Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the cushiest job you ever had?

• 16-01-2012 4:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭

Got a great job on a J1. Office based, only worked 9 am-2 pm. Earned pretty good wages for a student and did very little actual work. All around handy number.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Drug Dealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Apt username anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Taoiseach

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

driving a forklift in Brampton Ontario... loading car parts into lorries all day... pretty easy and was good money at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Sales assistant in a small shop in a very quiet area, mostly populated by very nice, very old people. I did almost literally no work many days, but was often bored witless and would sometimes look for things to tidy up just to pass the time.

Sales assistant in another busier but not manic shop. That was a nice compromise. Too many a**holes treat you like crap when you work in a shop to make any cushiness truly worth it though.

King. Very cushy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Night porter

I could go in at eleven pm, chat to the receptionist and never see a soul until seven am the next morning

Maybe two hours of cleaning, watch some TV, eat some goodies from the fridge and fall asleep

New hotel so there might be under ten residents there some nights. Phone in my pocket on vibrate so if they phone me they'll wake me up. Doors locked and I've a vibrator alert for the doorbell

Spent more time sleeping then working

Taoiseach

Bertie is that you?

Dont think you could be Brian Cowen.... he certainly didn't have it cushie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

an american electronics commpany. Man they kept us sweet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

I have only ever worked in retail and was always on my feet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

call centre employee. all i did was sit on my arse and watch you've been framed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

in before "Boards.ie Mod"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Explosions in the Sky

in before Boards.ie Mod
    We are on about actual jobs here, not what you do when you are on the dole :D..waits for ban

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Cushion manufacturing.

FatherLen wrote: »
    call centre employee. all i did was sit on my arse and watch you've been framed.

its cos of people like you that we have to wait forever on hold. :p

nah i also worked in a santry based call centre before.... worst treatment of staff ever. even 55 out of the 60 people i started with agreed with me and have since left for better jobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Swimming pool life guard. Sitting down half the day perving, ocassionally blowing on my whistle telling people to stop bombing/diving/running, and a little bit of cleaning/tidying up.

Full use of pool and gym facilities, and all pools and gyms ran by company.

Only problem was the 6.30 starts when rostered on them, and crazy heat in the summer.

irish-stew wrote: »
    Swimming pool life guard. Sitting down half the day perving, ocassionally blowing on my whistle telling people to stop bombing/diving/running, and a little bit of cleaning/tidying up.

Full use of pool and gym facilities, and all pools and gyms ran by company.

Only problem was the 6.30 starts when rostered on them.

are ya riddled with verucas yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭newbee22

J1-Was working on a hotel reception, mental when on the day shift but when I was lucky enough to be working 4-12 it was brill, literally sat on my ass for 8 hours doing nothing:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

Had a job emptying septic tanks
    Sh#t job but the backhanders where awesome .
    Made about 100€ a day just in tips Etc
    People are very embarrassed about there poo . Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Private sector cushy jobs sack them all rabble rabble pensions

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Door to door sales wasn't so bad at time, some days you'd get a bit of luck and get a couple of sales in your first hour, then I'd just **** off home for the rest of the day. :D

Then towards the end I didn't even bother trying to sell, I'd just drive about in the company car.

marketty wrote: »
    Private sector cushy jobs sack them all rabble rabble pensions

i think you are little bit confused there.

are ya riddled with verucas yet?

Was allowed to wear trainners too.

:p

Was allowed to wear trainners too.

:p

RUNNERS!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I did deliveries for an Antique shop during the summer after I finished school. I always found it handy, The drives were usually lengthy and could be to anywhere in the country but I love been on the road.:D The money was also excellent and it was only 3 days a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I sit at home and write articles for about 10 quid an hour. And I can do it whenever I want.

I also get paid to drink coffee and talk English to people.

pmcmahon wrote: »
    RUNNERS!!

It was in england, never heard the term runners till I moved here.

:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Worked weekends for a sub-contractor on the LUAS line construction.

He'd call to my door at 7am, collect me, I'd sleep till we arrived on site at 8.30am. Then we'd have tea. Then I'd get to supervise traffic/move mounds of dirts from one place to another/drive some machinary till 10:30am. Then we'd have tea. Then we'd start packing up. Then we'd have lunch. Then we'd go home at 1pm.

All for €180 per day.

I now regret this, as I do all public expenditure (and they wonder where it all went?!)

Good while it lasted.

It was in england, never heard the term runners till I moved here.

:p:p

Statement retracted :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭irish_stevo815

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Night porter

I could go in at eleven pm, chat to the receptionist and never see a soul until seven am the next morning

Maybe two hours of cleaning, watch some TV, eat some goodies from the fridge and fall asleep

New hotel so there might be under ten residents there some nights. Phone in my pocket on vibrate so if they phone me they'll wake me up. Doors locked and I've a vibrator alert for the doorbell

Spent more time sleeping then working
    Got to agree wit you There. Done night porter myself for a while. Done like 2 Or 3 nights during the week, while doing the night club at weekends. Week nights were pretty quiet so was grand. Was great when we got a wedding, I used to rake in the tips.

