ever been off the road because I have crashed into.

Thank god the OP's mates (absolute gob****es IMO) were put off the road before they could hurt anyone.

So according to the poll results as of now 4.34% of the drivers here have been put off the road.

Would that be be anyway near the figure for the whole country?

Thanks ids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

One of my mates deserves to be put off the road. I only see him a few times a year, but he nearly always ends up driving home pissed, often a good 45 minute drive home. Nicest guy you could meet, but a bastard for the drink driving, he's an absolute disgrace. You can only say it so many times and even then its the next day when hes sober and agrees its stupid. But once the drink flows there's no stopping him.
    Had a half hour long argument with him recently at a wedding and we were all hiding his keys, with him going nuts making a show of himself. Managed to keep him there that night, he had every intention of driving home when he arrived.