Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 Derry lads starting in Premiership

• 14-01-2012 4:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭

Gibson,Duffy and McClean.

Good going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

Londonderry no? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Samich wrote: »

Posts like that should be a bannable offense :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Paddy McCourt is still going strong in another league too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Watched Everton today and both Duffy and Gibson were solid enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

I have never seen him play since he left the LOI. Very talented but wildly inconsistent and often very ineffective for long stretches of games and indeed entire games. Never rated him that highly myself. Much better players ironically on show in the LOI at present. Then again he may have improved since he left as I don't watch scottish football.

He was capable of that bit of magic every now and again but he was no Jackie Jameson, Patsy Freyne, Dave Barry or Pat Byrne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Going strong his hardly the term I would use comes on as a sub most of the time somehow "the Derry Pele" can't play full games :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

No thanks.Although if Sky did a documentary on the 3 lads.....thats what it'd be reffered as.God love em:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Shane Duffy had a great game in a make shift Everton defense. I think Moyes rates him but he won't get a regular place in the first team. Moyes is too cautious to play a 19 year old. He was Everton's MOTM for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Lumbo wrote: »
    Shane Duffy had a great game in a make shift Everton defense. I think Moyes rates him but he won't get a regular place in the first team. Moyes is too cautious to play a 19 year old. He was Everton's MOTM for me.
    I watched the match and thought he acquitted himself quite well but wouldn't go as far as giving him Everton MOTM. Positionally, Darren Bent had the beating of him too often. Obviously Duffy is young and inexeperienced, so let's hope he can learn from playing against strikers like Bent.

Was also surprised at just how big he was for a 20 year old, he looks like he would easily be the biggest player in the Irish squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

He's 6'4" afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Was also surprised at just how big he was for a 20 year old, he looks like he would easily be the biggest player in the Irish squad.

In Derry they have a sign that says you must be this tall to play football.

A tricky little winger is 6,2 up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Lumbo wrote: »
    Don't think Moyes has ever been afraid to trust youths. If hes good enough he'll get his place.

curry-muff wrote: »
    Posts like that should be a bannable offense :mad:

I don't actually know what I was at making this comment? :pac:

Just how they say Derry is the only city with 6 silent letters :pac:

I don't actually know what I was at making this comment? :pac:

Just how they say Derry is the only city with 6 silent letters :pac:

City is called Londonderry, people who live there well some of them dont like it.

Last season i seen my 1st LondonDerry 68 miles sign, they must have only put it up that day.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    City is called Londonderry, people who live there well some of them dont like it.

Last season i seen my 1st LondonDerry 68 miles sign, they must have only put it up that day.

The majority don't like it then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Who gives a fuck what it's called?

It's the city in Northern Ireland where the 3 footballers - that are the topic of this thread - are from.

Sorted.

dreamers75 wrote: »

Dream on dreamers. Dream on. Derry is what its called.Go to the Bogside spouting your Londonderry crap and see how long you last.Youre the same fella who posted that you hate Celtic coz theyre all Catholic????????????? Id say theres something lacking in you.

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Dream on dreamers. Dream on. Derry is what its called.Go to the Bogside spouting your Londonderry crap and see how long you last.Youre the same fella who posted that you hate Celtic coz theyre all Catholic????????????? Id say theres something lacking in you.

eh? it actually says on road signs in Northern Ireland Londonderry X miles. They are normally defaced and London scribbled out. I go there twice a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Gibson,Duffy and McClean.

Good going.

Not to mention Derry for QPR.....

(I'll gt me coat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Good to see the patriots defending Derry.

I expect you'll all be taking up season tickets for the Brandywell next year instead of supporting Celtic on the TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Not really though is he?

stovelid wrote: »

I expect you'll all be taking up season tickets for the Brandywell next year instead of supporting Celtic on the TV.
    Instead of going to Celtic Park and supporting our beloved club you mean? Irish Celtic fans go in their droves to Parkhead to support the Bhoys.I'm one of many.At least you referred to the city as Derry. This londonderry stuff is ridiculous.Clearly a Brit "we own your Irish asses" thing.It never worked though.Derry is as Irish as Limerick or Cork.;)

stovelid wrote: »

Anyone who thanked this post is clearly as deluded as the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Awww feck sake, here is a thread about 3 guys from here starting in the English league and its turned to a petty thread on what the name of the city is.

Its official name is Londonderry, most people call it Derry even protestants, only people who call it Londonderry are ones trying to get a rise out of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Anyone who thanked this post is clearly as deluded as the poster.

Your right - you cant support a team by watching a TV. That's laughable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Derry is as Irish as Limerick or Cork.;)

Under British rule. So not really tbf.

SantryRed wrote: »
    Your clearly a WUM tbf. Typing crap that you wouldnt dare speak.

SantryRed wrote: »
    But unfortunately he is telling the truth and who would he be scared to say it to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

How am I a WUM? I'm calling you up on some ridiculous sh1te you post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,461 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

The amusement I get from the Dublin fans calling Derry British and they come from ahem...The Pale:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,959 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Do not understand this thread given the vast amount of Irish players that have played in the Premiership over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Plenty of Derry lads playing in "another league" right here on our doorstep. About the same level as McCourt is playing also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

CSF wrote: »
    Do not understand this thread given the vast amount of Irish players that have played in the Premiership over the years.

Dublin.

The idea of the thread was that you dont often get more than 1 or 2 players from a place other than Dublin playing in Premiership at any one time,and on the same day.

i.e Donegal - Given,Coleman. Cork - Keane,Irwin,Miller.

doncarlos wrote: »

Plenty of Derry lads playing in "another league" right here on our doorstep. About the same level as McCourt is playing also.

Nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Reckon in years to come, the same 3 lads will be playing together for the Republic of Ireland team. Bring it on.

As regards the SPL, apart from the big 2, the rest are LOI standard. There are as many players going to the PL/Championship from the LOI as there is from the SPL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

Reckon in years to come, the same 3 lads will be playing together for the Republic of Ireland team. Bring it on.

As regards the SPL, apart from the big 2, the rest are LOI standard. There are as many players going to the PL/Championship from the LOI as there is from the SPL.

Apart from the big two, I think the LOI standard is better tbh. Scottish football recently has taken a big decline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Nonsense

Nope.

Trilla wrote: »
    Nonsense

Nope.
    Yes it is the top two here would put up a reasonable showing fighting for round about 6/7th place the rest would be really struggling but when it comes down to it we will never know