Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irritating upper-deck passengers

• 13-01-2012 2:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭

1. You get a seat in the upper deck on a wet day when the front window is misted up. Do the people sitting at the front bother to wipe part of the window so those behind can see what the traffic is like ahead? Do they F***. RRRR.

2. This one is worse. You are coming down from the upper deck at a stop where lots of people are getting off. The fellow (always a fellow) first down the stairs does not try to alternate with those leaving the bottom deck. Instead he "politely" waits at the bottom of the stairs for all the lower deck people to leave before he moves, thus holding up all the other uper deck passengers.
    RRRRRRRR.

Hanging is too good for some of these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,675 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

I think you're overstating things a bit there - you're not driving the bus so you don't really need to see the road ahead and you'll get off the bus eventually (maybe an extra 30 seconds?) so no need to rush really?

Mind you, I can sympathise with the freedom to rant about bus journeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

MJohnston wrote: »
    you're not driving the bus so you don't really need to see the road ahead
    You do need to see your stop, and when all the windows are covered in condensation it can be difficult. Doesn't help that the driver leaves everyone guessing either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

1. You get a seat in the upper deck on a wet day when the front window is misted up. Do the people sitting at the front bother to wipe part of the window so those behind can see what the traffic is like ahead? Do they F***. RRRR.

you cant do it?
    2. This one is worse. You are coming down from the upper deck at a stop where lots of people are getting off. The fellow (always a fellow) first down the stairs does not try to alternate with those leaving the bottom deck. Instead he "politely" waits at the bottom of the stairs for all the lower deck people to leave before he moves, thus holding up all the other uper deck passengers.
    RRRRRRRR.

so we're w4nkers if we dont let the women on the bottom deck off first, and we're w4nkers if we do...

if this is the worst thing that happens you in the morning your a luck person. now stop moanin about nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

They can't see out either. So its just personal choice. Stop moaning.

RRRRRRRR.
    You're complaining about politeness?! Stop moaning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 951 ✭✭✭robd

RRRRRRRR.

Simple solution. Sit at the front yourself and also be first own the stairs.

Other than that your a moaner not a doer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Boulevardier

Dodge, the polite fellow at the bottom of the stairs is not actually being polite at all. He is being grossly inconsiderate to those behind him.

Nevertheless, I admit these are just moans. Anybody got similar moans to share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Scrotes drinking, smoking and just general being scrotes are issues with upper deck bus life.

The OP's issues are insignificant - i would go as far as to say the second one is wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

n97 mini wrote: »
    You do need to see your stop, and when all the windows are covered in condensation it can be difficult. Doesn't help that the driver leaves everyone guessing either.

What do you mean by that?

I'd guess that it's because the drivers don't announce the stops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

You a bus driver or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

theteal wrote: »

I'd guess that it's because the drivers don't announce the stops
    What a wanker! We shouldn't have to rely on our own iniative and look out the side windows!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

If you don't want to get stuck behind the polite and considerate people who wait on the stairs while letting the downstairs passengers go ahead of them then why don't you just sit/stand downstairs instead if it bothers you that much!

Not everyone will recognise their stop from the side view 50-100 yards before it, especially if the stop is around a corner. Say someone wanting to get out at Easons won't know from looking at the Liffey where they are.

If trains/DARTs make announcements and have LED signs, I think the odd announcement on the bus wouldn't go astray.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I'm guessing the OP swears aloud when the bus allows other drivers in at junctions and the likes then..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

RRRRRRRR.

Troll post of the day? Obviously the OP is that kind of "nightmare" passenger you hate having to let sit beside you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Not everyone will recognise their stop from the side view 50-100 yards before it, especially if the stop is around a corner. Say someone wanting to get out at Easons won't know from looking at the Liffey where they are.

Here's a mad idea: Learn where your stop is before going on a journey, or a landmark just before it, whether it's beside the spire or a centra. I know I probably come across as some sort of leftie communist type, but it's what I do when I go on a bus journey to or from somewhere I'm not familiar with, and I haven't missed a stop or a bus yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Actually I can agree with the fogged-up windows thing. When they're really bad and the traffic is really bad, all you can see is red lights everywhere. Makes it impossible to know where you are.

People allowing the bottom deck off first doesn't annoy me. What does annoy me are people who stand at the very front of the bus blocking the entire passage when they have no intention of getting off at this stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

seamus wrote: »
    Actually I can agree with the fogged-up windows thing. When they're really bad and the traffic is really bad, all you can see is red lights everywhere. Makes it impossible to know where you are.

