Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

my 1st guitar lesson went well..... NOT

• 11-01-2012 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭

Basically ive been learning sax for a couple of years and decided to learn guitar, i got a voucher for my local store so i eagerly went out today and bought my guitar, so 1st lesson was tuning it, while tuning the b string i tightened it to much and broke string... doh!!! gutted, i just couldnt seem to find the b on the tuner , i had no problem finding the others, really gutted, im gona look a right fool going back to shop .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Rockn

It happens. You won't look like a fool. Everyone breaks strings. You might as well get a few sets while you're there, it's good to have some backups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

You mean cuz one string broke your lesson went bad? Surely the teacher could adapt. I've played songs missing a string and it didnt make a huge difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

You could always just say you were playing so hard and fast that the string melted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭carlosvan

my lesson was a self taught lesson so i suppose i could blame the teacher and demand my money back!!! like said above ill go back and buy a few backup strings, i stopped lesson, in the meantime ill have to go back to my 1st love .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Breaking strings is part of every guitarists life! I broke 2 today...admittedly I haven't broken a string on the guitar I was using in ages so I was long over due. The lads in the shop wont even bat an eyelid. Just make sure you put it on right, or if you don't know how ask them to show you. It's not difficult, but there's a couple of things you should know about before starting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,616 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

you think thats bad, I cut the string on the wrong side of my tuning peg after restringing. complete brain fade .:o

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

how much is a set of strings gona cost me? one good thing, the guys in shop were well sound and helpfull so i bought them all a box of cream cakes, so they'll prob give me good service when i go back, ....hoping to get more cakes probably,

No need to buy a whole set. Well i suppose you could buy one or two sets to have, and a single string to replace the one you broke.

No point buying a whole set every time you break a string. Generally you'll break the likes of the high E, B, and G more than others, so you'd just end up with tonnes of extra strings lying around otherwise...(which is the situation i'm in at the minute...no Es or B strings...Grrrrr i wanna rock out

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

No need to buy a whole set. Well i suppose you could buy one or two sets to have, and a single string to replace the one you broke.

No point buying a whole set every time you break a string. Generally you'll break the likes of the high E, B, and G more than others, so you'd just end up with tonnes of extra strings lying around otherwise...(which is the situation i'm in at the minute...no Es or B strings...Grrrrr i wanna rock out

I completely disagree. If you're going to replace strings on an instrument, replace them all. If you haven't changed strings in 6 months and just replace one, you'll have 5 old, dull strings and one, bright one! For the sake of €5, replace the lot. Besides, it's good practice ;)

feylya wrote: »
    I completely disagree. If you're going to replace strings on an instrument, replace them all. If you haven't changed strings in 6 months and just replace one, you'll have 5 old, dull strings and one, bright one! For the sake of €5, replace the lot. Besides, it's good practice ;)

Different strokes for different folks I suppose.

I'll probably change my strings every 6 months or so completely for a set of Elixers. I generally don't like the sound of new strings. Some people say change every week, some people say change every 2 etc etc. For me, I just give them a wipe down after I play and i'm happy out.

At the end of the day, the OP said they only bought the guitar today, and broke the string before it was even in tune. Presuming the strings on it were new, I think a complete new set would be a tad over kill:)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

At the end of the day, the OP said they only bought the guitar today, and broke the string before it was even in tune. Presuming the strings on it were new, I think a complete new set would be a tad over kill:)

2 assumptions there - 1, that the string wasn't over pitch when it was being tuned and 2, that they were new.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Sounds like you overtightened it alright, but it's nothing to be ashamed off.. I broke the damned tuning PEG on my guitar last week.. Unfortunately with stringed instrument you get these frequent frustrating happenings.. broken strings, sore fingers, tuning problems etc etc.. You just have to put your head down and get it sorted before it drives you demented..

You should learn off the start to Nothing Else Matters as it is easy to remember and will give you and idea as to what you should tune up to..

