Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

See the Independent today ?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

It's in the Times too.

Mod hat on:
    If people want to talk about this, that's fine. But please stick to the facts as reported. And please do bear in mind that many people on here may know the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

It's in the Times too.

Mod hat on:
    If people want to talk about this, that's fine. But please stick to the facts as reported. And please do bear in mind that many people on here may know the guy.

Sorry to hear that he got involved in that area
    Always found him to be ok
    That's some sentence. If he was a robbing scumbag heroin addict who got caught he would have got probation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

yeah its lucky he didnt bust the country...I would say you'd get a big sentence for doing something like that.

But that aside he was dealing and I know he regrets it. Hopefully he will get out on good behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

Each to their own .. but should be back out in under a year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

ah poor fella guess his life is ruined i sincerly hope things work out for him .lets hope he gets back cycling again .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭MichealD

In no way would I condone the crime but he has pleaded guilty and received an appropriate punishment.

Known him and especially his parents for many years and I would certainly offer them my full support. A more respectable, more genuine and more obliging family you couldn't find. Not appropriate to discuss his private behaviour on this open forum but life is certainly not black and white. There but for the grace of God goes any of our family or friends.

I hope he returns a stronger and more settled person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Newspapers should switch off comments under articles. They drain all hope for humanity out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

tomasrojo wrote: »
    Newspapers should switch off comments under articles. They drain all hope for humanity out of me.
    YouTube comments and After Hours does that to me also.

The number of "quotations" in the "article" above made me feel like I was "reading" an article from a tabloid, rather than a broadsheet. It really affected the "tone".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Don't believe everything you read and remember
    "let he who is without sin, cast the first stone"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

tomasrojo wrote: »
    YouTube comments and After Hours does that to me also.

The number of "quotations" in the "article" above made me feel like I was "reading" an article from a tabloid, rather than a broadsheet. It really affected the "tone".

I dont know how any right thinking people participate in after hours. The worst is the Fox News website though.

On topic. Sympathies to your man's family though, he let those most important to him down as well as himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Capt Ahab

levitronix wrote: »

He did a bad thing,doesn't necessarily make him a bad guy,he's paying a heavy price and I believe deserves some compassion and support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Good to see this thread gets mentioned in the comments as well.