But the point is that the people who don't wipe the windows obviously feel differently to you, so its down to their preference. it really isn't that big a deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭blah

This guy for president...

...of Iran. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭seanwhite20

Get a car.

it's what I do when I go on a bus journey to or from somewhere I'm not familiar with, and I haven't missed a stop or a bus yet.
    You're obviously an excellent bus user. We're not all in your league tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

seamus wrote: »

People allowing the bottom deck off first doesn't annoy me. What does annoy me are people who stand at the very front of the bus blocking the entire passage when they have no intention of getting off at this stop.

Jesus yes. Some people seem to think they're going to get murdered if they upstairs on a Dublin Bus at anytime of the day. There's plenty of seats upstairs but these idiots just stand downstairs getting in the way and making the driver think the bus is full.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

OP has obviously never had to partake in the schoolbag steeplechase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

I thought the op was gonna have real issues like those people who open the window beside them on cold days while wearing a hat, scarf, coat, gloves and freeze all the passengers behind them.

or those who do it on rainy days and let passengers behind them get wet.

Works best on Motorways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

theteal wrote: »
    Scrotes drinking, smoking and just general being scrotes are issues with upper deck bus life.

The OP's issues are insignificant - i would go as far as to say the second one is wrong

Totally agree here theteal,This thread is all skewed to pieces.

The real story about upper saloon life is here.......

http://www.herald.ie/news/smoker-broke-womans-nose-in-row-on-bus-2988301.html
    The court had heard the victim and her boyfriend had got on the bus at the Greenhills Road and went upstairs to where Eccles and a friend were drinking and smoking when the incident happened.

CCTV,bye-laws,...."Customers found smoking risk a fine of €3,000" yada,yada,yada.....it'll take some tough judge to implement that particular law.

In this instance our interpid adventurer got 9 months for the assault,but the case begs the question as to why it was'nt 9 months and a €3,000 fine ?

Although on mature reflection the best bits usually come at the tail end......
    The court heard the defendant was recently on disability benefit because he had been in a car crash and had pins and a bar put into his right leg. He had been "hobbling around on crutches for several months"

Full marks to the physio here as obviously the treatment was of enough merit to enable the patient to once more get upstairs to the atin' n drinkin space ;)

Kinda puts the OP into a bit of perspective though....."Serving the Entire Community" involves SO much compromise.....:rolleyes:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

I sort of sympathise with the OP re visibility.

I remember being on the lower deck of an Atlantean after schlepping up from the country for an interview and realising that when you stood up you could see feck all outside the window and had to rely on the bus driver remembering to tell this culchie that he had reached his stop.

There is also the problem of the all-over advertising decals which can cause visibility issues which make detection of location hard especially at night. Bus Eireann seem to have particularly opaque ad panels.

A prime example of this was one day when we got the 100 bus in Berlin. This had all over decals so it was extremely difficult to view the sights on this route which is publicised as a tourist route /fail

AlekSmart wrote: »
    The real story about upper saloon life is here.......
    One year of zero-tolerance and the heavy hand of the law would sort out the upper deck problems like that. No-one seems to have the will tho. The drivers can't do it on their own, and really near the gardaí involved.

Why doesn't the driver's union badger to get uniformed and under cover gardaí patrolling the bus network?

One year of zero-tolerance and the heavy hand of the law would sort out the upper deck problems like that. No-one seems to have the will tho. The drivers can't do it on their own, and really near the gardaí involved.

Why doesn't the driver's union badger to get uniformed and under cover gardaí patrolling the bus network?

Why would the unions do that? Protecting the drivers/passengers won't make the unions any money.

Good question n97 Mini.

To answer the last bit first,the issue of Union involvement is subsidiary to the actual problem.

In garages which serve flashpoint locations there is usually a well oiled system in place which involves Management/Union/Garda/ meetings to review and/or amend "procedures" in the event of anti-social behaviour.

However,much of this is focused on keeping the service going during Full-Moon periods and school holidays,when the great-unwashed tend to get in touch with their neanderthal side.

Company Health & Safety policy tends to revolve around the Assault Screen,and the Driver remaining behind it.

It is my personal belief that the Assault Screen was one of the most retrograde approaches to the problem,particularly when it became the full extent of the response,rather than merely a temporary resource whilst a full-on counter attack plan was formulated.

In the reported case,the standing instruction to Drivers remains "Do not get involved in disputes between Customers",so the Drivers role extends to summoning assistance and awaiting same.

My belief is that there is an absolute need for the Company and the Authorities in general to get far more pro-active in this.

