Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hit by a ball.

• 18-01-2012 4:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Was anybody ever hit with a ball on a course ?

Injury type ?

Could it have been avoided ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

No but I have been about 2/3 feet away from being hit by someone else's drives twice and both times no shout of fore called.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Not me but the guy walking beside me was hit between the shoulder blades with a ball before it hit the ground from about 80 yards away. It left dimple marks in his back and he was very sore! Yes, it could have been avoided: we were walking towards the green as young lads and our mate wanted to catch up with us and teed off behind us.
    I know another lad who hit himself when his ball ricochet off a tree: he damaged his eye so badly, he needed a cornea tansplant. This is potentially the most dangerous situation because at close range, it can do serious damage. There are no trees on my course so I don't generally have to worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭stabo

Got hit on the head on a gaa pitch beside our house when my dad was out hitting balls from one end to the other.Was only a kid at the time.Heard him shouting but the sun was in my eyes.Knocked me out for a couple of minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Was hit once, while on a pitch & putt course, by a low flying tee shot, on the hand. Left a nice big bruise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Never been hit but came close last week:
    Playing Mahon (the third, for anyone who knows it), addressing the ball to take my second shot up a hill towards the green, when a (range, by the way) ball bounces down from over the hill and rolls towards my ball, hitting it.

When we reached the green an older man was walking down from second tee box. "I'm a bit dangerous," he says. No sh!t, told him to shout fore next time and walked on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

I've never been hit, but I come close on a couple of occasions. I'm ashamed to say that I hit a guy once. It was my 2nd shot into the 13th (I think) hole in beaverstown (Par 5). I'd driven down the LHS of the fairway, and was busy chatting away to my partner, reached my ball, looked up at the green, saw nobody, hit a 5 wood, and next saw a guy walking towards the green ( they'd been looking for a ball)....shouted fore (too late) and caught the guy on the ankle. Rushed up, apologised profusely (he wasn't happy) tried to explain myself, but he just walked off cursing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

link_2007 wrote: »
    In a word-yes! I was only a few feet away when it hit him. The sound was sickening so even though he was hit on his wrist, we knew damage had been done. Couldnt believe the extent though- the lads that treated him had to ask where he played when we told em it was a golf injury :D. Ive been hit myself but only once via a shank from close range. On a freezing cold day so it hurt like hell but glad it wasnt worse all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

About two months ago I was taking my third shot about 20 yards off the 17th green. The light was fading and two knobs behind me were in a hurry and took their second shots. They saw us but took their shots anyway. First ball landed about ten yards behind me. They didn't shout fore or even raise a hand in apology. I wanted to wait for them but one of the lads I was playing with is capable of getting carried away in confrontations so I just moved on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭Holy Diver

I've had a ball whizz within inches of my head on more than one occasion. Got some fright.

Friend got hit on the leg by a low flying ball also. Some bruise after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

off the top of my head i can think of getting hit 3 times, theres probably been a few more. The worst was getting hit into the knee-cap from very close range when i was about 17 by a good friend!
    Got hit into the back another time by a guy who was an Irish senior international at the time while caddying for my brother.
    Recently got hit into the thigh,about 6 inches higher and it would have been a lot worse:eek:
    have also been hit by a wedge which flew out of a playing partners hand and have been hit by a golf buggy! but i still keep going back for more:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

Got hit in the face while skulling balls for the club Pro during a lesson, when I was about 8yrs old, I was roughly 20yds away, he was showing how to hit a low Drive,didn't break my nose or teeth Very very lucky. Later years Elbow, unfunny bone, shoulder and leg, all bloody sore and only 1 shout. Saw a playing partner hit himself one day, laughed for the remainder of the round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Got hit on the back of the head by a shanked flop shot, luckily it hit a steel clasp on the back of my hat. Still hurt quite a bit and I literally saw stars for around 20 minutes. Not pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭manta356

A woman playing golf teed off and watched in horror as her shot hit a man playing on the next hole. He fell to the ground with his hands clasped between his legs at the groin area and rolled around the ground in agony.
    The woman rushed over... to him offering to relieve his pain as she was a Physiotherapist. The man said "no I'll be fine." but she would not take no for an answer. She gently took his hands away and undid his trousers and gently massaged his balls and stroked his boaby for several minutes and asked "How does that feel?" He replied "It feels ****ing brilliant but I still think I've broke my thumb!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

manta356 wrote: »
    A woman playing golf teed off and watched in horror as her shot hit a man playing on the next hole. He fell to the ground with his hands clasped between his legs at the groin area and rolled around the ground in agony.
    The woman rushed over... to him offering to relieve his pain as she was a Physiotherapist. The man said "no I'll be fine." but she would not take no for an answer. She gently took his hands away and undid his trousers and gently massaged his balls and stroked his boaby for several minutes and asked "How does that feel?" He replied "It feels ****ing brilliant but I still think I've broke my thumb!" :D

