Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give drink to teenagers!

• 18-01-2012 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭

From Breaking News.ie

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/parents-council-advocates-giving-children-small-amount-of-drink-536350.html
    Parents Council advocates giving children small amount of drink

A spokesperson for the National Parents Council has said parents should give children small amounts of alcohol when they are at home.

The Junior Health Minister Roisin Shorthall has criticised parents who allow young people to drink at home, even if they are trying to foster a more responsible attitude to alcohol.

Minister Shorthall said giving drink to children could contribute to substance abuse in later life.

But Jackie O'Callaghan of the National Parents Council disagrees.

Ms O'Callaghan said: "If you do it at home and they can have a drink and they learn to respect the amount of alcohol they can intake then I think you are going down the right road."

Personally I agree with her that allowing teens to drink a small amount in the home with proper supervision is a good idea. Any thoughts?

Apt username

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭Guill

Teach them how to consume responsibly or a blanket ban?

In fairness not talking about sex in this country worked, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

From Breaking News.ie

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/parents-council-advocates-giving-children-small-amount-of-drink-536350.html
    Parents Council advocates giving children small amount of drink

A spokesperson for the National Parents Council has said parents should give children small amounts of alcohol when they are at home.

The Junior Health Minister Roisin Shorthall has criticised parents who allow young people to drink at home, even if they are trying to foster a more responsible attitude to alcohol.

Minister Shorthall said giving drink to children could contribute to substance abuse in later life.

But Jackie O'Callaghan of the National Parents Council disagrees.

Ms O'Callaghan said: "If you do it at home and they can have a drink and they learn to respect the amount of alcohol they can intake then I think you are going down the right road."

Personally I agree with her that allowing teens to drink a small amount in the home with proper supervision is a good idea. Any thoughts?

Best username/post combo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Nice username for such a post

Edit: Beaten to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

From Breaking News.ie

I thought they did? I was alays allowed a small (and I mean small) glass of wine with dinner or sip of Dad's beer.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Although I have to say I agree with it, the majority of us used to knacker drink at some stage in our teens I know if I had kids id much rather them in a house havin a few drinks and know were they were than thinking they were in some random field locked out of there minds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

My uncle use to suggest this to us, in our field drinking days, but who want to get drunk under a responsible adults supervision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    I thought they did? I was alays allowed a small (and I mean small) glass of wine with dinner or sip of Dad's beer.

Same here, I was given wine at meals from about 16 onwards. My Dad would bring me down for a pint with him at around the same age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »

Yep I was the same, my dad would get me small glasses of beer when we were on holiday ( I would have been 13-14 at the time) and when I was a bit older would get me a few beers at family functions etc. I was never interested in knacker drinking as a result and did not end up like some of the lads I grew up with.

Will definitely be doing the same with any child of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

IMO it's much better to let them have a drink or two at home. At least then they don't feel like they have to hide it from you if/when they do it elsewhere. That's a much more worrying situation. Fostering a sense of trust is an important thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

It didn't work for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I think getting your kids pissed on a regular basis should be compulsery.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

The problem with this country is how the government and bodies keep going on and on about drink. I see it like with 18s movies and games, people under 18 will want to play a rubbish game or see a rubbish movie if its rated 18 once its seen as a "rebellious" thing to do. Same with the drink. But if there wasn't all this commotion made over it then the kids likely wouldn't even be interested.
    I do agree that parents should introduce kids slowly to drink. I only started drinking at 18 and wouldn't say it made me drink any more responsibly one bit, was drinking daily for around 2 years or so, have since cut back

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 laoisfella

aujopimur wrote: »
    I think getting your kids pissed on a regular basis should be compulsery.

every nite at about 7 they should get 2 glasses of whiskey each so when they get to bed they go asleep then not 2 hours and 15 shouts later.

on a serious note from 16 omwards is fine anything before that is just hey lads me da lets me drink and now i think im allowed to roam the streets drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

my parents introduced me to heroin at a young age

shortly before allowing me to drink under their supervision. I never enjoyed drinking (with them or not -) just drank with friends to be sociable etc etc. Casually drink now, but still not excessively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

My Grandad used to get all of us grandkids drunk when we were kids and make us fight each other.

He used to throw money in and say "A fiver on yer wan with the ginger hair!" :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

My Grandad used to get all of us grandkids drunk when we were kids and make us fight each other.

He used to throw money in and say "A fiver on yer wan with the ginger hair!" :cool:

Such an orthodox approach to child rearing.

Must have instilled quite a bit of responsibility and sense into you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Your grandfather was an insane lunatic.

