Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

squirrels

• 19-01-2012 7:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭

i have just seen on the news that a second red squirrel has been found dead in wicklow as a result of 'pox' (i think) this is the virus carried by the grey's. this is the first time that its been reported in ireland. surely there should be an active campaign in culling the grey's and not just the personal vermin control carried out by hunters and gun clubs.
    every public park in the country is riddled with grey squirrels yet wardens are more concerned with keeping dogs on leads etc.
    i know there has been talk of bounties on mink but there should also be something similar on the grey's.
    if clubs were offered birds or shells as reward it might increase efforts or if parks were offered new facilities as a result of active squirrel control etc. . .
    does the NARGC or parks commision have a stance on this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

dicky82 wrote: »
    i have just seen on the news that a second red squirrel has been found dead in wicklow as a result of 'pox' (i think) this is the virus carried by the grey's. this is the first time that its been reported in ireland. surely there should be an active campaign in culling the grey's and not just the personal vermin control carried out by hunters and gun clubs.
    every public park in the country is riddled with grey squirrels yet wardens are more concerned with keeping dogs on leads etc.
    i know there has been talk of bounties on mink but there should also be something similar on the grey's.
    if clubs were offered birds or shells as reward it might increase efforts or if parks were offered new facilities as a result of active squirrel control etc. . .
    does the NARGC or parks commision have a stance on this??

Agree 100% on control of the Grey Squirrels traping by the Wardens is the way or a bounty on Greys is the way to wipe these out and as said at least the Clubs could get something back even if it's a small gesture Reds look a lovely Animal this year would be great to get something going before we have no Red Native Squirrels left in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Have seen a few greys in my area and had been thinking about setting some snares but id be doing it on my own and wouldnt get over every day so its not really an option atm, live traps might work if i could get some cheap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Gonzor

Would love to shoot the grey squirrels myself if I could just get them onto the ground.

I know some lads have no qualms blowing lumps out of a tree with the shotgun- but thats not my scene at all. Id hate to think I was damaging trees that are probably a 100 years older than me and do a helluva lot more for the environment than I'll ever do :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Octopus

dicky82 wrote: »

€3 bounty now in place for grey squirrel's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Octopus wrote: »

Not disagreeing
    but is there any data to back up your point before all get excited about future revenue opportunities?

I'd love to see a rewards system for greys.
    I'd like to eat them too, supposed to be lovely tasting. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Gonzor

Not disagreeing
    but is there any data to back up your point before all get excited about future revenue opportunities?

Would it be safe to eat them with that disease.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,869 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

[QUOTE=dicky82;76613160every public park in the country is riddled with grey squirrels yet wardens are more concerned with keeping dogs on leads etc.
    ??[/QUOTE]

Good point - I've been to the Phoenix, St Annes, Botanic Garden and St Stephen's green parks recenty and all are over-run with Grey's. Shame on both the OPW and Dublin CC's for continueing to sit on their hands while Red Squirrels approach extinction in Dublin:mad:

Gonzor wrote: »
    Would love to shoot the grey squirrels myself if I could just get them onto the ground.

I know some lads have no qualms blowing lumps out of a tree with the shotgun- but thats not my scene at all. Id hate to think I was damaging trees that are probably a 100 years older than me and do a helluva lot more for the environment than I'll ever do :o

Trapping is probably the most effective way of dealing with these vermin - airguns come in handy too, especcially in areas where the Grey's are tame:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,307 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Octopus wrote: »

They should shut down the Dublin parks for thee days and let professional marksmen do their work. (They'd be millionaires by the end of it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭J.R.

Not disagreeing

http://nargc.ie/downloads.aspx

click grey squirrel bounty application form

money goes to the winning club with the most grey squirrels killed....not to the individual trapper / hunter / shooter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Not in NARGC :(

No incentive there for non gun club lads to do anything about them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

shouldn need an incentive to trap them though.

Dusty87 wrote: »

shouldn need an incentive to trap them though.
    Thats true and i agree i ment its not fair if a gun club can claim a bounty but if a lad say traps 100 of them his self he gets nothing for his efforts. It should be accross the board ya know

I am a member of a Gun Club and do agree with where your coming from no incentive but do you not think we should all do a little bit to get rid of these Grey's God only knows what else they will pass on to other Animals which will start dying what happens if it was passed to Pheasants may not happen but just trying to point out I would shoot or trap the Grey's even if I was not a member of a Gun Club and was getting nothing for my efforts.

Tawny Owl wrote: »

I am a member of a Gun Club and do agree with where your coming from no incentive but do you not think we should all do a little bit to get rid of these Grey's God only knows what else they will pass on to other Animals which will start dying what happens if it was passed to Pheasants may not happen but just trying to point out I would shoot or trap the Grey's even if I was not a member of a Gun Club and was getting nothing for my efforts.
    I agree lad just a bit unfair for lads not in a club is all. Ill kill any greys i can regardless!

It's a pity the Clubs can't or won't help you and any other lads that are like you said out shooting or trapping these Grey Squirrel's if they get a Bounty it should be passed to you.Say you returned to a Club member 40 Tails this goe's to the Club when counting time comes to return all Vermin control tails / wings and the like you get a cut from the Club helps everybody and most of all as said before less fecking Grey Squirrls what do you think.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

shot and ate a grey lad last weekend,i didnt die yet,was nicer than rabbit,but very fatty!in england and the u.s they are commonly eaten

bazza888 wrote: »
    shot and ate a grey lad last weekend,i didnt die yet,was nicer than rabbit,but very fatty!in england and the u.s they are commonly eaten

Well fair play too you and brave to eat it not me shoot them and trap them yes have you seen many where you live and have you seen any red's as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭bazza888

seen one red squirrel when i was out after a fox last weekend,then i saw my 1st grey lad shot him at 70yards with the 223,got him in the upperchest neck area,dont see why people would not eat a squirrel if you will eat rabbit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

I gave a Grey Squirrel that my harris hawk caught last week to a mate of mine and he ate it and he too said it was nicer than rabbit.They seam to be everywhere this year,we are seeing alot of them when we are out with the birds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

Wouldnt like the idea of eating the greys if they're responsible for spreading Squirrel Pox

I gave a Grey Squirrel that my harris hawk caught last week to a mate of mine and he ate it and he too said it was nicer than rabbit.They seam to be everywhere this year,we are seeing alot of them when we are out with the birds.

Jelly - roughly how many Grey's could your girl take out in a badly infested area??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jellybaby21

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Jelly - roughly how many Grey's could your girl take out in a badly infested area??

In a place over run with them and things went rite and she didnt get any bites from them she could take 10 or 12 before I would have to finish up for the day.Its dangerous for the bird to be flying squirrels,its not something I do very much of.