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I asked because yesterday i nearly hit somebody, it was a greenkeeper working on a hole next to me, feel bad about it, but we had the course to ourselves and did not know they were over the hill. But I should have shouted fore if I lost sight. But dunnes on a links create a sound and sight problem.

The lads that work on course must have some stories.

I was also nearly hit by a lady and a man in last two months on one course. The lady just smiled at me.

I think you need to know who is where on a course and keep an eye out. I know it is up to others to shout , but they can't give me my eye back , so I try watch out for myself. even from who i am playing with .

I think there needs to be a sort of poster or info given out by GUI on a couple of things, pitchmarks ( my thing), divots , fore, slow play - a few other things , good idea for a few notices around course.

Anyway , you forget how dangerous our sport can be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭jmorrisey

When I was a kid I played a game with my next door neighbour and his older sister who came along for the walk. His sister had never set foot on a course before and thought nothing of sauntering up the fairway ahead of us even when we were about to play. Long story short we were on the 9th or 10th tee, herself had ran down the edge of the fairway chasing a grey squirrel and my neighbour launched a vicious low slice about 100 yards that hit her square between the shoulder blades. We heard the crack and nothing happened for two or three seconds then she dropped to her knees "Platoon" style and then fell face forward onto the ground screaming. Looking back, it was a horrific incident but at the time (age 11) we (not her) honestly did not stop laughing for a few minutes.

On a sidenote a couple of years later the same fella was playing our big year end Juvenile comp and he teed it up couple of yards behind the tee markers. It was a par five and he set up to launch a big one but he slipped on the downswing and smashed the ball off the tee marker (they were stone), the ball flew hundred and fifty yards back over our heads towards the clubhouse and smashed over a heineken shandy of one of the adult members enjoying a quite one on the patio outside. I miss that guy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭noel farrell

a member of my family got a bad whack of a ball in the eye on a local par three. he lost the eye , no one at fault stray ball one in a million bit of bad luck.he was only eighteen at the time , big shock at the time took him some time to recover, but no worries he is doing well now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭samdeman

i cant understand why helmets are not compulsory

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

I hit a old dear playing P&P with the Father when I was 8 or 9 !

On the other hand , I was playing Nass on Saturday ,

I think it was on the 11/th or 12th when teeing off I noticed something flying out to the left of me .

Looked up the see my lovely Ping G15 head heading towards the two boys putting on the previous green,

Had not even hit the ground , the lads reckon it broke just as I hit the ball !

Let a roar at them and it landed between them , Lucky it would of done a bit of damage had it caught them !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Out with a 4 ball of mates (around 11yr old) one of them hit a terrible shot so we said, go on hit again (were only out messing), he was so happy to get to hit again, he ran up to the tee box and tee'd off about 3 foot behind one of the old concrete tee markers, he hit his tee shot, ball hit the marker, came back and hit him square in the stomach. We never laughed so much, he was ok to play on but felt it for the rest of the day. We kept telling people he had TITLEIST imprinted on his stomach:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I was hit on a P+P course this year , hit the upper part of my arm . Stung a bit , left a bit of bruise .

Can only imagine what it would be like to be hit by a full blooded drive NASTY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

Many moons ago as a young teenager was caddying at my local course in a celebrity pro-am and was stood with the other caddys about 30yards in front of the tee box hidden or so I thought by a tree.

Guy drove off with a low drive straight into the side of my knee and I went down like I'd been shot, ended up having to have a car drive down the middle of the fairway to load me up and take me to hospital, which was a bit embarrassing with all the crowds around.
    Luckily caught the soft part of the knee and you could see every dimple of the golf ball.

Thing is the ball was hit by Gareth Edwards (the rugby player) so at least I did get to meet one of my heroes !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

. But dunnes on a links create a sound and sight problem.

I hate it when them large supermarkets interfere with our golf courses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Played with a friend of mine at Grange when we were teenagers, and it was raining. He took a big wind at the drive and his driver flew straight out of his hands, over the wall, over the road and into someone's garden, where it hit the gardener. No damage done - it bounced before hitting him - but made for an interesting explanation.

