Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Springer spaniel help

• 15-01-2012 7:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭

I have a spring who is nearly one he is doing well but i need help as when we a rough shooting espically with alot of people and im not a back gun my dog wont stay back with the rest and hunt but rathers stay out with me running around.What i need to know is how do i get my dog to stay in wood and bush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Can you explain that a bit better? (sorry just not sure what you mean)

Your dog will generally want to run with you. It will generally check for you & leave the cover if nothing of interests resides in there.
    I have to constantly tell my springer to go into ditches. When he comes out I send him back in & no excuses. He goes back in. 2 years of this & the penny is dropping. He's going in on his own now, staying in longer & finding more & more game. Turning out a very useful little dog from a dog I would of considered "didn't have it"

Clarify the description & sure few lads here will help out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

will the dog hit the cover without you in it or will he come straight out after you like epointer said you were not clear in your discription more info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

havent a clue what you said mate????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Are you out with a group of people/dogs rough shooting and your dog stays within your range rather than hunting with the rest of the dogs? Wouldn't consider this a problem... (bearing in mind a pup can pick up lots of bad habits of other dogs) but if this is how you hunt regularly your dogs probably just a bit nervous about the older dogs and is happier with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dbroe333

Sorry about bad description :o . He used to be ranging far out so im happy hes staying around but what i mean is he wont stay in cover. With a group if im not at the back its useless as it means he just outside the cover with me running around.Im not sure if ya understand but say theres a line of cover e.g hedge and theres 3 or 4 of use we spilt up each side and walk the edge with someone up the front because the woodcock flush ahead its even worse when this a big group in forestery.Sorry if im still not clear :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

Is he behind the front shooter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Still don't get ya? Your in a group of hunters,u all spilt up to beat say a woodland? You want your dog to beat the woodland with the rest of the pack while your walking on the edge of the woodland withOut him? So you want him work him without is that what u mean?

Is this what your getting at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

He's out shooting woodcock in a group ye dumb bastards, how many times do ye want him to post it up for ye!:rolleyes:

Basically what you want him to do is stay in the cover. Sounds like your dog is still very puppish. He's still only a year old, too much hunting can be bad for him too. whats he like when you hunt him on his own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Sorry Deeks we don't speak gibberish. You have translated well fair play :D;) (only kidding with you before the knickers start twisting)

It appears the dog just doesn't want to hunt cover no matter what way it's described. Keep training him to get in & hunt it. If he won't after a few months of consistant trying & training he may just not "have it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

It appears the dog just doesn't want to hunt cover no matter what way it's described. Keep training him to get in & hunt it. If he won't after a few months of consistant trying & training he may just not "have it"

Not my knickers, the wifes, they're just too big for me thats all.:p

He'll hunt alright, I'ld say he's a bit puppish. I have a 10 month old springer bitch and she's not hunting I'm going to try her on rabbits to see if I can get her going. I wouldn't give up on him just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭alan86

give him time he is still young. its my springers first season this year at the start of the season she was only running long side ditches but now she will rip them to pieces they cop on to where the game is after awhile. try taking him out whit one other person and an experienced dog and he will follow along i find young dogs get too excited when in big groups. but if its a case he is not hunting as deeks said get him hunting rabbits. i have a big park close to me full of rabbits i always use to get a young dog hunting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭dbroe333

Christ its hard to word it. Yes spunk84 thats want i mean i want him to stay inside with the pack will im outside.Thanks for yer replys think i have a idea.Sorry about all the confussion reading back can see how ya wouldnt understand :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Huntertom365

You could also try boarding the dog with ur mates dogs for a while so he will become more accustomed and friendly with them.
    Then when ur out hunting a big cover or a wood with them he shouldn't be looking for you as much and will want to be in hunting the cover with the other dogs!;)