Got a couple of ladies on my night porter shifts too so can't really complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭Wimbago

Dunnes Stores, €18 p/h on a Sunday and as a student it bought a helluva lot of Dutch Gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

Worked as a receptionist, 9-5 double time on Sundays and only part time so avoided tax...
    Thems were the days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Eircom DSL support when it first came to market, Think I got on average 3 calls a day and of them only 1 was a correct number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Dublin Bus maintenance dept. Handiest number ever. The contract cleaners looked after the inside. All I had to do was change the oil and check the battery with a hydrometer on 3 buses a day. No more, no less. They even told me which ones.

The hardest part about the job was waiting 2 hours for a mechanic to remove the bung from the oil tank because it was so unionised, they had to do it. Ridiculous that the company was let get that way.

If I fancied a change, I'd go over and work on 'the wash'. Essentially, jump up on a bus and drive it through a huge carwash thing. Good craic for an 18 year old.

Best summer job straight out of school you can get.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

pmcmahon wrote: »
    i think you are little bit confused there.

No I'm just takin the mickey, imagine if public sector workers wre talking about how handy their jobs are, there'd be war

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,645 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I'm in it right now. I'm a paid tank expert. I fly around the world and look at tanks. (military type).

Dream job. Well, it would be if I flew first class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

Bertie is that you?

Dont think you could be Brian Cowen.... he certainly didn't have it cushie.

Couldnt be Brian as he probably couldnt figure out how to use a computer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

One easter break during secondry school i got a job shredding literally thousands of old files. Got a couple hundred quid for a few days work doing almost nothing. It was mind numblingly boring though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭ICANN

Working as an exam invigilator is a cushy one. I just stand there giving students evils or sit back and play countdown with the words on posters around the room.

I also worked in an office where I had to respond to about 3 letters a week and type a few numbers into a spreadsheet and sharpen a load of pencils.

While cushy numbers they're also brain numbing jobs so I suppose there's always a price to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭RubyRoss

Archiving: I selpt in until the archives arrived in the post, a little bit of computer work and box ticking and I was done for another day.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I've had a few beauties in my time.

Summer holidays from school/college - fireman in Shannon airport, never anything to do, if there was an emergency you called either Limerick or Ennis, had a snooker table and all in the break room.
    Network administrator for a small company in Galway, 4 computers, 1 file server, 1 printer, no connection to the outside world, BNC network.
    Y2K patcher - that was a great job, sent around Europe for a company to ensure all their printers were Y2K compliant, managed to check them all remotely so it was just a jolly for a year, also made a fortune for working at midnight.
    Bid manager for an IT Services company in Ireland, they didnt' have any business in Ireland except a few sub-offices for UK offices, really just worked from home and went to the UK every once and a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Civil servant on a J1 some years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

marketty wrote: »
    No I'm just takin the mickey, imagine if public sector workers wre talking about how handy their jobs are, there'd be war

They're all at home asleep in their solid gold houses at this time of night :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Worked in the Irish Light house service in the 1980's as a maintenance fitter and spent many a day during the week fishing off the coast or sitting in a pub waiting for Helicopter relief when everyone else in the country would be working. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭vandriver

My first job after school was at a pickle and jam factory near Manchester.I started on £120 a week stacking pallets.
    There was a union go slow on ,so I only worked 3 1/2 hours a day on my 8 hour shift.
    My mates mother who was a headmistress,earned less than me.
    It's been all downhill since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

One particular office job - the reason for my postcount being so high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

When I was 16 and 17 I got a job in a gameshop in blackrock and then st green. The shop did no business and I would spend the whole day playing street fighter and golden eye with customers. I was also allowes to take home any game I wanted any time. I would have done it for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

worked in a video store for about a year, I used to do the day shift and it was in an area that was mostly student housing, so during the summer there'd be fcuk all customers around in the daytime, so I worked my way through the top 250 imdb movies (the ones we had in stock anyway) and ate packets of m&ms and got paid for it :pac: my wholes days work of cleaning and stuff was done in about 10 minutes in the morning, the manager never gave a fcuk and used to leave me run the place, good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

When I was 14 I made £100 for holding a ladder for a painter for a few hours. Sitting outside an exam hall for the leaving cert was also easy money. I wish my grown up jobs were as easy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

I used to work for a particular British crisp company, on weeks when I was really motivated I could have all my sales calls done by wednesday lunchtime and would spend the rest of the week arseing around, Other weeks I would sit in the car and make up orders and send them in..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭sophieblake

I never had a cushy job but am looking for one. Anyone looking to fill a job doing next to nothing but getting paid really PM me