Maybe until you get the hang of it, you should just bring the guitar down to the store and ask the owner to restring it for you.. some will do it for the price of the strings + 5 euro. I've known a few guys that broke a string on the guitar, got p1ssed off trying to restring, and gave it up altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Breaking strings is just part of playing.
    I have scars and permanent nerve damage from broken strings. Would that stop me playing? **** no!
    Does it mean I'm nervous every time I have to tune up? Somtimes, it'll never stop me though! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

you think thats bad, I cut the string on the wrong side of my tuning peg after restringing. complete brain fade .:o

4160459290_e91349ccf8.jpg

:p

well the guitar was brand new when i bought it so dont see me changing all the strings, im just annoyed i didnt get very far on my 1st self taught lesson, but look, ive been learning sax for some time now and had problems with octive keys, some bending in places that should be done with extreme caution, so i know its all part of learning, actually it was a silly mistake , what i did was i was tuning and i turned the b peg when i was on another key so i knew my b was well out of tune, and i was struggling to find the b on the tuner because i was so far out, thats when it snapped, hope my explanation is good enough for you pro's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Don't worry about it mate. Broke the E string on my acoustic a few weeks ago, replaced it, and broke it again - haven't bothered again :P

That being said, where about's did it break? If you don't get into the habit of cutting excess at the tuning peg and it breaks further down the neck you can at times get away with jury rigging the string back on - not permanent but good enough until you have time to get a replacement. Easiest to do on a nylon string acoustic, but not impossible on a steel string.

Good luck with the lessons, it's a very fulfilling instrument and always welcome at a social gathering!

carlosvan wrote: »
    well the guitar was brand new when i bought it so dont see me changing all the strings, im just annoyed i didnt get very far on my 1st self taught lesson, but look, ive been learning sax for some time now and had problems with octive keys, some bending in places that should be done with extreme caution, so i know its all part of learning, actually it was a silly mistake , what i did was i was tuning and i turned the b peg when i was on another key so i knew my b was well out of tune, and i was struggling to find the b on the tuner because i was so far out, thats when it snapped, hope my explanation is good enough for you pro's

If the string is completely out and you can't find the note, your best bet would be to tune it well down and slowly bring it back up. Always tune up to the note rather than tuning down, the strings will stay in tune better initially.

Don't worry about it mate. Broke the E string on my acoustic a few weeks ago, replaced it, and broke it again - haven't bothered again :P

That being said, where about's did it break? If you don't get into the habit of cutting excess at the tuning peg and it breaks further down the neck you can at times get away with jury rigging the string back on - not permanent but good enough until you have time to get a replacement. Easiest to do on a nylon string acoustic, but not impossible on a steel string.

Good luck with the lessons, it's a very fulfilling instrument and always welcome at a social gathering!

the break was high up towards the peg, there was a little bit of string still on peg, can i ask a question while im at it, ive seen guitars with loads of string sticking out of peg area, i suppose thats why is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Just a bit of friendly advice.

Visit http://www.justinguitar.com - it is absolutely brilliant when it comes to learning guitar and most importantly it is FREE! Full beginner and intermediate course on guitar with video lessons. Loads of other stuff too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

how much is a set of strings gona cost me? one good thing, the guys in shop were well sound and helpfull so i bought them all a box of cream cakes, so they'll prob give me good service when i go back, ....hoping to get more cakes probably,

I dont know why but this had me in tears. those bhoys will do anything for some cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,740 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

A good tip for finding the rough tuning of a string, is to play the note on the 5th fret of the previous string (if that strings in tune) and the next string should be close enough to that note.

