Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Laptop has errors prior to my purchase

• 15-01-2012 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

I bought a HP laptop from Argos on 02/11/2011 and here are the last few errors in a list of over 3,500 , HP tells me that my laptop was made in 06/11 but my warranty was activated in 07/11, the box had no security seal just selotape I think it was used as a display model but I have no proof either way my laptop continues to display these kernal-event tracing errors- PLEASE HELP
    Gina

01-13-2012 01:50 AM

Warning 02/11/2011 18:47:09 Search 3036 Gatherer
    Error 09/06/2011 10:00:08 Kernel-EventTracing 2 Session
    Error 09/06/2011 09:36:48 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 09/06/2011 09:36:28 PrintService 509 Routing print spooler command(s)
    Error 09/06/2011 09:33:45 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 14/05/2011 21:14:34 Kernel-EventTracing 2 Session
    Error 14/05/2011 20:48:10 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 14/05/2011 20:46:54 PrintService 512 Initializing a print provider
    Error 14/05/2011 20:45:38 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 02/01/2007 01:30:13 Dhcp-Client 1001 Address Configuration State Event
    Error 02/01/2007 01:27:57 PrintService 512 Initializing a print provider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Are you getting these error messages from the Event Viewer? Also, does the issue manifest itself in any other way or is it just harmless messages in the event viewer?

Try setting any Windows Media Center services to disabled (If you don't use them) or manual start and see if the errors continue.

To do that (Windows 7):
    1. Open the Start menu and type in services.msc and then push enter
    2. Look for anything related to Windows Media center
    3. Right click on it and open properties
    4. Change it from Automatic to manual or disabled as per your preferences
    5. Push Ok and restart your computer to see if the errors have subsided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 ginada

The laptop wouldn't shut down and it freezes quite a bit, I have my final year thesis between now and May so I'm quite annoyed coz my previous laptop was working fine it just had a few probs and I got a new laptop to ensure that my data would be safe- now I'm left with this crappy yoke - I want to return it- Dya think I hav grounds to do that ?

Are you getting these error messages from the Event Viewer? Also, does the issue manifest itself in any other way or is it just harmless messages in the event viewer?

Try setting any Windows Media Center services to disabled (If you don't use them) or manual start and see if the errors continue.

To do that (Windows 7):
    1. Open the Start menu and type in services.msc and then push enter
    2. Look for anything related to Windows Media center
    3. Right click on it and open properties
    4. Change it from Automatic to manual or disabled as per your preferences
    5. Push Ok and restart your computer to see if the errors have subsided

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Before people on the forum can give you decent advice you need to answer partyatmygaff's question about the error message.

Where exactly are you seeing these errors?

Were these errors there from Day 1?

Have you tried backing up your data and resetting to factory default?

When you set up the laptop for the first time, did you have to set up user / country / language settings or was this all done before you got bought it. If you bought a display model, the laptop should have been reset to the factory configuration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ginada wrote: »
    I bought a HP laptop from Argos on 02/11/2011 and here are the last few errors in a list of over 3,500 , HP tells me that my laptop was made in 06/11 but my warranty was activated in 07/11, the box had no security seal just selotape I think it was used as a display model but I have no proof either way my laptop continues to display these kernal-event tracing errors- PLEASE HELP
    Gina

You always take a risk buying something New when the seal is broken. To this day I still get people that throw fits because corporate has us open up new laptops, preload them, and sell them as new with a preload. Either way.

HP's response seems a bit weird. If a laptop is manufactured on a certain date, and your warranty only activates later, then whats the point of a warranty? The warranty covers any material or workmanship defects that result from the manufacturing process. If it worked like the rep says it does they could sell you a broken toaster and it wouldn't matter since it wasn't covered under the warranty when it was made. Mind boggling stuff.

In actuality a warranty covers a product from the moment it is produced, until X number of months or years after the end-point of sale. A laptop could have been manufactured 2 years ago, sat on a Best Buy shelf for those 2 years, and the buyer would still get a MFR warranty. In effect it still works out the same, since nothing would have happened to the laptops ability to operate in that timeframe. No heat, wear and tear, nothing.

Get back to another HP rep and clear that up.

On the PC: Back up all your files, perform a system recovery, and then check for any errors after a clean install.

Are you experiencing any actual errors or are you just concerned that it shows old old errors from before you bought it?

The laptop wouldn't shut down and it freezes quite a bit, I have my final year thesis between now and May so I'm quite annoyed coz my previous laptop was working fine it just had a few probs and I got a new laptop to ensure that my data would be safe- now I'm left with this crappy yoke - I want to return it- Dya think I hav grounds to do that ?
    First things first, back up anything related to your thesis. Regardless of your laptop's current condition you should never keep only one copy of something as important as a thesis.

