Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitchforks ready?- Ministers entitled to €3,500 in unvouched laundry expenses!

• 18-01-2012 8:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

I think this is the most serious taking the mick expense. Vouch it all but then again its a gravy train :mad:
    Finance Minister Michael Noonan has revealed that Ministers from outside Dublin who need to stay in hotels while in the city are entitled to thousands of euros to cover their laundry bills.

Michael Noonan's admitted that Ministers and Junior Ministers are entitled to claim €3,500 in unvouched expenses for cleaning.

It is one of the many tax write-downs Ministers can claim under the second homes allowances.

The system has been in place since 1998 and has cost the public more than €1m, with between 14 and 19 Ministers claiming each year.

The information came to light after a parliamentary question was tabled by Sinn Féin's Finance Spokesperson Pearse Doherty.

"Anyone's who's been to Leinster House you'll know that when you come through the gate, in Kildare Street, there's a wee dry cleaning service.," he said.

"And I think it's about €13.50 for a suit to be dry-cleaned.

"A Minister would have to be changing three or four times a day..."

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/ministers-outside-dublin-entitled-to-3500-in-unvouched-laundry-expenses-536447.html#ixzz1jqQs7b9S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

Yeah.... it's an old thing - I mean can you imagine the size of Mary Harney's knickers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

Pitchforks might go threw the suit and god only knows the expenses they could claim for that! I would be thinking more rotten fruit and veg, maybe even the classic egg? You free in the morning, who we aiming at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,959 ✭✭✭✭phog

Old news but they (govt ministers) keep telling us we're broke but can still pay out this sort of money to themselves. DeRossa retires with a pension of nearly €90K, I'd love if I was earning that no to mind retire with it.

They have no concept on what it's like for the majority of the population to survive these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

That is 291.66 a month or 72.90 a week.

Do they all claim this?

Many people are required to wear suits/uniforms for work but cleaning and laundry expenses are coming out from their own pockets.

Edit: this expense is adding to their already over inflated pay packs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

ilovesleep wrote: »

Do they all claim this?

Many people are required to wear suits/uniforms for work but cleaning and laundry expenses are coming out from their own pockets.

Ministers have to look their best in their Armani's:rolleyes::)

Unless they all getting their laundry done in the Hilton style laundries?

Or maybe they stink too much of BS in that they need to change their clothes often? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Fair play to Pearse. If he wasn't a shinner he'd have my vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

It's not shocking at all at this point.

As I pointed out in a thread regarding former taoisigh expenses, No expenses should be unvouched for.

Not a penny should be paid without a receipt. No Exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

ilovesleep wrote: »

Do they all claim this?

Edit: this expense is adding to their already over inflated pay packs.

Laundry and uniform expenses etc can be claimed as tax credits no? Under uniforms and upkeep.

That doesn't excuse what this shower are doing, (given they probably claim the credits simultaneously) but it's there for everyone I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

but of course, only the best for our overlords!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭earlyevening

Shocking that the poor Dublin ministers had to pay for their own dry cleaning. Why does it only apply to rural ministers? Are they dirtier folk or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

On a day when a new tax to prop up the bloated insane salaries of Marion Finucane et al at RTE is proposed as well as the reality of harsh septic tank penalties for us poor sods who live in the country and doesn't meet someone in Brussels idea, sorry requirements of manure management, this is just typical.

Just remember at the heart of everything, Dail deputies are public servants and make the rules to suit public servants.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,868 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

They should all be wearing the state issued orange jumpsuits with their number on the back. Shower of...(mutters obscenities under breath)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Politics its a dirty business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Can we not just do away with politicians in general and be ruled by robots.

Oh wait, Kenny is still the Taoiseach.