Personally,I will always seek to advise those in possession of drink (If I can see it as they board) that if they crack it open on board,the journey stops dead.

Yes,it is argueable confrontational,but it also clarifies the position and I will also reinforce this with a PA announcement to the general pasenger load.

However,it is in our nature to look away or run from this sort of oul codology and then give out later.

I am regularly told to "Fkucx Off outa dah" or "Gerra bleedin life ya tosser" by my Drink wielding passengers (Many of whom incidentally are even more aghast at my demand for an adult fare as they tender their "90c Please"....;) )

However my trump card tends to be the desire of the slobbering one's to get someplace..a Nightclub,Party or Mucky Hedgerow someplace so when I stop and turn the engine off,a form of temporary sanity usually returns,albeit reluctantly.

But n97 Mini's dead right,no one seems to have the will to address this aggressive codology,something which as we see is already impacting on our newest forms of Public Transport viz. the Luas Red Line and extension.

WE really do need a wide ranging review of how we,as a culture,handle imposed savagery and we need to head it off BEFORE it reveals it.s ugly reality on Buses,Trains or Trams which are there for EVERYBODY,not just the exhibitionist savages.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

To answer the last bit first,the issue of Union involvement is subsidiary to the actual problem.
    I know the role of the unions is 1) to make money, and 2) to protect workers entitlements and conditions, and giving a toss about customers isn't on the charter.

This is the view myself and the vast majority of non-unionised people have. This view would be improved if the unions showed themselves to be more than blood sucking leeches.

However, under the number 2) above, it's arguable that workers' conditions are being impinged upon by scumbags, and surely, even it's only out of self-interest the drivers, via their unions should be putting pressure on the gardaí to provide some sort of pro-active policing.

[Or is it that the garda union (the GRA) doesn't want to do it as it's contrary to number 2) for them?]

BTW, I'm putting the onus on the DB unions here. Leadership should clearly come from the top here, but this is DB we're talking about, and I have no faith in the management to show any leadership on this issue. Anti-social behaviour on the upper deck is not new, and there's the proof.

I know the role of the unions is 1) to make money, and 2) to protect workers entitlements and conditions, and giving a toss about customers isn't on the charter.

This is the view myself and the vast majority of non-unionised people have. This view would be improved if the unions showed themselves to be more than blood sucking leeches.

However, under the number 2) above, it's arguable that workers' conditions are being impinged upon by scumbags, and surely, even it's only out of self-interest the drivers, via their unions should be putting pressure on the gardaí to provide some sort of pro-active policing.

[Or is it that the garda union (the GRA) doesn't want to do it as it's contrary to number 2) for them?]

BTW, I'm putting the onus on the DB unions here. Leadership should clearly come from the top here, but this is DB we're talking about, and I have no faith in the management to show any leadership on this issue. Anti-social behaviour on the upper deck is not new, and there's the proof.

I think you misinterpret the role of a Trade Union in this regard.

it exists primarily as a representative body to allow for efficient and effective centralized negotiation and acts as a conduit for exchange of views etc.

It's a somewhat well trodden path now,with it's antecedents back in ancient Grecian times.

I'm unsure as to how placing the "Onus" on Dublin Bus Unions is expected to work in reality.

The Union IS comprised of it's general membership and in the cases of anti-social behaviour,generally acts in concert with Management to react to whatever occurs on the street.

Drivers conditions are most certainly being threatened by the "Scumbag" element,as are the general passenger base.

However when Drivers take unilateral action regarding thuggish behaviour,it is usually to withdraw service to the affected by truncating or diverting.

Often these decisions have to be made on-the-fly by a single route controller or chief-inspector and will inevitably cause disruption to other pasengers,most of whom will not see or experience the actual incident,which then leads to these folks roundly denouncing DB drivers and going of on an anti-union raving sesion etc etc...

However if you have ever experienced a 2 lb lump of granite come through a toughened glass window,showering a young girl with broken glass then it focuses your attention pretty quick,especially when the group of youthful attackers are standing on a (handy) raised embankment whooping and hollering in ecstacy...

Perhaps n97 Mini,you are correct and it's all within the gift of the Trade Unions to solve,however I disagree fundamentally with that assessment.

The Unions only represent one of the Victims of such attacks,The Driver....The regular citizen is represented by elected representatives,protected by a duly appointed Police force and judiciary,forces a Trade Union cannot replace.

You can be fully assured that the Unions engage with Management and the Gardai on each and every incident which occurs,but can you show me where any Trade Union has been granted constitutional powers regarding Law Enforcement Policy...either here or abroad.