Now as for the problem you're having, could you answer the questions I asked you in my previous post and try out my suggestion? If that doesn't work, can you post your laptop's model number?

As for returning the laptop, it does sound as if the laptop was opened before you bought it. That said, it's been more than two months and I don't think Argos will be too co-operative. Seeing as it's just a software issue, it'd be far less hassle to just fix the problem rather than go through Argos.

Warning 02/11/2011 18:47:09 Search 3036 Gatherer
    Error 09/06/2011 10:00:08 Kernel-EventTracing 2 Session
    Error 09/06/2011 09:36:48 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 09/06/2011 09:36:28 PrintService 509 Routing print spooler command(s)
    Error 09/06/2011 09:33:45 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 14/05/2011 21:14:34 Kernel-EventTracing 2 Session
    Error 14/05/2011 20:48:10 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 14/05/2011 20:46:54 PrintService 512 Initializing a print provider
    Error 14/05/2011 20:45:38 Kernel-EventTracing 3 Session
    Error 02/01/2007 01:30:13 Dhcp-Client 1001 Address Configuration State Event
    Error 02/01/2007 01:27:57 PrintService 512 Initializing a print provider

Is it acceptable that my laptop had errors in May 11 and June 11 and the warranty began in July 11...although I purchased it in November 11> My laptop has over 3,500 kernal event tracing errors-
    MY PROBLEM IS THAT THE CURRENT ERROR WAS THERE PRIOR TO PURCHASE, IT'S A DODGY LAPTOP! I already owned a dodgy DELL but chose to purchase a new problem free machine, I ended up with this lemon!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭FSL

If the Laptop was working when you got it and is now not working then take at least two copies of your personal data on different removable media and restore the laptop to it's factory settings.

Run windows update to bring the system upto date. Check the laptop is functioning correctly if it isn't send it back. If it's fine create a system restore point

Install any other software you installed a few applications at a time check the laptop is functioning correctly.

If it is then create a system restore point.

If it isn't then uninstall the last batch of software you installed.

Restore the system to your last system restore point.

Reinstall the software you have just uninstalled one application at a time fully checking the system after each one until you find which piece of software is causing the problem.

When you are happy that everything you need is installed and working then restore your personal data.

Errors showing up in the event viewer don't mean you computer has a problem. If you right click on the error and choose properties you can see a more detailed explanation.

Finally up to date anti-virus software does not and probably never will prevent you from ever getting a virus. It certainly helps but you also need to exercise common sense and accept that the more computer literate people become the more cunning and devious the cyber criminals become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

Hi Gina,
    If you bought the laptop as new, and have a receipt, then you should be able to go back to Argos and ask them to explain why the laptop has errors going back to before you bought it.
    These errors appear to prove that the laptop was used prior to your purchase. Your contract is with Argos, not HP, so they should resolve the issue. You can stress that your complaint is not with the errors, but with the fact that you may have been mis-sold an item as new, when it wasn't.
    In fairness, Argos are very good in dealing with issues.

On a seperate point, if you have an internet connection, the dropbox application is fantastic for backing up documents such as your thesis. It will save the file to your hardrive which is then backed up automatically on the dropbox server (when you are connected to the internet). Even if your harddrive fails, you will be able to access your thesis from any computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

You are over reacting and you are ignoring the advice you were given. Twice you have been asked to do partyatmygaffs suggestion and report back on it.

Also capital letters is considered the height of bad manners on internet fora.

Is it acceptable that my laptop had errors in May 11 and June 11 and the warranty began in July 11

What would you prefer? The current situation or your warranty beginning in May? If it started in May the warranty would be shorter, meaning you could end up having to pay for replacements or for labour sooner than you might right now.

As for the errors, how do you think the operating system and additional software got onto the laptop? Someone in the factory installed the OS and software, so the laptop was powered on and therefore registered errors and other events to the event viewer.

Argos are very good about returns allowing 16-days no quibble returns on most items. If the laptop was dodgy when you brought it home why did you not bring it back straight away? Why did you wait two months?

syclops, don't be so smart!
    My laptop was prob used as a display model in Argos, what I need is proof of this...OK, capitals woo woo, is dat the feds I hear?
    I don't want to fix my laptop I want to know how YOU, if it was your laptop, could figure out if your brand new laptop had pre-existing errors (Kinda like a wee bit of CSI, computer system investigation LOL), I need to find a board with tech dudes with a sense of adventure, like that Ashton Kutcher in that programme where he hangs out with the nerds.
    This beauty needs a GEEK, lol.
    So...Thank you so much for all the help, if I don't get a refund I'll do all those things that yiz have advised, and ...what time is dat party in your gaff?
    Seriously, thanks lads, I'll have a look at the properties of the items in the event viewer and see if I can get more info.
    Thanks a billion
    Gina : )

My laptop was prob used as a display model in Argos,
    Argos rarely have laptops on display in their shops... And if they have a display, the laptop is sold through the Argos Outlet in the UK and not in stores.