Got hit by a golf ball at last year's Atlantic Coast Challenge, at Rosses Point. I was on the 4th tee box and he was approaching the 3rd green. Again, no damage - an no shout of Fore either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I got hit straight in the nut$ when the guy I was playing with shanked (har har!) his tee shot when I was a teenager.

One of our greens keepers narrowly missed death when he was using a leaf blower last year and a 100 foot tree fell beside him...scary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭dnjoyce

was hit on the cheek-bone playing p&p as a young teenager - my own fault - the shout of fore was heard loud and clear, or course I looked up to see where it had landed....very very lucky - an inch higher and almost certainly would have lost the eye but as it turned out was able to play on.

Was hit on the leg last summer but thankfully the ball had landed first which took most of the sting out if it. It whizzed past the head of one of my playing partners on the way though, which would have been lights out, game over as it was a full tee shot on a par three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

Stewarding beside the green at the 16th I think at the Irish Open back in 99 when Garcia won. It was really hard to see balls into the green got hit in the shoulder by some unknown English pro Malcolm Mckenzie (never heard of him) for the ball to stop on the edge of the green he got down in 2 and ended up finishing 7th - if the ball had not hit me the ball in would have deep in bushes so who knows what score he would have had on that hole.
    He apologised and gave the ball afterwards - must look up to find out if he is still a pro as never really heard of him since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,172 ✭✭✭blackwhite

GreeBo wrote: »
    I got hit straight in the nut$ when the guy I was playing with shanked (har har!) his tee shot when I was a teenager.

One of our greens keepers narrowly missed death when he was using a leaf blower last year and a 100 foot tree fell beside him...scary stuff.

Hope no permanent damage done.

A few year's back a junior at Co. Sligo managed to hit his playing partner in a similar fashion. Damage was bad enough that one had to be removed..... sick0015.gif

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Luckycharm wrote: »
    Stewarding beside the green at the 16th I think at the Irish Open back in 99 when Garcia won. It was really hard to see balls into the green got hit in the shoulder by some unknown English pro Malcolm Mckenzie (never heard of him) for the ball to stop on the edge of the green he got down in 2 and ended up finishing 7th - if the ball had not hit me the ball in would have deep in bushes so who knows what score he would have had on that hole.
    He apologised and gave the ball afterwards - must look up to find out if he is still a pro as never really heard of him since.
    He was a guy that eventually won (in France?) after having close to the most starts on tour of anyone.... nice guy, shared a drink with him after he had 3 putted the 18th to miss the cut by one at Mount Juliet in an Irish Open :)

blackwhite wrote: »
    Hope no permanent damage done.

A few year's back a junior at Co. Sligo managed to hit his playing partner in a similar fashion. Damage was bad enough that one had to be removed..... sick0015.gif

He pulled a muscle laughing at me, but he is ok now :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Was holding the pin for a playing partner one day who had a short chip shot.
    The madness entered his head & he changed his mind at the last second & went for a huge flop, of course he bladed it & sent a bullet straight for my balls.
    I clenched up expecting the bullet of death when it hit the pin & shot off at 90 degrees.:D

When we played pitch n' putt we used to stand beside a green with one of those bar towels in our hands & catch the tee-shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Aesop

GreeBo wrote: »
    Jesus what size was the leaf blower!!! ;)

Aesop wrote: »
    Jesus what size was the leaf blower!!! ;)

Was made by Ronseal... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Maclock

I was playing a round during last summer and standing on the 2nd tee. A guy in the group behind overshot the 1st green and the ball just missed my head but hit one of my buddies right between the shoulder blades. It made a loud thud and he said it left a nasty bruise. An awful thing to say but, it was better being his back rather than my head.

On a side note, my dad was hit in the ankle with a road bowling ball a few years ago. It done some serious damage. The guy who threw must have had a shank, or a grudge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

got hit in the shoulder a few weeks back from 200 yards out, effer didn't even bother to shout fore and barely waited for me to get off the green.

hurt like hell and only missed my head by inches (whizzed past my ear)

at one point i thought i had been shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭n2o

Smacked a 4 iron into my own stomach via a post a few feet away. Left a nice big bruise. Not the smartest thing I've ever done. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Boscoirl

Got hit in the side of the head when I was younger, Friends father shouted at me but lost the ball in the sun, dropped like a bag of spuds, this was on a wednesday, then the following Monday got a Hurley across the forehead at School, had two nasty bruises for a week or two :(