Much and all as I agree with your concerns I simply cannot see the reasoning behind expecting a small Trade Union grouping to take control of Public Behaviour Policies and Law Enforcement....never mind sentencing policy !!!!

There are some very serious issues at play here,but attempting to pursue a contrived anti-union (Garda / Transport Workers) viewpoint only serves to trivialize and deflect attention from the reality of those issues.

As OP, can I say that this thread is intended for bashing fellow passengers, not unions? There are plenty of other threads for having a go at the unions.

I agree with that point about window-openers. Sociopaths is the only proper word for them.

There are some very serious issues at play here,but attempting to pursue a contrived anti-union (Garda / Transport Workers) viewpoint only serves to trivialize and deflect attention from the reality of those issues.
    It's looking for leadership on the issue of proper policing somewhere... anywhere! It's not forthcoming from the management, or the gardaí, and I suppose it was too much to expect it to originate from the drivers via their organised labour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Dodge, the polite fellow at the bottom of the stairs is not actually being polite at all. He is being grossly inconsiderate to those behind him.

Bottom-step waiting man should receive a medal for enforcing some manners on any pushy "wans" (always "wans") in a hurry that are forced to wait patiently behind him.

Some real crimes usually committed on the top deck of the bus - people subjecting their fellow travellers to their sh!tty musical tastes using the tinny speaker on their mobile phone at top volume.

People eating fast food that bangs like something you give to the dog, stinking up the bus + leaving sodden greasy wrappers all over the seats + floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭kthnxbai

fly_agaric wrote: »
    Some real crimes usually committed on the top deck of the bus - people subjecting their fellow travellers to their sh!tty musical tastes using the tinny speaker on their mobile phone at top volume.

People eating fast food that bangs like something you give to the dog, stinking up the bus + leaving sodden greasy wrappers all over the seats + floor.

This has been working its way downstairs on my route! :eek:

Girl sitting beside me once ate a packet of doritos on the bus. Y'know the red ones. The really smelly ones. They smell like the greatest thing ever when you're eating them, but not so much on a packed smelly bus.

With regards to the clearing off the window thing, I actually hate it when people wipe the window. I never even considered it was so that they could see traffic/stops etc. I dunno, just the partly cleared window thing niggles me, and I then have the desire to go clean the whole thing...

But yeah, if those are the worst thing that happens you upstairs on your bus, count yourself lucky!

It's looking for leadership on the issue of proper policing somewhere... anywhere! It's not forthcoming from the management, or the gardaí, and I suppose it was too much to expect it to originate from the drivers via their organised labour.

I fully concur with the cry for leadership.

However,thus far,my job description centres upon the safe driving and operation of a Bus in the manner prescribed by my employer.

Perhps I tend to go a bit further in this myself,but as you correctly point out the general level of interest is not there to support acts in the Greater Public Interest...as a culture we simply do not recognise this as a viable approach.

Take,for example this little vignette from the Sunday Independent....

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/daylight-robbery-brazen-thief-rips-off-car-at-hospital-2989315.html

I have little doubt that this gentlemans performance and that of his female assistant (The Gorgeous Debbie ?) will be regularly re-enacted on the Upper Saloon of some Bus somewhere,yet some of the responses to the article still try to drag bankers,developers and perhaps,to follow n97 Mini's reasoning,Busdrivers in to deflect the gaze from personal responsibility.

As I've posted earlier,the Unions,DB Management and Gardai are (too) regularly attempting to deal with the fall out from the percieved "Rights" of young people to "have a bit of crack" or "express their frustrations",usually at somebody else's expense.

If you regard this as needing to "originate" from Busdrivers Union Representation then I really do not have an answer as it falls outside my range of comprehension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

I agree with that point about window-openers. Sociopaths is the only proper word for them.

And yet you give out about fogged-up windows? :rolleyes:

I'm a window opener. I hate the fug on a bus with everyone steaming, and viruses practically visible. I don't want your germs! They love the warm and humid atmosphere. People coughing and sneezing. aaargh. (Where's the about-to-vomit smiley?)

And yet you give out about fogged-up windows? :rolleyes:

I'm a window opener. I hate the fug on a bus with everyone steaming, and viruses practically visible. I don't want your germs! They love the warm and humid atmosphere. People coughing and sneezing. aaargh. (Where's the about-to-vomit smiley?)

This is,believe it or not,a really significant element in attempting to encourage Car Owners to try the Bus,even for one or two days a week.

The entire area of heating and ventilation of City Buses is one which has not been given enough thought,as designers tended to be working down to a budget rather than to a best practice target.

