Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to get six hundred points in the Leaving Cert

Options
  • 14-01-2012 6:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭

RORY CREAN

Managing your time properly and drawing up a realistic timetable are key to making it through the year

I AM A FIRST-YEAR medical student in UCD and I got straight As in my Leaving Cert this year. I went to Blackrock College for most of my secondary schooling but moved to the Institute of Education for the exam year.

Unusually, I suppose, I remember the Leaving Cert year with fondness. Genuinely, very little was unenjoyable. I enjoyed the camaraderie of being in the same boat with all the other Institute students and my only gripe was with the HPAT, the entrance exam for medicine.

I suppose the HPAT, or rather the effects the HPAT had on the students, was the least enjoyable element.

Because the grading system is based purely on the performance of your peers, there was a sense of competition that only added unnecessary stress and complications to the school day.

I love “dad music” and drama. I sings in choirs and have performed solo in the NCH and played the lead in school productions.

I have a unique approach to study. I write short, personal descriptions of everything I learn, making small dramas and mini-epics out of everything from ionic bonding to French verbs.

It works me because you can only put something in your own words if you understand it first.

GOING UP

(to 600 points)

KEEPING YOUR SOCIAL LIFE

You stand absolutely nothing to gain by shutting yourself in a dark room with only a candle and a textbook for company.