Does your local Argos have laptops on display? Another thing, was your laptop in any way blemished or marked when you bought it?
    I don't want to fix my laptop I want to know how YOU, if it was your laptop, could figure out if your brand new laptop had pre-existing errors
    My laptop had "errors" recorded in its BIOS and in the Windows image already installed on it dated two weeks before I purchased it. If you think every laptop that's sold as new has never been turned on and used you'd be mistaken. Nearly every single manufacturer tests their laptops prior to selling them. The fact you have errors on your computer from before the purchase date doesn't mean anything i'm afraid.
    (Kinda like a wee bit of CSI, computer system investigation LOL), I need to find a board with tech dudes with a sense of adventure, like that Ashton Kutcher in that programme where he hangs out with the nerds.
    So...Thank you so much for all the help, if I don't get a refund I'll do all those things that yiz have advised, and ...what time is dat party in your gaff?
    Seriously, thanks lads, I'll have a look at the properties of the items in the event viewer and see if I can get more info.
    Thanks a billion
    To be honest, if the laptop looks new and there is no visible evidence of it having been used you're better off just fixing it. It's not very difficult to fix an issue like this and it's an awful lot less hassle than going to Argos and trying to get them to replace the laptop.

Oky doky
    Advice appreciated, I'll just fix it then, : ).
    Gina

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

My laptop was prob used as a display model in Argos, what I need is proof of this

As another poster has pointed out, Argos don't have display models. Even if they do they are not switched on. Even if they did sell you a display model there is nothing wrong with that so long as it has not been used.

...OK, capitals woo woo, is dat the feds I hear?

On practically every internet forum and chatroom using capitals is read as shouting. In a forum where you are asking for help it is very bad manners and people will not help you if you shout. I am only tell you for your own good.

I don't want to fix my laptop I want to know how YOU, if it was your laptop, could figure out if your brand new laptop had pre-existing errors (Kinda like a wee bit of CSI, computer system investigation LOL), I need to find a board with tech dudes with a sense of adventure, like that Ashton Kutcher in that programme where he hangs out with the nerds.

Attitude like this will also not get you help on most internet fora.

Aside from the fact that most geeks will tell you what we have all told you which is the computer was definitely turned on before you bought it because it was installed and tested before put into the box. Also most geeks will tell you that if they got upset every time their event viewer had errors in it they would have given up IT long ago. Having errors in a log file is a good thing, it gives clues as to what went wrong and how it can be fixed. A computer freezing or going dead with nothing written to a log would be much worse as it could indicate hardware failure, and would make troubleshooting the issue much harder.

Thanks a billion

Thats the problem with attitude like above. You no longer sound sincere.

My advice, would be a full re-install of windows with the rescue CD. Make sure antivirus and anti-malware software is installed before you access the internet, and write your thesis.

As for backups get a dedicated gmail account for your thesis. Everytime you save it, send a copy of your thesis to the account with the date and time of the last save. This will turn gmail into a crude but very safe and secure version control system and an excellent backup solution.

Good luck!

Argos does have display models, it was the store manager that told me-

I couldn't be arsed to read your essay- cranky boots

G

Quote=syklops;76623914]
    My laptop was prob used as a display model in Argos, what I need is proof of this

As another poster has pointed out, Argos don't have display models. Even if they do they are not switched on. Even if they did sell you a display model there is nothing wrong with that so long as it has not been used.

...OK, capitals woo woo, is dat the feds I hear?

On practically every internet forum and chatroom using capitals is read as shouting. In a forum where you are asking for help it is very bad manners and people will not help you if you shout. I am only tell you for your own good.

Attitude like this will also not get you help on most internet fora.

Aside from the fact that most geeks will tell you what we have all told you which is the computer was definitely turned on before you bought it because it was installed and tested before put into the box. Also most geeks will tell you that if they got upset every time their event viewer had errors in it they would have given up IT long ago. Having errors in a log file is a good thing, it gives clues as to what went wrong and how it can be fixed. A computer freezing or going dead with nothing written to a log would be much worse as it could indicate hardware failure, and would make troubleshooting the issue much harder.

Thanks a billion

Thats the problem with attitude like above. You no longer sound sincere.

My advice, would be a full re-install of windows with the rescue CD. Make sure antivirus and anti-malware software is installed before you access the internet, and write your thesis.

As for backups get a dedicated gmail account for your thesis. Everytime you save it, send a copy of your thesis to the account with the date and time of the last save. This will turn gmail into a crude but very safe and secure version control system and an excellent backup solution.

Good luck![/Quote]