I'd be inclined to target the NTA with my observations on this,emphasising the point about making the Bus more attractive as a means of transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

I think I may have had a window-open-window-closed contest with you, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

parsi wrote: »
    A prime example of this was one day when we got the 100 bus in Berlin. This had all over decals so it was extremely difficult to view the sights on this route which is publicised as a tourist route /fail

Well to be fair, it may be a tourist route, but it's just a regular service bus, same as any other bus service

AArd, I had one very unpleasant tussle about 3 years ago with a commuting couple.

I asked them would it be all right for me to close the window. They said nothing. I then closed the window. A few seconds later they re-opened it, still saying nothing to me.

It was their manner rather than the draught that upset me at that point, so I spent the rest of the trip giving them yards and annoying all the other passengers!

Hope that wasn't you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I am usually an unashamed window opener, but I was on AX524 before Christmas and it was bitterly cold, a single window midway up the off-side of the bus upstairs. It was operating a late 13 however, so there's no way you can risk waiting for the next one not to turn up (a frequency of one every who-knows minutes).

I may have had my window habits changed :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

As OP, can I say that this thread is intended for bashing fellow passengers, not unions? There are plenty of other threads for having a go at the unions.

Sounds like this would do well over in AH at this rate tbh, but for the sake of argument I'll add my €0.02: they should just remove the back 3 rows upstairs and put some pallets down, the kind of animal that inhabits that area wouldn't even mind anyway

If trains/DARTs make announcements and have LED signs, I think the odd announcement on the bus wouldn't go astray.

Anytime I've had to ask a driver to tell me where my stop is, they've done so. I've witnessed this happen with thousands of other passengers also.

Do you think drivers should have to announce every stop? Given the proximity of some stops to each other, I can't see this working. Even if they did, you'd probably have a go at them for some new reason such as their pronunciation!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Do you think drivers should have to announce every stop? Given the proximity of some stops to each other, I can't see this working. Even if they did, you'd probably have a go at them for some new reason such as their pronunciation!

Many bus services around the world have automatic LED displays and audio announcements of the next stop tied to the buses GPS. No driver interaction is required.

Dublin Bus actually trialled such a system on some buses on the 123 route and in my experience it worked well.

I recently experienced the same on buses in Poland, if they can figure out how to do this in Poland, we certainly have no excuse for not doing the same.

In Poland they also seemed to figure out how to put three doors on every bus and actually operate them successfully, along with onboard validators, for very low dwell times. Imagine that!!

So while I think the OP is a bit of a troll, he does actually manage to identify two major problems on Dublin Bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Anytime I've had to ask a driver to tell me where my stop is, they've done so. I've witnessed this happen with thousands of other passengers also.

I'm sure he meant an automated voice thing for key locations, not every stop.
    sure they have no problem telling us about not smoking every 5 minutes.

I'm sure he meant an automated voice thing for key locations, not every stop.
    sure they have no problem telling us about not smoking every 5 minutes.
    bk wrote: »
    Many bus services around the world have automatic LED displays and audio announcements of the next stop tied to the buses GPS. No driver interaction is required.

Dublin Bus actually trialled such a system on some buses on the 123 route and in my experience it worked well.

I recently experienced the same on buses in Poland, if they can figure out how to do this in Poland, we certainly have no excuse for not doing the same.

In Poland they also seemed to figure out how to put three doors on every bus and actually operate them successfully, along with onboard validators, for very low dwell times. Imagine that!!

So while I think the OP is a bit of a troll, he does actually manage to identify two major problems on Dublin Bus.

My post was not commenting on the OP at all but rather n97mini's ongoing jihad against all public transport operators - specifically his comment above relating to how the drivers don't help.

I would agree that an automated system would be a bonus. However, remember this would need to be as gaeilge also!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

I would agree that an automated system would be a bonus. However, remember this would need to be as gaeilge also!

I know, this and how closely spaced our bus stops are could make it very annoying.

The whole Irish thing is really stupid.

I wonder would it be allowable for the LED screen to show all stops, but only audio announce major stops, such as the city centre?

I believe such systems in other countries use some sort of closed loop or short range FM transmission for visually impaired people to hear the audio announcements without bothering other passengers who can just look up at the LED screen. I wonder would such a system be possible here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I've heard that once the trial of 10 buses now required to undergo the trial later this year, How long that trial will be? I don't know. But, it will mean that this system would be implemented in DB in the near future.

However, there is another thread on this topic. To continue the topic, click below.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=75808985