Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On the pull...

• 20-01-2012 8:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭

Mods, I posted here as I was seeking a Garda perspective. Feel free to move if need be but can you leave a short re direct so I know where its gone?
    Anyway, driving home this evening on the.motorway when a Traffic Mondeo I had passed came up behind me and turned on its lights.. I moved into the left lane and acknowledged them with two flashes of my hazards and began to decellerate however was about 500 metres from services off the motorway so kept going to turn off there.... Basically stopping on a motorway isn't safe for me or the Garda. Got to the services pulled in and rolled down the window and holy god he wasn't impressed.

People have bad days so I don't really mind about the tone. Everybody is guilty of being off but basically The Garda bollocked me off for not stopping straight away. He said if a Garda summons me to stop then I stop. I was nice the whole way through conscious of the personality test but I explained that the services were just ahead and in the interest of their safety and mine I acknowledged them and made the call to aim for the services.

Am I out of line for what I did or what? Frankly, I was expecting to be somewhat commended for doing what I did....

Cheers lads. :)

Edit: Purpose of this thread is not to incite Garda Bashing for any non members who wish to post. Just a general query on being pulled.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

If if wanted you to stop at the services he would have waited the short time for you to get there. Then turned on the lights. Did you also get a ticket with your ear bashing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Without knowing the full story or making assumptions, often people who 'keep driving' are trying to swallow or otherwise hide contraband somewhere. There are several other innocent and malicious reasons for not stopping when directed to by a Guard.

Without taking sides, I dont think a Guard would stop someone unless they felt it safe enough to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Fair points folks.... No ticket. I was on the button speed wise. For some reason my car was showing as un taxed but is very much so taxed. Jesus I hope I didn't get a ticket! Can he summons me for this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Was tax disk displayed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

In before the "contact the ombudsman" advice. :D

I would say you are in the clear OP.

Was tax disk displayed?

Absolutely

NCT clear until Feb too.

Just got a bit worried I could be done for the not pulling over there for a second.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

You got an ear bashing. You should learn your lesson from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭FRIENDO

MugMugs wrote: »
    .... Basically stopping on a motorway isn't safe for me or the Garda.

Hi MugMugs,

A Garda can signal you to stop or park on a motorway.

http://www.rotr.ie/rules-for-driving/motorways/stopping-and-parking.html

I don't see why the Garda had a real issue with you pulling into the service station, if it was close by. If it were me I'd have probably done the same, to be honest (better safe than sorry).

Garda might have had an off day, I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,409 ✭✭✭✭flazio

OK, but supposed your car had a dangerous defect that you hadn't spotted in driving, such as an oil leak. Would you say it makes sense to keep spreading oil on the carrigeway all the way into the services or pull up there and stop the slick.
    You don't have to get out of the car when pulled onto the Hard Shoulder by the Gardaí, they do and they are trained on how to walk on the motorway safely.

This too shall pass.

You got an ear bashing. You should learn your lesson from that.
    I've in no way disputed that element of the situation, was merely making a query with respect to the same.

I don't see why the Garda had a real issue with you pulling into the service station, if it was close by. If it were me I'd have probably done the same, to be honest (better safe than sorry).

Garda might have had an off day, I guess?

That was my reasoning for doing it personally.
    flazio wrote: »
    OK, but supposed your car had a dangerous defect that you hadn't spotted in driving, such as an oil leak. Would you say it makes sense to keep spreading oil on the carrigeway all the way into the services or pull up there and stop the slick.
    You don't have to get out of the car when pulled onto the Hard Shoulder by the Gardaí, they do and they are trained on how to walk on the motorway safely.

That's a fair point I suppose. Issue was from what I was told was that my vehicle flagged as being untaxed. This in itself was incorrect and granted I would not have known that at the time I was being pursued. From what I was told, the reason for my being pulled was purely for the tax aspect. My car is also quite a standard family hatchback with no general modifications or anything that would give the impression of a boy racer so to speak.

But still a good point and not one I had thought of. Thanks :)

I've in no way disputed that element of the situation, was merely making a query with respect to the same.

I think Goldie was referring to the old adage
    "You never hear the one that hits you."

As in the more you are told off the better the chance you are not getting a ticket.

Zambia wrote: »

I think Goldie was referring to the old adage
    "You never hear the one that hits you."

As in the more you are told off the better the chance you are not getting a ticket.

Ahhhh right. Hadn't heard of that saying. Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

witnessed the clear up of an accident on the motorway. there was a car in the middle of the two carrigways and the lane outside lane was closed off with cones and amazingly the gardai was parked in the hard shoulder directly opposite the crashed car and the gardai and a couple who were presumably the occupants of the car. werestanding beside the gardai car. moral of the story. dont always expect the gardai to do the intelligent thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

witnessed the clear up of an accident on the motorway. there was a car in the middle of the two carrigways and the lane outside lane was closed off with cones and amazingly the gardai was parked in the hard shoulder directly opposite the crashed car and the gardai and a couple who were presumably the occupants of the car. werestanding beside the gardai car. moral of the story. dont always expect the gardai to do the intelligent thing

Of course this could NEVER have been that two people were walking on the hard shoulder, the Garda moved his vehicle immediately only the hard shoulder to provide fend off cover for them and himself as he spoke to them???

Don't expect people to do the intelligent thing, same as I don't expect people to post intelligently.

Hooch wrote: »
    Of course this could NEVER have been that two people were walking on the hard shoulder, the Garda moved his vehicle immediately only the hard shoulder to provide fend off cover for them and himself as he spoke to them???

Don't expect people to do the intelligent thing, same as I don't expect people to post intelligently.
    speak for yourself. what i witnessed was four people standing having the crack in the most dangerous place that is possible. not only were they standing in a place where they would most likely be killed in the event of an accident. but more importantly they were very likely to be the cause of the accident. now dont ask me if i was surprised

Were you surprised?

That's a lot of detail to take in as you were passing, at any stage were you watching where you were going?

mcgarrett wrote: »
    That's a lot of detail to take in as you were passing, at any stage were you watching where you were going?

and this just proves my point

Are you saying that if you had an accident the Gardai would have been to blame?

The logic being, if they weren't there, you wouldn't have been rubbernecking.

mcgarrett wrote: »
    Are you saying that if you had an accident the Gardai would have been to blame?

The logic being, if they weren't there, you wouldn't have been rubbernecking.
    what iam saying that every driver wouldnt be as competent and as capable as me. therefore another driver could lose concentration for a split second and thats all it takes. better not to create this type of situation in the first place. i dont expect a high level of intelligence from the gardai but a bit of common sense would be nice. lets see the gardai put the cop in "cop on"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭King Ludvig

Lets see the troll get banned! :p

informative

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

...and that's a wrap.

Thread closed.