Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Citroen Cars - any good?

• 16-01-2012 5:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭

Thinking of changing the car. Are citroen cars any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

any specific Citroen car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

kala85 wrote: »

Personally I'd avoid French cars. Parts more expensive than other brands IIRC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

TonyStark wrote: »

Pay no attention to that post anyway,

But some citreons are good some would be worth stayin away from. All depends what your lookin for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭livvy

Any views on 2011 Citroen Grand Picasso ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Parts more expensive than other brands IIRC.

Where do people get this stuff from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

They pull it out of a small hole down the back of their trousers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They'd be the same people to recommend Mazda or Honda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

kala85 wrote: »

People come in here looking for advice and this is thw kind of ****e that's doled out. Honestly, if you don't know what you're talking about stay quiet. That's the trouble with motors, everyone has opinion. Evidence or heaven forbid facts are strictly optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭robodonkey

www.reliabilityindex.com
    www.carsurvey.org

Everyone has a horror story about "car brand X and it was nothing but trouble". Even with the above, keep in mind that people post negatively far more often than positively.

HTH :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I had a 2000 Citroen C5 which ran fine and I'd no issues with it

THe Oh has been driving a 2003 C5 for the last three years, he's fairly low mileage has done about 30k miles in that time, and apart from replacing the clutch @ 90k miles and the gear selector cables @ 110k miles he's had no problems with it.

It's big, comfy, holds a hell of a lot of "stuff" and five adults comfortably, good on long journeys, and a bastard to park.

I'd buy one if I was in that type of market again no problem. He sends it into the indy we use once a year for a service and has no major issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

One of the best cars I ever owned was a Citroen. One of the worst cars I I ever owned was a Citroen.

I hope thats helpful :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 onedaysoon

****e

Stheno wrote: »
    I had a 2000 Citroen C5 .

I'll bet you didnt. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

I'll bet you didnt. :)

I see what you did there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Father had a few citroens over the years and never had any problems with them. I used to work in a Citroen garage down here and don't remember many people coming back giving out about their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Great cars but much maligned unfortunately.

Since 2006 I've had...
    2006 C4 5dr hatch
    2008 C4 Picasso 5 seater
    2008 C-Crosser for the business
    2010 C5 Tourer estate (current car)
    Great service from the dealer (Hugo Loonam, Cloghan - can't recommend him highly enough)
    Eyeing up the new C4 atm.

Nothing major went wrong with any of them and the few bits that did were swiftly looked after by the dealer.

Pay no attention to that post anyway,

But some citreons are good some would be worth stayin away from. All depends what your lookin for.

Probably one of the *good* ones.... if thats possible.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    They'd be the same people to recommend Mazda or Honda.

http://www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/citroen/

Check carzone, in general the more reliable cars that are good all rounders will be those on the site in more plentiful amounts.

Not saying that all Citroen are poor, but there is a reason why they are not as popular as a say a Ford or a Toyota. I prefer to read between the lines of empirical evidence such as the amount of second hand cars on the market and draw conclusions from that rather than subjective personal experience of owning one car in a market of thousands...

Check carzone, in general the more reliable cars that are good all rounders will be those on the site in more plentiful amounts.

Not saying that all Citroen are poor, but there is a reason why they are not as popular as a say a Ford or a Toyota. I prefer to read between the lines of empirical evidence such as the amount of second hand cars on the market and draw conclusions from that rather than subjective personal experience of owning one car in a market of thousands...

What has that got to do with the price of parts:confused:

Here you go, knock yourself out comparing the prices between French cars and others.

http://www.eurocarparts.com/
    http://irishautoparts.ie/
    http://www.gsfcarparts.com/

What has that got to do with the price of parts:confused:

Here you go, knock yourself out comparing the prices between French cars and others.

http://www.eurocarparts.com/
    http://irishautoparts.ie/
    http://www.gsfcarparts.com/

Nah your grand. I think you have the head for the pedantry so I will leave it to you...

Pedantry? You made a statement about parts then start going on about other stuff and dont expect anyone to question you?

Correct! :-)

So we're all agreed your talking ****e then? good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

If that's the case why not just see what the Gardai and Taxi Drivers use as their atypical car and bingo = cars that stand up to abuse.

I don't think you can necessarily go by empirical evidence verbatim [if we are using choice words ;)) car purchasing is a complicated animal in this country from what I can see; far more brand loyalty than consumer savvy in a lot of cases.

So we're all agreed your talking ****e then? good.

The OEM parts are more expensive. It stands to reason if you think about it and when you think about the scale of production of Citroen cars in the first place, the country of origin and the costs of labour shipping etc compared to Ford/Toyota...

The OEM parts are more expensive....

Ah we're movign the goalposts now I see. Anything to back up this nugget or do we just take you at your word.?

It stands to reason if you think about it and when you think about the scale of production of Citroen cars in the first place, the country of origin and the costs of labour shipping etc compared to Ford/Toyota...

I suppose. I mean a small back garden operation like PSA cant really compete with the big boys...................

Maybe car manufacturers should look in to having external companies making parts for them so they dont have to manufacter ever part of every car in house.

cson wrote: »
    If that's the case why not just see what the Gardai and Taxi Drivers use as their atypical car and bingo = cars that stand up to abuse.