Unless it's the B string, which then you hold down the 4th fret of the G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Beaucoupfish

You broke a string. So what? You said you were learning. I broke a few strings when i was learning to tune a guitar.
    Think of it this way: 'Today I learned not to tighten the b string too much when learning to tune her up'.
    tip: use a youtube tuner to get an ear for it and then use your tuner to fine tune it to get it perfect.
    Learning the guitar is a long road with lots of frustrations along the way.
    Good luck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭wild turkey

Quick tip if your over-tightening
    Record the notes your phone from a site like this

http://www.guitarforbeginners.com/onlinetuner.html

then when your tuning you can use it as a rough guide & then fine tune with your tuner

i have to say i felt a bit of a plonker writing my 1st ever post on a forum site but you people are very helpfull fair play to ya , ive got some great advice there, thank you very much :0), if i could send you some cakes i would :0)

Basically ive been learning sax for a couple of years and decided to learn guitar, i got a voucher for my local store so i eagerly went out today and bought my guitar, so 1st lesson was tuning it, while tuning the b string i tightened it to much and broke string... doh!!! gutted, i just couldnt seem to find the b on the tuner , i had no problem finding the others, really gutted, im gona look a right fool going back to shop .

I did the very same thing the first time I tried to tune a guitar.....That was 25 years ago...I still turn my face sideway's when tuning E and B..:D....It happen's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Different strokes for different folks I suppose.

I'll probably change my strings every 6 months or so completely for a set of Elixers. I generally don't like the sound of new strings. Some people say change every week, some people say change every 2 etc etc. For me, I just give them a wipe down after I play and i'm happy out.

There are several factors dictating when you need a string change. Most obvious is how much you play. Then things like music and playing style and guage of pick. Then it comes down to the make up of your sweat. I could play for months on one set of strings and not even bother to wipe them down, but if I lend my guitar to someone for even half an hour, then take it out of the case a week later, the strings are dull and corroded. In much the same way that Rory Gallagher's sweat stripped the finish off his Strat, some people's sweat eats strings.
    I alway found Gibson Brite Wires are the longest lasting. D'addarios and Ernie Ball are much of a muchness. Rotosound are quite good, but the Brite Wires stay shiny and bright sounding for ages.

As for the OP, your strings should be fairly fresh so just buy the one you broke. If it happens again, get a magnifying glass and check the tuning post and nut to see if there's a rough spot. No harm having a pack as backup, but I wouldn't go changing the lot every time you break one. As a beginner (and likely with a heavyish pick) it's too easy to dig in and snap one every now and then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

I remember when I had my first guitar, a Squier Affinity Strat, I broke a string on it and put it away for weeks! Just didn't know what to do with it..

So, get some strings and learn how find B and to string the bugger up too. Two lessons in one!

nobody worry i certainly wont be put off , ill probably go buy a few spare strings now, when i 1st bought it alike i did with the sax, i just stared at it for ages, admiring it, all the inventing that went into it, when i look at the sax i think adolf sax must have had a skrew loose, its so complicated in the design, the guitar isnt as complicated , what got me and remember i bought it on wednesday , id never even held a guitar before , how light it was, i have to say im very excited at taking on this as the one thing that upsets me the most with saxophone is how loud it is and im always held back playing for this reason, although ive just been informed theres a case you can buy that muffles it by a huge scale, but looks like your blowing into a maggot, anyway as i was saying im very excited because i can put more time into the guitar because i have a wife that loves soaps so ihave free time every evening

just to let you all know i got string changed, guy was sound, say he was still sweet from the cream cakes i bought them, anyway i bought some back up strings, my 2nd lesson got past the tuning stage so whhhoooopppeeeeee , was a little nervious i tell you, im not quite so trigger happy turning the pegs this time round, softly softly, thanks again for all the great advice ye all gave me, :0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Nelly 21

Breaking strings are all part and parcel with playing the guitar I'm afraid. I teach guitar myself and have lost count of the times that I've had to replace broken strings. Almost always the high e string. Mostly they get broke because the have been tuned too tight. Its very important to make sure that the string you are tuning matches the name of the string on your tuner.g if you are tuning your B string and the tuner says the string tunes to C/D then its too tight and if you tighten it any more it could snap!!:):)