Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do Irish clubs let too many people in?

• 15-01-2012 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

After being out in Dublin (where I'm from) a few times recently I have began to thing that clubs seem to let people in until they become so packed its a battle to move anywhere inside them.

I'm a person who like going out and having the craic with my mates but going out in Dublin it seems like to get a drink, go for a smoke, go to the cloakroom or go anywhere in them seems to be a battle against hoards of people.

I have not noticed this being a problem in places on the continent. Anyone else notice this? Are irish club owners just obsessed with making cash that they'll pack the place out of it until it becomes a cattle mart?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

There's more craic to be had at a cattle mart than at a club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭nyan warrior

No more ppl means more drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I don't think the cattle choose to go to the mart.. again and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I used to go to an infamous club called Sir Henrys in Cork and the Gardai used to come in the odd time.

It was weird because everyone was off their faces and the DJ's used to put on kickin' tunes when the law came in.

They must have thought is was like a public asylum.

Some of the best times of my life so far were had in that club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 jimmi10

Sindri wrote: »
    There's more craic to be had at a cattle mart than at a club.

I'd agree with that!
    I don't think the cattle choose to go to the mart.. again and again.

Ah that's why I've being thinking of stopping to frequent them :-). The craic's much better in pubs and at house parties in my opinion. Plus you can hear your mates too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭mcw92

Begin posters raging on about how sh*t clubs are.
    I love clubs! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭bambera

I think Wheelans is one of the worst for that. If a fire broke out in there I reckon half the people would be fecked cause you can't move at all never mind trying to get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Some places do and it's shyte. F'ucked if there was a fire.
    Always felt that way - before the really original "old" comments start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Waaaaay too many.

There's no class or sophistication at an Irish club.

That said, most patrons don't seem to have or want it either, preferring to get embarrassingly wasted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭mikeyboy

It's nothing new. I worked in a club a fair few years ago, the place was licensed for 850 and when that was reached we used to start handing out the tickets that had been collected earlier 'til we hit 1,000. Before someone says it was a scam by the bouncers it was the boss who used to man the pay booth, he didn't trust anyone else to do it including his own daughter.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Waaaaay too many.

There's no class or sophistication at an Irish club.

That said, most patrons don't seem to have or want it either, preferring to get embarrassingly wasted.

Loosen up Liam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

All clubs have a max capacity that they are allowed to have in. It's set under the terms of their license and insurance and they should be keeping a count of how many people come in over the course of the night...then literally start the old system of forming a queue and only letting in the to balance against the people who leave.

I would say 0% of clubs actually do this and on a busy night all will be above their max legal capacity.

It's jokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭timewilltell

Coppers, and people wonder why it's like an ad for one night stands.. ye end up stuck to everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Not all clubs do this by a long stretch. Off the top of my head, the only two clubs I've been in that have been stupidly wedged are Coppers and McGowan's, the popularity of which will forever remain a mystery to me.

I like a club to be lively but I can't understand how people enjoy themselves when it's a 15-minute squeeze to get to the jacks and the bar's 6 deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This is the specific reason I hate Coppers so effing much. I get that people love the place but in all honesty I'm just not interested in having to fight my way through literally any time I want to go to a different part of the club.
    Pet hate: People who stop to say hi and chat when they run into a friend going the opposite way on a staircase or in a doorway. Like COME ON, Do you HAVE to hold up absolutely everyone? Would it be so hard to move to the side and not cause a feckin' bottleneck?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭toco123

In Cork city its the opposite, and my friends often complain. The bouncers are extremely strict and yet the clubs themselves are usually empty.
    image1.jpg

Reardens is the Cork Coppers - a kind of hell.

toco123 wrote: »
    In Cork city its the opposite, and my friends often complain. The bouncers are extremely strict and yet the clubs themselves are usually empty.
    image1.jpg
    God I could name a number of places in Cork that get so packed you cannot move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

jimmi10 wrote: »
    After being out in Dublin (where I'm from) a few times recently I have began to thing that clubs seem to let people in until they become so packed its a battle to move anywhere inside them.

I'm a person who like going out and having the craic with my mates but going out in Dublin it seems like to get a drink, go for a smoke, go to the cloakroom or go anywhere in them seems to be a battle against hoards of people.

I have not noticed this being a problem in places on the continent. Anyone else notice this? Are irish club owners just obsessed with making cash that they'll pack the place out of it until it becomes a cattle mart?

Strange behaviour. I've never known irish clubs to let anyone in at all . . . not even their Ma. One wonders how they stay in business.

Dudess wrote: »
    Reardens is the Cork Coppers - a kind of hell.

'A kind of hell' is a great way of describing it.