Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problem with Punditry

• 13-01-2012 2:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭

Article relating mainly to MOTD:
    http://www.thesportcollective.com/the-problem-with-football-punditry/2011/05/

Points raised are relevant throughout other programmes and papers. In particular I'm refering to the panel of Dunphy & Giles. I know the argument there is that its entertaining, but then give it its own show and get in pundits that know what they are on about.

The most frustrating analysis though for me has come from whoever the sports journalist is for The Metro. Not alone are the views obviously copied and pasted from various online blogs, but when an original attempt to write is made the glaring mistakes are woeful. Surely people like this are keeping actual talent out of a job, and fueling the nonesense that some fans will just repeat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The last bit of your post, is an idiot filter.

You can tell the idiots in your job, or your group of friends by the way they spout "opinions" they've read in the metro while licking the window on the bus that morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

The biased and outrageous pundits (Hansen, Dunphy et al) are an unfortunate necessity of coverage. They do get you talking or lamenting them as opposed to the blandness of top top guy Jamie Redknapp.

That said, there are a couple of good pundits out there who tend to offer balanced and knowledgeable opinion; Lee Dixon and Gary Neville are two that spring to mind.

Jaysus, knowledgeable and Gary Neville in the same sentence. Never thought I'd write something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

TV pundits I'd rather not listen too :

Ray Wilkins
    Phil Thompson
    Lou Macari
    Eamon Dunphy
    Jamie Redknapp
    Alan Hansen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Hansen biased? Certainly not outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,995 ✭✭✭DoctorGonzo08

gavredking wrote: »
    TV pundits I'd rather not listen too :

Ray Wilkins
    Phil Thompson
    Lou Macari
    Eamon Dunphy
    Jamie Redknapp
    Alan Hansen

Not forgetting Fat Pat Dolan and Mark 'The most bitter depressing man ever' Lawrenson.

Does anyone seriously expect an in-depth analysis of a match in five or ten minutes at half time/full time anyway?

You can get proper analysis with really knowledgable people who have had a good bit of time to watch and react to the games in podcasts like Football Weekly, and on websites like Zonalmarking. It's is not knee-jerk or reactionary analysis either, considered opinions and non-headline grabbing articles and shows are much better.

Pre/during/post match "analysis" is lowest common denominator stuff for the most part, or showing an incident from a million camrea angles in super-slo-mo-hd, it means nothing.

Vacuous cliche ridden vox pops.

Only RTE seem to do it differently and provoke the watcher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

mike65 wrote: »

Hansen is shocking on all fronts imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

mike65 wrote: »

During the Suarez sentence, he wimped out of giving a real opinion. Not to mention, the repeated usage of a dated former word to describe black people.

Former club, and what not.

Des wrote: »
    Does anyone seriously expect an in-depth analysis of a match in five or ten minutes at half time/full time anyway?

You can get proper analysis with really knowledgable people who have had a good bit of time to watch and react to the games in podcasts like Football Weekly, and on websites like Zonalmarking. It's is not knee-jerk or reactionary analysis either, considered opinions and non-headline grabbing articles and shows are much better.

Pre/during/post match "analysis" is lowest common denominator stuff for the most part, or showing an incident from a million camrea angles in super-slo-mo-hd, it means nothing.

Vacuous cliche ridden vox pops.

Only RTE seem to do it differently and provoke the watcher.

I don't think it has to be this way though. As much as I dislike the guy, Gary Neville actually gives a very good post match analysis.

I strongly disagree in the way RTE do it. I don't think it provokes the viewer at all. You can be watching a Liverpool V Inter game and the discussion pre match will be about Bobby Charlton, Pele & why Ronaldo is always diving. City will be playing Spurs, and the discussion will be about why all the promoted teams are rubbish. 95% of the time it is just ridiculous.

I don't think it has to be this way though. As much as I dislike the guy, Gary Neville actually gives a very good post match analysis.

I strongly disagree in the way RTE do it. I don't think it provokes the viewer at all. You can be watching a Liverpool V Inter game and the discussion pre match will be about Bobby Charlton, Pele & why Ronaldo is always diving. City will be playing Spurs, and the discussion will be about why all the promoted teams are rubbish. 95% of the time it is just ridiculous.

It most certainly does provoke the watchers. Damn near every CL match night you'll get people posting about the latest antics of Dunphy, Giles and Billo.

They get the viewers. How do we know? RTE haven't changed it, that's how we know. Enough people tune in so they keep on doing what they are doing.

You are correct, it is ridiculous. But Eamon Dunphy has built himself a pretty lucrative career out of trolling with his ridiculous opinions.

I LOVE, I mean LOVE watching United games with my United friends. They get so annoyed by the RTE lads, it's hilarious to watch them. Ditto for Pool fans, and Ditto for the reactions of people on here.

Des wrote: »
    It most certainly does provoke the watchers. Damn near every CL match night you'll get people posting about the latest antics of Dunphy, Giles and Billo.

They get the viewers. How do we know? RTE haven't changed it, that's how we know. Enough people tune in so they keep on doing what they are doing.

You are correct, it is ridiculous. But Eamon Dunphy has built himself a pretty lucrative career out of trolling with his ridiculous opinions.

I LOVE, I mean LOVE watching United games with my United friends. They get so annoyed by the RTE lads, it's hilarious to watch them. Ditto for Pool fans, and Ditto for the reactions of people on here.

All very true. I used to watch the game on RTE, but I would switch to ITV or BBC during half time etc. But I find they are every bit as bad now that I don't have anywhere to turn now.

Its like the article says though, as long as the viewers are tuning in, RTE will not change it. Where I would like to see correct investment happen is in MNS. I think you could get together a good panel of top journalists and run it at a proper bloody hour. However even here you will see they were opt for a half name footballer or Roddy Collins or Pat Dolan.

Have to admit at times Setanta have tried this, and I would want to encourage it.