Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Easter Fleche

• 13-01-2012 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭

So its on 5th of April, anyone from Munster tempted to get involved?
    :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Bump

Read this

Bump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭on_the_nickel

Would love to, but with child 3 expected imminently, I won't be doing it. What's the climb in the banner photo, anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭rottenhat

Chaps

Just to say that if you want to enter this year's Fleche, you need to get your proposed route to me by March 23rd, so I have time to check it and suggest changes if necessary. Your route must specify your control points, and I'll measure the distance according to the shortest route between the two points given by Google Maps walking directions. I'll need to know who's on your team at that point also, and a catchy name for the team.

Full details here. If you have any questions or need advice, just email or PM me.

I have one team entered so far, and a few expressions of interest from others.

Personally I've really enjoyed the two fleches that I've done - there's definitely a special feeling about riding through the night, and working as team to finish a challenging distance. It's a ride you can make as easy or as hard as suits you - going for maximum mileage, or running your route past friends' or relatives' houses so you can stop in for tea and a meal. The minimum distance of 360km is very easily achievable in 24 hours - you're more likely to find yourself having to kill time to avoid getting to the end too soon on a short route.

If you're working on a route, the two things I'd say to you are to remember that it's the Easter weekend, so there may be fewer places open to control at than normal, and keep it as flat as you can!

Previous threads (including ride reports):

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,515 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Anyone looking for company for the Easter weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Seriously tempted by this, although I don't have a team or any idea of a route.

How long of a route could I suggest to keep you interested?

CramCycle wrote: »
    How long of a route could I suggest to keep you interested?

No idea, I'm an audax virgin. Would like to break 400km anyway although to be honest I haven't really gotten much past 300km in a day myself so not really sure what I'm capable of.

If you can do over 300km in a day, you can do pretty much any audax distance - each day is just a matter of knocking out 350k, eating like a horse, and getting a few hours kip.

You could try putting a post up on the mailing list to see if anyone has room on a team, or would be interested in getting one together.

Mailing lists are far too much hassle for my tastes. Cramcycle, do you fancy teaming up for this (provided I can keep up)? Or have you found company already?

I have not found anyone yet, glad to have you on board. I won't be out this weekend but we should arrange to meet up for a spin (see can you tolerate my company for 24 hours).

Yeah, grand. I'm busy this weekend too but if you want to arrange something for next weekend or even during the week sometime just drop me a pm or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I have had an idea to do the flèche, but tbh I will probably not as the time involved scares the bejaysus out of me.

Has anyone done a flèche having only completed say 215km as a maximum beforehand?

I have a lovely route.
    Mizen Head to Dublin (circa 380km).

I know that I could do this over two days with a nights kip in between but I would be completely unsure that I could xo it in one day.

What are folks experiences of doing something like this with no prior experience.

I won't make Virginia 300 beforehand in order to gauge ability or lack thereof.

The first time I rode a 400, I had done nothing longer than a 200 (well, one 300, six years previously) and it wasn't a problem. I would say 380 in 24 hours is very doable, and you'd be able to factor in decent amount of rest time during the day. If you can find a friend or relative who'll let you stop at their house between about 3 and 5am for a warm up and a quick kip, you'll really be set.

I'll be expecting your entry on Tuesday so.

Anyone want to put together a team. I will do just over 360km, but I would not be able for 400km +

I have a nice route that will have the benefit of heading to Dublin from the South West.

Was thinking Mizen Head Macroom Mitchelstown Stradbally Dublin.

Although if we were to head Kerry Limerick Dunlin I would be able to offer places for a 2 hour rest and change of clothes.

Let me know.

I tried to do this last year but the day didn't suit. I don't have that excuse this year.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Anyone want to put together a team. I will do just over 360km, but I would not be able for 400km +

Do we have 3? Would you go to 400 if I promised to stay in front for the whole thing?

Getting down to Mizen head sounds like a bit of a pain but the idea of riding with (hopefully) a south-westerly tail wind is certainly appealing.

Yep, it would be a pain. But you could start somewhere easier, like Bantry or Kenmare, and just add 40km.
    But otherise its a nice quiet route that has no real climbs (just a few drags). In general it is on good roads that see little car use becuase of the M8.

I suppose I could get the aircoach down to Cork and then ride out to Mizen and camp there the night before, make a mini tour of it.

Just a reminder - all entries for the Fleche need to be in to me by Friday week (the 23rd). We're looking good for a few teams this year so we might try to coordinate start times so we can finish more or less together and go and get something to eat afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

rottenhat wrote: »
    Full details here. If you have any questions or need advice, just email or PM me.

This is giving 2011 as the year though the days cited fit this year...

ROK ON wrote: »

I have a nice route that will have the benefit of heading to Dublin from the South West.

Was thinking Mizen Head Macroom Mitchelstown Stradbally Dublin.

Although if we were to head Kerry Limerick Dunlin I would be able to offer places for a 2 hour rest and change of clothes.

Let me know.

I tried to do this last year but the day didn't suit. I don't have that excuse this year.

I might be up for this. Have you a planned start/finish date?

cdaly_ wrote: »
    This is giving 2011 as the year though the days cited fit this year...

Corrected. Sorry about that.

Team formed, entry is in (with one or two mistakes, apologies RottenHat).

thebouldwhacker, cdaly_, tonyandthewhale and myself will be heading from Cork (kent station) to Dundrum in one of the most awkward routes possible.

Route is a lovely 401km at last check (with google maps) comes up at 406 with ridewithGPS.

a south-westerly tail wind is certainly appealing.

Wrong.

14 hours cycling into a headwind, I'm not sure I'm ready to write a report...
    Great adventure for sure!

14 hours from Cork to Roscommon? You lads must have been suffering all right. We had a pretty tough nine hours out to Ballinrobe and the drag home along the N81 this morning was no joke either. Still waiting to hear a full report from your glorious leader.

Hope you managed to enjoy some of it anyway.

tbh it was over 14, as for our leader, last I saw of him he had lost his mind. He was laughing in the window of a shop mumbling about cycling a tandum next year so he could get some sleep.
    Shame to see a good man crack like that...

Easily the worst thing to happen to anybody, ever. Got free coffee in Athboy though.

...the Garda in Roscommon was nice too....

edit,

the sambo's in Longford were top class too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Nutters - Maximum Respect!

...the Garda in Roscommon was nice too....

edit,

the sambo's in Longford were top class too...

And the sambos in Longford were in Edgeworthstown (courtesy of Cramcycle's mammy who got out of bed at 2 in the morning to look after us...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 926 ✭✭✭G rock

anyone feeling up to a ride report yet??

G rock wrote: »
    anyone feeling up to a ride report yet??

I don't think anyone ever will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

CramCycle wrote: »
    I don't think anyone ever will.

Booo, pls give us an account of your epic endeavour.

Inquitus wrote: »
    Booo, pls give us an account of your epic endeavour.

I arrived back to family who proclaimed I had a lovely tan.

I have wind burn, not a tan, it won't stop, my face feels like its being grilled every minute of the day.

Let it stop, please.

You doing the brown stuff 400 this year cramcycle?