Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Bars Illegal?

• 18-01-2012 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭

Have a defender 90 07 commercial. I'd like to put an a bar on her so I can mount spots. someone mentioned to me A Bars are illegal now for post 05 jeeps and I wont pass my DOE with same. Now this A Bar if mounted does not protrude forward of the front bumper......I was offered an OEM Landrover plastic yoke for over 500 euro plus that allegedly complies......whats the story lads as I dont nor can afford get messed around with non complience in this nanny state we now live it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

They are illegal alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

There's been a European wide ban on bull bars on new vehicles for quite a while. Retro-fit ones are a grey area such that many suppliers just won't stock them.

Plastic pedestrian friendly A bars is probably all you'll get away with but none of the usual suspects stock them.

Nearest I've found is a grille light bar - http://www.mm-4x4.com/grill-mounted-light-bar-not-including-lights-none-air-con-models-3381-p.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

Thanks men, think I'll chase up that lamp rail....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

Are they illegal in the North? Could you hypothetically buy them from a supplier up there, get them fitted up there, and then drive South?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

Prob is DOE, NCT or even an accident even though your jeep is built like a tank, having an a bar it appears may make your insurance null and void in case of an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

I've an A-bar fitted, '05 plate, no issues at all with DOE at the end of November. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

101sean wrote: »
    There's been a European wide ban on bull bars on new vehicles for quite a while. Retro-fit ones are a grey area such that many suppliers just won't stock them.

Plastic pedestrian friendly A bars is probably all you'll get away with but none of the usual suspects stock them.

Nearest I've found is a grille light bar - http://www.mm-4x4.com/grill-mounted-light-bar-not-including-lights-none-air-con-models-3381-p.asp

Does anyone know if these can be got for a Pajero?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I've never failed one in the DoE unless that thing is hanging off or damaged in such a way to be a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭db330

bullbars were made illegal A bars are legal once they complie with some EU approval standard, we have a EU legal set on a new L200 (got them form the dealer when new) which is made of really thin steel and dents way to easily so not much use for pushing stuff.

We have another set on a Pajero which are not EU approved but never had an issue with doe's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

if you were to fit an 'illegal' set to a new vehicle that resembled the legal ones , only made of thicker steel, would anyone notice even in an accident ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

The pedestrian that got intimate with it? :P

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Anybody have a link to the law that makes them illegal, i mean the law that a Garda can summons you for?

Because ive never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 altezza200

i recently put a van through doe ith a bar no problem atall.

bull bars where banned because they are so high u. a bars run just above the bumper not at bonnet hight.