Never, ever, ever bet on the ginger hairred kid. Just throwing good money away.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭bobbytables

I think the title of this thread, the choice of phrase is blatantly contraversial. However when I was a teenager, out of all my friends, my parents were the most liberal when it came to alcohol & me. I did enjoy having a few friends over & having a few cans when I was 16 or so. We never got rat arsed. I learned to revolve my night out around the social aspect as opposed to "How many drinks". My parents rarely "gave me drink", it was more that they knew I drank, appreciated I was going to do it anyway, so just wanted to make sure I didn't feel the need to rebel myself in to a coma. It worked.

As an adult I could take or leave drink on a night out. My OH doesn't drink at all. When I see people in their early 20s going mad on drink, I just think "how detatched from reality your parents must be". I know a young lad who got 600 points in his leaving cert a few years back. The sort that you just believe will saunter towards success. Unfortunately it didn't end up that way. Both mammy & daddy were teachers, academia was everything. The lad didn't set a foot "wrong" until the day he moved out. Now he lives in Dublin, on social welfare, drugs & day by day is losing all sense of ambition. It's scary. Mammy & Daddy to this day don't know the half of it, & you can be damn sure what they do know is locked away as a family secret.

This sort of **** is old fashioned Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

I think letting kids try a small amount of alcohol is a good idea when they're growing up. It removes the mystery and "forbidden fruit" aspect to it.

My parents used to let us have some which meant that drinking was never a big deal to us. We'd all be responsible drinkers now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

My parents let me have small amounts of wine with the dinner on special occasions before I was even a teenager, I never knew that other people didn't do the same till quite recently! Now 28 and I'm still the biggest lightweight of all my friends, total three-pint wonder, so it obviously worked..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Well I am a responsible drinker, I always have been except for 2 or 3 not knowing my limit occasions but over all I have sensible attitude to it.

Yes my parents let me have a little bit of drink when I was young, a taste of sherry or a sup of a shandy so I thought to myself this drinking thing eh, its just a light refreshment.

So my family were going in the car somewhere and I grabbed my little bag, markers and some paper to draw on.. I thought I might get thirsty so not wanting to bring a cup in the car and spill it (and get in trouble) I just grabbed a can and started sipping it whilst doodling in the back of a mom wagon, my Dad turned around before he went off and said "why does it smell like Larger in here?".. everyone turned around to this 12 year old innocent looking girl with a big durty can in her hand colouring away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

From sixteen onwards myself and friends were allowed drink some cans as long as we were in one of our houses.

Made it so when we were legally allowed to drink we didn't get absolutely wasted in pubs/clubs and get in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

My parents let us have wine (watered down) with dinner as kids and champagne on special occasions. I always got to taste beers or whatever else was on the go and when sick was made hot whiskeys.

I was allowed to drink fully at 16 but apart from a glass of wine with dinner, I didnt drink until I was 20. Making up for it now by being a bit of a party animal but I put that more down to the crap that was going on in my life!

I have 2 teenage sons and have gone down same route with them as my parents have. My 17 yr old had his first can of beer in front of me a few days after his 16th and has never gone out knacker drinking. He has been to 2 18ths this year and had a few but has come home when he was told and not been loaded. I know next year when he goes to college he will prob go a bit mad but think he has a fair idea of how to handle it now and is always open with me. First nite he was going out I advised him to just drink beer and not shorts coz he wouldnt be used to them. He had a couple of JD's and cokes and told me about it so at least the honesty is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The Junior Health minister can STFU. It is perfectly legal for a minor to drink in their own home while a parent is present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

As long as parents are willing to regulate the amount of drink they give their teens and don't start doing it too young ( 15 or 16 would be appropriate imo) then I see no problem with this.

But it is something that is very open to being abused so it needs some regulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

In all seriousness I wish my parents or someone actually told me about alcohol as in this is beer, beer is weaker than whiskey adults shouldnt drink more than just a little bit because it will make them sick because around me and on tv I would see adults guzzling down drink and seemed to be okay so of course being an invincible teenager what could happen to me?

and frankly between the ages of 14-16 I didn't know the dangers of what I thought was only a very small amount of hard liqueur which got me into a dangerous situation only once, but I survived and went through college not having that much of an interest in drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ive always said that if i had a child id let them drink small amounts, supervised at home. now i have a son and thats still the way i see it
    i'd rather him drinking a little at home than sitting in a cold field getting drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Seanergy

The Junior Health Minister Roisin Shorthall has criticised parents who allow young people to drink at home

That's why she's the Junior!