I don't think you can necessarily go by empirical evidence verbatim [if we are using choice words ;)) car purchasing is a complicated animal in this country from what I can see; far more brand loyalty than consumer savvy in a lot of cases.

In fact when I get tyres that's my first question. What tyres are most popular with a taxi driver... I have friends with Citroens with no complaints... but I always look towards the day that a car will eventually break down to wear and tear and for me I will always veer towards that brands that are most popular. Even from the sense of expertise of fixing them when something goes wrong.

I've heard a woeful tale of electrical problems with a volvo and a half a dozen others about alphas.

Ah we're movign the goalposts now I see. Anything to back up this nugget or do we just take you at your word.?

Yeah I have a catalogue of parts here beside me.. you have me on my word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Citroens new are ****e, secondhand there's probably NO better car.

I've owned a Xantia 1.9TD SX. Brought it to 155k miles. A Xantia 2.0 16v Plus pack. brought it to 140K miles but unfortunately ignored timing belt. Replaced 14 out of 16 valves and sold it to a lucky bangernomics punter. It was a weapon.
    Currently driving a Xantia 2.0 HDi LX. Just up on 200,000 miles. No clutch change, no nothing. Just fuel lift pump, pulley, tensioner, a crank pulley this summer gone. Wear and tear. A GREAT car.

LESSON for Boardsies:- Always buy a mark II Citroen, not a mark I. They always release the cars too early, f*ck up the technology , then sort it the niggles after punters fall off! They never learn.

Buy secondhand, find a good specialist mechanic (there's loads). Buy your parts from UK like AEP Direct.

I count them as the best car marque in the world. Buy and enjoy.

Wake up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Thanks for that insight.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭eljono

Following this reasoning, your theory should hold up in all countries, if it is correct. So I searched secondhand Citroens in Belgium and 1791 results came up. Searching Toyota on the same site, brought in 1124 results. Does this now mean that Citroen is better than Toyota?
    cson wrote: »
    car purchasing is a complicated animal in this country from what I can see; far more brand loyalty than consumer savvy in a lot of cases.

Cson made a very good point, car purchasing in Ireland is often brand driven and can be a result of good marketing or long held black and white views of manufacturers e.g. German & Japanese - good, French & Italian - bad.

The most troublesome car I've owned was German, an Opel Vectra, but I don't think all Opels are bad because of it, just that one. I've owned French cars that haven't been perfect but weren't the financially ruining disasters many uninformed people would lead you to believe. As far as I'm concerned, most manufacturers will have bad eggs in their line-ups at some stage, it just requires some investigation by potential buyers to find out which ones and for what reasons.

Car manufacturing has come on in leaps and bounds, over the past decade especially. There are plenty of great cars out there, mostly ignored by the Irish consumer which is a pity, because it leads to a predictable and dull market in which to buy second hand cars. I'd like to see us as a nation let go of the old stereotypes and become more informed in our choices and opinions.

Who's with me? Let's start the Revolution on boards! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭pcardin

I've heard a woeful tale of electrical problems with a volvo and a half a dozen others about alphas.

That explains your pub knowledge about the cars. :D Do you drive Volkswagon by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

can anyone recommend a good citroen mechanic on the southside?
    Failed the NCT because the front screen washer wasn't working!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭DELTATIP

Bought NEW citroen c4 - sx 1.4 2006

owner here

Here s some infomation to help you on your way
    after 30 000 miles and 4 years

the gearbox cracked E1834 to replace {reconditioned unit}
    two weeks later head gasket blow requiring overhaul E1950

several weeks later anti pollution issues with sensor cost now
    E200 for the mo -more problems expected

rear hatch door wireloom failure cost of repair 0 self repaired
    otherwise e300 {loom and fit }

next issue power windows failure
    cost 0 self repaired doors stripped -nothing wrong re fit all worked ever since

window cleaner front stopped working repair cost 0 stripped /inspected loose hoose work

service cost per year average E180

summary of story -no to french cars unless your action man with a hefty wallet

currently driving this car to get my money back

regards
    delta

PS - Lord bless all citroen owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭DELTATIP

francois wrote: »
    can anyone recommend a good citroen mechanic on the southside?
    Failed the NCT because the front screen washer wasn't working!
    Screen wash - check your hoose work ,
    Check { fuse }
    Check that you have power going to your device
    what kind of citroen car is it

if its a c 4 you can access the screen wash from underneath the car left side
    front of wheel {unscrew the plastics }

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

DELTATIP wrote: »
    Screen wash - check your hoose work ,
    Check { fuse }
    Check that you have power going to your device
    what kind of citroen car is it

if its a c 4 you can access the screen wash from underneath the car left side
    front of wheel {unscrew the plastics }

Also fill it and then get down and wait and see if its leaking. If you didn't have winter screen fluid in the washer reservoir, it may have burst with the frost. Happened to me with a Xantia. Got a new washer motor.

eljono wrote: »
    Following this reasoning, your theory should hold up in all countries, if it is correct. So I searched secondhand Citroens in Belgium and 1791 results came up. Searching Toyota on the same site, brought in 1124 results. Does this now mean that Citroen is better than Toyota?

It means that more people want to get shot of their Citroens and less people are willing to sell their trustworthy and reliable Toyotas.